Startlist: The Wally Gimber Trophy

2018 winners Alex Paton, Rupert Graham and Mike Mottram head up a strong entry for this years edition of the Wally Gimber Trophy on March 25 over a distance of 87 miles

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Startlist: The Wally Gimber Trophy

The Wally Gimber Trophy

The trophy was awarded to the club for presentation at the annual road race by Wally Gimber, a lifelong club member. Wally Gimber was an active Dulwich Paragon member in the 1940s and excelled on the local Herne Hill track. In 1948-9 he was the London centre track, massed start and roller champion and set a national tandem paced half mile record of 48.55 seconds.

He emigrated to the US in the 1960s but returned to the UK in 1985 to present the trophy to John Shand at the club’s 50th anniversary dinner. He kept in regular touch with the club until his death in 1993. Past winners of the trophy include Sir Bradley Wiggins; multiple world champion, Olympic gold medalist and Tour de France winner. Tony Gibb has won three times and Simon Cope has won four editions.

The Race HQ address is: Bells Yew Green Village Hall, Bayham Road, Bells Yew Green, TN3 9BJ

Distance of race: 7 x 20 km laps. 140 km / 87 miles in total

Laurence Kirby ActiveEdge Race Team
Samuel Woodfield ActiveEdge Race Team
Tobias Dahlhaus API-Metrow/Bodyby JR
Charles Page Canyon Eisberg
Alex Paton Canyon Eisberg
Louis Rose-Davies Canyon Eisberg
Rory Townsend Canyon Eisberg
Matthew Clarke Canyon UK
Morris Bacon DAP Cycling Club
Jonathan Gales Dulwich Paragon CC
Giles Hartwright Dulwich Paragon CC
Gary Freeman Fast Test Racing Team
Arlen Vartazarian HJL
Martin Ford Java Partizan Pro Cycling Team
Dominic Schils Java Partizan Pro Cycling Team
Edmund Bradbury JLT Condor
Germain Burton JLT Condor
Edward Laverack JLT Condor
Thomas Moses JLT Condor
Damien Clayton Kibosh
David Murrell London Phoenix CC
Jacob Vaughan Lotto Soudal U23
Isaac Mundy Madison Genesis
George Pym Madison Genesis
Tom Chandler Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
Stephen Bradbury Morvelo Basso RT
Ken Buckley Morvelo Basso RT
Benjamin Marks Morvelo Basso RT
Michael Mottram Morvelo Basso RT
Ashley Cox Nopinz
Chris McNamara Nuun-Sigma Sports-London
Robert Moore Nuun-Sigma Sports-London
James Moss Nuun-Sigma Sports-London
Dylan Thomas Nuun-Sigma Sports-London
Ross Fawcett Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
Rhys Clegg PMR
Tom Fitzpatrick Private
Ruari Grant Pro Vision Scotland
Freddie Checketts Rapha Cycling Club
James Hayden Rapha Cycling Club
Rhys Howells Rapha Cycling Club
Jack Saunders Rapha Cycling Club
Lawrence Carpenter Ribble Pro Cycling
Tobias Dahlhaus Richardsons-Trek RT
James Jenkins Richardsons-Trek RT
Joshua Outram Richardsons-Trek RT
Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT
Jake Alderman Saint Piran
William Harper Saint Piran
Steve Lampier Saint Piran
Matt Langworthy Saint Piran
Simon McNamara Southdowns Bikes – Casco PET
Marcus Burnett Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
Rupert Graham Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
Stanley Kennett Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
Marcin Bialoblocki Steele Davis Via Roma RT
Thomas Bowering Steele Davis Via Roma RT
Sam Christy TAAP Cervelo
Matthew Downie TAAP Cervelo
Harvey McNaughton TAAP Cervelo
Ryan Visser TAAP Cervelo
Oliver Cliff TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
Fabian Horrocks TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
George Fox Team Bottrill – Vangaurd
Kieran Brady Team KTM UK
Will Fox Team KTM UK
Joe Hill Team KTM UK
Etienne Georgi Team Wiggins
Oliver Robinson Team Wiggins
Joey Walker Team Wiggins
Lee Frost Tri UK
Daniel Mcquillan Tri UK
Oliver Richardson Twickenham CC
Joshua Haasz VC Londres
Sebastian Lewis VCEquipe/FlixOralHygiene/Propulse
Vojtech Blazejovsky Velo Schils – Interbike RT
Michael Parry Verulam –
Harrison Jones Vitus Pro Cycling
George Fowler Wheelbase Castelli MGD
Andrew Critchlow WyndyMilla
… continued after advert


Former Winners
2017 Edward Clemens Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
2016 Lloyd Chapman Pedal Heaven
2015 Karol Domagalski Team Raleigh
2014 Jason White Private
2013 George Harper Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves
2012 Matt Jones Team Corley Cycles
2011 Steve Lampier Sigma Sport
2010 Marcel Six Orbea – For Goodness Shakes
2009 Rob Hurd DHC Columbus
2008 Simon Gaywood Plowman Craven RT
2007 Tony Gibb Plowman Craven RT
2006 Tony Gibb Plowman Craven RT
2005 Rob Hurd Private
2004 Tony Gibb PCA RT
2003 Gary Baker Angliasport
2002 Rob Hurd Team Peloton
2001 Bradley Wiggins Team Sports & Publicity
2000 Andy Lyons BCF Private Member
1999 Simon Cope Heron RT
1998 M Anand Canada
1997 Simon Cope Team Defeet
1996 Gary Baker Olympia Sport
1995 Gary Baker Olympia Sport
1994 Rob Hurd CS Purbeck
1993 Simon Cope PCA
1992 Steve Cook Calleva CRC
1991 Simon Cope PCA
1990 Paul Panton Team Haverhill
1989 Barrie Clarke Wembley RC
1988 Russell Fenton Gemini BC
1987 Bruce Drew 34th Nomads
1986 Steve Cook Calleva CRC
1985 John Shand VC D’OR
1984 Gary Owen Chequers RC
1983 Brian Phillips Manchester Wheelers
1982 John Withey Addiscombe CC
1981 Dave Carter Phoenix CRC
1980 Bob Arnold Ross Wheelers
1979 Paul Dennis Gemini BC
1978 Ron Keeble 34th Nomads
1977 Tony James De Laune CC
1976 Dave LeGrys 34th Nomads
1975 Dave Peachey 34th Nomads
1974 Dave Pittman Lewisham RC
1973 Dave Carter 34th Nomads
1972 Greg Garland VC Anglia Sport
1971 John Sargeant Vulcan CRC
1970 Robin Buchan Norwood Paragon CC
1969 Robin Buchan Norwood Paragon CC
1968 Gary Smith Ross Wheelers
1967 Paul Jarvis Clarence Wheelers
1966 Brian Kirby Medway Velo
1965 Brian Kirby Medway Velo
1964 Ron Beech Australia
1963 Dave Bonner Old Portlians CC
1962 Dave Bonner Old Portlians CC
1961 Roy Newlove West Kent RC
1960 Brian Dacey De Launce CC






Cycle Division’s New Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK