Report/Result: Ian Mountain Memorial Road Race

Stephen Feeney winner of the Ian Mountain Memorial Road Race organised by Mark Patton and the Wakefield Cycling Club

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Result: Ian Mountain Memorial Road Race

Stephen Feeney the race winner, Ian Mountain’s widow (Rae Mountain) , his son (Ian Mountain) and his two grandsons Nathaniel and Henry.

A strong field of 50 riders started the 9th annual Ian Mountain Memorial road race, organised by Mark Patton and the Wakefield Cycling Club. The race was held over 20 laps of a 3.3 mile circuit, between the villages of Notton and Old Royston.

The race got off to a flying start, with Declan Hudson on the attack as soon as the start flag was dropped. Declan built up a maximum lead of 30 seconds but was caught after a lap and a half on his own. By the end of lap 2, there was another attempted breakaway with four riders dangling in front of the bunch, as they passed through the finishing straight. On the third passage through the finish area the bunch were altogether.

On the fourth lap, Patrick Clark, James Haydon and Billy Robinson attacked at the end of the home straight. The trio worked well together building up a lead of up to 1 minute 40 seconds. Behind the attacks never stopped and with 10 miles to go four riders formed a chasing group that cut the lead down to 20 seconds as the race entered the final two laps.

With 5 miles to go the two lead groups merged to form a leading group of seven riders. As they started the final lap they had a slender lead of 15 seconds on the main bunch but they managed to stay away all the way to the finish. Stephen Feeney took the win with a very strong sprint ahead of Billy Robinson and James Haydon, closely followed by the remainder of the breakaway group. Lee Brown led home the main bunch just 10 seconds behind the break.

Event organiser Mark Patton and Ian’s widow, Rae Mountain, would like to thank all of the friends and family of Wakefield Cycling Club, without whom the event could not take place.


1. Stephen Feeney – Team Chronomaster
2. Billy Robinson – Le Col
3. James Haydon – NRT Racing
4. Robert Mitchell – Out of the Saddle
5. Patrick Clark – Team 38/Underpin Racing
6. Matthew Dudman – Paceline Cycles North
7. Carl Potter – Lancashire RC
8. Lee Brown – Holmfirth CC @ 10s
9. Thomas Sutton – RST/ Cycle Division RT
10. Cameron Blake – Prologue RT





Cycle Division’s New Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK