New Womens Racing Team in the North East

2018 will see the creation of a brand new North East based elite women’s cycling team; Boompods EDCO Velo8

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

New Womens Racing Team in the North East

The Boompods EDCO Velo8 cycling team will have twelve women and four junior women and will make it’s official debut at the Revolution track race series at the Olympic Park later this month.

New lead sponsors Boompods and Velo8 will join forces with Swiss wheel maker, EDCO and worldwide tyre brand Continental to create a team that will target the Women’s National Road Series and Tour Series in 2018 as well as other flagship races at home and overseas.
… continued after advert


The team made their debut in 2017, racing as the EDCO Continental team and registered some outstanding results on the road, track and cyclocross. Featuring seven talented senior riders and four outstanding juniors, the team created a great first impression in their iconic kit. For 2018, the team has refreshed it’s line up to feature a mix of rider strengths in order to remain competitive throughout the season.

Retained riders include the team’s top point scorer Ellen McDermott, who once again lines up alongside Hannah Farran, Jenn Batey, Laurie Pestana and Sarah Walker. Joining the team from Sunsport Velo are Liz Burrows, Hannah Larbalestier and Rosie Walsh. Crit specialist Lauren Humphreys adds her experience to the team, while Jane Hellewell moves from NCC Group-Kuota-Torelli to join fellow 18 year olds Miriam Jessett and Rachel Jary in the new look team.

New sponsorship for the 2018 season is supplied by Velo 8 and support is supplied in the shape of Merida Reacto 5000 roadbikes. Team eyewear is once again supplied by Power Race and pre ride gels and oils supplied by QM Sportscare. Nutrition support is supplied by Torq. Further support is provided by Le Chateau d’Oz, Pegatin and Manilla PR. Kit support is once again provided by Velotec and the team will keep the Boompods audio connection with team support and team playlists supplied by Basilica Music, Celtic Connections, Ooberfuse and Wise Dog Records to create ‘The Team That Rock’.

The junior team see’s a new mix of riders for 2018, with North East riders Anna Armstong, Marie Lynn and Olivia Fawcett joined by talented Welsh junior Cadi Jones.

EDCO: | Continental:




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK