News: Champion Line up for Women’s Tour

World, European and Commonwealth Road Race Champions line-up for Women’s Tour starting on Wednesday (June 13)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: Champion Line up for Women’s Tour

The reigning World, European and Commonwealth Road Race Champions Chantal Blaak, Marianne Vos and Chloe Hosking headline the provisional line-up for the Women’s Tour, which gets underway on Wednesday (13 June) in Suffolk.

The provisional rider list is headed by defending champion Kasia Niewiadoma, who memorably took victory in the Women’s Tour 12 months ago, and will wear the number one placard, leading a Canyon//SRAM line-up that also includes Hannah and Alice Barnes, and former World Champion Pauline Ferrand-Prevot, making her debut in the race.

World Road Race Champion Blaak leads a strong Boels Dolmans line-up with a pair of former stage winners in the race – Amy Pieters and Christine Majerus – plus another former World Champion in Dane Amalie Dideriksen.
… continued after advert


Dideriksen, Blaak and Ferrand-Prevot and joined by three further former World Road Race Champions in Giorgia Bronzini (Cylance Pro Cycling), Marta Bastianelli (Ale Cipollini) and Marianne Vos (WaowDeals Pro Cycling), plus a pair of former World Time Trial Champions in Ellen van Dijk (Team Sunweb), and Lisa Brennauer (Wiggle HIGH5), who won the race overall in 2015.

Hosking, who was crowned Commonwealth Games Champion in April, returns to the race for Ale Cipollini having won Stage Three in Royal Leamington Spa last June, as do the riders who finished second and third behind her on the Gold Coast, Georgia Williams (Mitchelton Scott) and Dani Rowe (WaowDeals Pro Cycling)

Fellow 2018 Commonwealth Games medallists Hayley Simmonds (WNT Rotor), Katie Archibald, Annette Edmondson (both Wiggle HIGH5) and Neah Evans (Storey Racing) will also be on the start line in the Suffolk town of Framlingham for Stage One.

Among the provisional line-up for the race are 11 current National Road Race Champions, notable among them are Finnish champion Lotta Lepistö (Cervelo Bigla), who won the final stage in 2016; Italian Champion and 2016 podium finisher Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle HIGH5); and last year’s runner-up Christine Majerus (Boels Dolmans), the current Luxembourg champion, while double stage winner and Belgian national champion Jolien D’Hoore (Mitchelton Scott) may ride, as she recovers from a training crash last month.

In total 102 riders from 17 teams feature on the provisional rider list, with athletes from 23 different nations due to amass in Suffolk for the opening stage from Framlingham to Southwold.

Subsequent stages will take the race to Northamptonshire (Thursday 14 June), Warwickshire (Friday 15 June) and Worcestershire (Saturday 16 June) before the final stage from Dolgellau to Colwyn Bay as the race visits Wales for the first time.


START Framlingham | FINISH Southwold | DISTANCE 130km

START Rushden | FINISH Daventry | DISTANCE 145km

START Atherstone | FINISH Royal Leamington Spa | DISTANCE 151km

START Evesham | FINISH Worcester | DISTANCE 130km

START Dolgellau | FINISH Colwyn Bay | DISTANCE 122km

… continued after advert



1 Kasia Niewiadoma POL
2 Hannah Barnes GBR
3 Alice Barnes GBR
4 Alena Amialusik BLR
5 Pauline Ferrand-Prevot FRA
6 Lisa Klein GER

Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
11 Chantal Blaak NED
12 Amalie Dideriksen DEN
13 Jip van den Bos NED
14 Christine Majerus LUX
15 Amy Pieters NED
16 Anna Plichta POL

Team Sunweb
21 Coryn Rivera USA
22 Lucinda Brand NED
23 Leah Kirchmann CAN
24 Julia Soek NED
25 Floortje Mackaij NED
26 Ellen van Dijk NED

Cervélo-Bigla Pro Cycling
31 Emma Jørgensen DEN
32 Ann-Stophie Duyck BEL
33 Nicole Hanselmann SUI
34 Clara Marie Koppenburg GER
35 Lotta Lepistö FIN
36 Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig DEN

FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope
41 Roxane Fournier FRA
42 Coralie Demay FRA
43 Eugenie Duval FRA
44 Lauren Kitchen AUS
45 Moniek Tenniglo NED
46 Rozanne Slik NED

Wiggle HIGH5
51 Lisa Brennauer GER
52 Katie Archibald GBR
53 Annette Edmondson AUS
54 Audrey Cordon-Ragot FRA
55 Elisa Longo Borghini ITA
56 Kirsten Wild NED

Cylance Pro Cycling
61 Giorgia Bronzini ITA
62 Jelena Eric SRB
63 Sheyla Gutierrez ESP
64 Rossella Ratto ITA
65 Lauren Stephens USA
66 Marta Tagliaferro ITA

Mitchelton Scott
71 Jolien D’Hoore BEL
72 Jessica Allen AUS
73 Georgia Williams NZL
74 Gracie Elvin AUS
75 Alexandra Manly AUS
76 Sarah Roy AUS

Alé Cipollini
81 Chloe Hosking AUS
82 Marta Bastianelli ITA
83 Janneke Ensing NED
84 Romy Kasper GER
85 Roxane Kneteman NED
86 Soraya Paladin ITA

91 Eva Buurman NED
92 Lizzie Holden GBR
93 Manon Lloyd GBR
94 Abby-Mae Parkinson GBR
95 Hannah Payton GBR
96 Abi Van Twisk GBR

Waowdeals Pro Cycling
101 Marianne Vos NED
102 Jeanne Korevaar NED
103 Anouska Koster NED
104 Pauliena Rooijakkers NED
105 Dani Rowe GBR
106 Sabrina Stultiens NED

Hitec Products – Birk Sport
111 Susanne Andersen NOR
112 Charlotte Becker GER
113 Simona Frapporti ITA
114 Nina Kessler NED
115 Ingrid Lorvik NOR
116 Camila Møllebro Pedersen DEN

WNT – Rotor
121 Hayley Simmonds GBR
122 Anna Badegruber AUT
123 Aafke Soet NED
124 Natalie Grinczer GBR
125 Gabrielle Pilot-Fortin CAN
126 Winanda Spoor NED

Team Virtu Cycling
131 Barbara Guarischi ITA
132 Katrine Aaleruud NOR
133 Mieke Kröger GER
134 Katarzyna Pawlowska POL
135 Doris Schweizer SUI

BTC City Ljubljana
141 Eugenia Bujak SLO
142 Polona Batagelj SLO
143 Maaike Boogaard NED
144 Hanna Nilsson SWE
145 Anastasia Iakovenko RUS
146 Urska Pintar SLO

Storey Racing
151 Rebecca Durrell GBR
152 Beth Crumpton GBR
153 Neah Evans GBR
154 Ejay Harris GBR
155 Anna Kay GBR
156 Mel Lowther GBR

Valcar PBM
161 Maria Giulia Confalonieri ITA
162 Chiara Consonni ITA
163 Dalia Muccioli ITA
164 Asja Paladin ITA
165 Ilaria Sanguineti ITA
166 Chiara Zanettin ITA

The final rider list will be confirmed on Tuesday (12 June) afternoon 



Cycle Division’s New Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK