Perfs Pedal: Win for Paton in two up sprint

Yet again, Tim Elverson’s team Canyon Eisberg came away with the win at the Perfs Pedal with Alex Paton making no mistake in the two up sprint against Rupert Graham.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Perfs Pedal: Win for Paton in two up sprint

Yet again, Tim Elverson’s team Canyon Eisberg came away with the win at the Perfs Pedal with Alex Paton making no mistake in the two up sprint against Rupert Graham. Win his team did but it was no easy victory and so many riders played their part in the race which saw the break on lap two stay away.

The race began with the usual smashfest up the climb to the Naval base with Alex Paton, Chris Opie and one of the other Canyon riders stringing out the peloton in one long line and broken in many a place.

I heard there were also a load of punctures the first time up the climb including one for Canyon’s Max Stedman whose race was over after 10 minutes.
… continued after advert


On the next lap, a group of eight or so got clear but there was no organisation in it and as it came back, Alex Paton countered and went clear in a small group of four riders.

That group became three and Paton found himself outnumbered by two from Spirit and after a period of working together, the final lap saw them riding down the road with big gaps between until one of them attacked. That final push saw the attacks come and go and the odds for Paton improved as there was only two left for the sprint to the line.

It was no push over for Paton though and he had to wait a long time before finally being able to raise his arms in victory over Rupert Graham.

Behind them, there was a massive a bunch kick for third won by Ben Marks.

Canyon Eisberg string it out and there were plenty of splits behind this group showing the early pace of the race

After two laps a break formed led here by Alex Paton

The peloton was 3o or so strong and a minute or so behind the break

A lap to go and the break are riding with big gaps between them as they wait for a move…

In the peloton, two lone chasers go clear with a lap to go

Mikey Mottram another of the chasers

No super urgency in the bunch as they get the lap to go board.

Sprint for third won by Ben Marks

Top three in the race, Rupert Graham, Alex Paton, and Ben Marks.

… continued after advert


Final Result

1 Alex Paton Canyon Eisberg E
2 Rupert Graham Spirit Tifosi RT 1
3 Benjamin Marks Morvelo Basso RT E @34″
4 Mattew Clarke Canyon UK 1 st
5 Daniel Maclean-Howell Cardif Ajax 2J st
7 Rhys Hidrio HJL 3 st
8 Michael Mottram Morvelo Basso RT E st
9 Etienne Georgi Team Wiggins 1 st
10 Chris McNamara Nunn-Sigma Sport-London RT 1 st
11 James Roe Team Guernsey 2 st
12 James Freeman Meudon Sovereign Pedal Heaven RT 2 st
13 Matt Owen WORX Factory Racing 2 st
14 Jack Rebours HJL 3 st
15 Matthew Downie TAAP Cervelo 1 st
16 Louis Rose-Davies Canyon Eisberg 1 st
17 Jack English Team Guernsey 3 st
18 Benjamin Irving TAAP Cervelo 3 st
19 Damien Clayton Kibosh 2 st
20 John Hale Pearson CC 2 st
21 Sebastian Tremlett Team Guernsey 3 st
23 Morris Bacon DAP CC 1 st
24 Luke Barfoot Tri UK 2 st
25 Oscar Hutchings VC Equipe/Flix Oral Hygiene/Propulse 1 st
26 Arien Vartazarian HJL 1 st
27 Oliver Blagden Maxxis 4 Racing Team 2 st
28 Ben Simmons Alé DMT Cipollini UK 1 st
29 Dante Carpenter Morvelo Basso RT 1 st
30 Andrew Turner Team KTM UK E st
31 Chris Opie Canyon Eisberg E st
32 Jordan Peacock Spirit Tifosi RT E @4’17”
33 Andrew Critchlow Wyndymilla 1 st
34 Tom Hargreaves Nunn-Sigma Sport-London RT E st
35 Michael Krukov HJL 2 st
36 Graham Crow Wyndymilla 1 st
37 Finley Newmark VC Londres 2J st
38 Brook Elgie Sotonia CC 2 st
39 Gary Brind Southdowns Bikes-Casco PET 2 st
40 Tom Lane Latchem Sunwise Race Team 1 st
41 Graham Collins Team Tor 2000 Kalas 1 st
42 James Bonham Southdowns Bikes-Casco PET 2 st
43 James Brickell Fareham Wheelers CC 2 st
44 Patrick Biel ZeroBC 2 st
45 Callum Clark Southdowns Bikes-Casco PET 2 st
46 Michael Burke Welland Valley CC 1 st
47 Sam Christy TAAP Cervelo 1 st
48 Joe Hickerton Spokes BPC Racing 2 st
49 Daniel Mcquillan Tri UK 1 st
50 Paul Barnard Southdowns Bikes-Casco PET 2 st
51 Jake Hales Spirit Tifosi RT E st
52 Ryan Visser TAAP Cervelo E st
53 Paul Elcock ZeroBC 2 @6’50”
54 Timothy Allen Spirit Tifosi RT 2 st



Cycle Division’s New Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,