Report/Result: Monmouthshire Junior GP

It’s an early 18th birthday present for Monmouthshire Junior GP winner Mason Hollyman who wins Junior National Series Road Race

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Result: Monmouthshire Junior GP

From Gary Baker

YORKSHIRE’S Mason Hollyman had an early 18th birthday celebration on Sunday by going top of the National Junior Series after a battling performance on the hilly roads of Monmouthshire on Sunday.

Hollyman was second in the Series before the Cwmtillery Glass Monmouthshire Junior Grand Prix started behind Leicestershire’s Alex Haines and was not in the running for first place until the last of the 13.6 mile circuits of Grosmont, near Abergavenny.

But, with Haines fading to a mid-race conclusion, the winner sprinted home up a tough climb to the finish line ahead of Lee Valley’s Alexander Tarlton and Sam Culverwell, from Guernsey just seconds behind.

Hollyman, from Emley, near Huddersfield, is 18 today (Monday June 25), and said: “It was a hard one today. It was a good course that it cannot really be an easy race.

“The first loop (main circuit of 29.3miles) was a reasonably fast course. I knew as long as the break did not get too far away from us (peloton), it was going to be won on the smaller loops.”

However, a couple of crashes on that outward circuit saw some riders limping to the pits area near the finish line with cuts, bruises and injuries. One who suffered was Cwmbran’s Zach Bridges, who was aiming to win his home Series race.
… continued after advert


Hollyman managed to avoid the collisions and said: “There were a few of them and I was very close but managed to avoid them. On one, I saw someone clip somebody else’s wheel but didn’t see the other one.”

He has been pretty consistent in the Series, saying: “I don’t think I’ve been out of the top ten in the ones I have done and I wanted the win badly today.”

But he may not be top of the Series for long. Hollyman is riding in Europe when the next couple of rounds are taking place.
Cwmcarn Paragons rider Morgan Jones got to the finish line on a blisteringly hot day to finish in 42nd place, 14.42 minutes behind the winner.
… continued after advert


1 Mason Hollyman Zappi Racing Team
2 Alexander Tarlton Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
3 Sam Culverwell Guernsey Velo Club
4 Max Rushby Giant Halifax Race Team
5 Jamie Crump Successcycling
6 Samuel Watson PH-MAS/Paul Milnes Cycles
7 Callum Macleod Team Central Region
8 Adam Scarffe Equiom IOM Junior Cycling Team
9 Daniel Maclean-Howell Cardiff Ajax CC
10 Samuel Allen Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
11 Harrison Knight ZeroBC Development Team
12 Oliver Knight Team Corley Cycles
13 Matthew Lewis Wolverhampton
14 Ethan Vernon Ribble Cycling
15 Thomas Bostock Equiom IOM Junior Cycling Team
16 Ben Barlow Spokes Racing Team J1
17 Lewis Askey Team Backstedt/Hotchillee
18 Owain Roberts Wales FJ2
19 Louis Bilyard Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
20 William Orrell-Turner Wheelbase
21 Dylan Westley Giant Halifax Race Team
22 Dylan Hughes Spokes Racing Team
23 Oscar Mingay PH-MAS/Paul Milnes Cycles
24 Jacob Knight ZeroBC Development Team
25 Isaac Peatfield Green Jersey RT
26 Alfred George Spokes Racing Team
27 Alex Haines Leicestershire Road Club
28 David Middleton Sunset Cycles Race Team
29 Toby Perry Team South-east Region
30 Aaron Chambers-Smith Andy Moore Autocentres Racing
31 Joe Howcroft Otley CC
32 Matthew Ellis Soenens Booom
33 Joseph Rees Wales
34 Harry Horsman Team South-east Region
35 Milo Chapman Team Eastern Region
36 Max Walker Equiom IOM Junior Cycling Team
37 Samuel Beckett Cardiff JIF
38 Sean Purser Team Eastern Region
39 Harry Askew Kilkenny Cycling Club
40 Tom Dussek Giant Halifax Race Team
41 Sam Walsham Maxx RT (Maxx Road Team)
42 Morgan Jones Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club
43 Tristan Davies Mid Devon CC
44 Nesta Ferguson Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
45 Euan Cameron Wheelbase
46 Jenson Young Giant Halifax Race Team
47 Tom Couzens Team Central Region
48 Ben Healy Zappi Racing Team
49 Lawrence Coyle Team South-east Regio
50 Angus Hawkins Team Central Region
51 George Mills-Keeling Pro Vision Race Team
52 George Bazley Bristol RC
53 Freddie Grover Team Eastern Region
54 Will Cooper Team South-east Region
55 Brecon Burnett Cardiff Ajax CC J2
56 Lewis Hartley Zappi Racing Team
57 Jamieson Blain Zappi Racing Team
58 Jacques Coates Cycle Team OnForm
59 Luke O’Connell Otley CC 8
60 Charlie Kelly Primera-TeamJobs FJ2
61 Samuel Clark I-Team Cyclists’ Club

Sprint 1, Lap 1 @ 59km
1 Lewis Askey Team Backstedt/Hotchillee 5
2 Callum Macleod Team Central Region 3
3 Dylan Westley Giant Halifax Race Team 1

Sprint 2, Lap 2 @ 79km
1 Lewis Askey Team Backstedt/Hotchillee 5
2 Dylan Westley Giant Halifax Race Team 3
3 Callum Macleod Team Central Region 1

Sprint 3, Lap 3 @ 99km
1 Callum Macleod Team Central Region 5
2 Samuel Beckett Cardiff JIF 3
3 Sam Culverwell Guernsey Velo Club 1

JP Signs and Print Sprints
1 Lewis Askey Team Backstedt/Hotchillee FJ1 10 10
2 Callum Macleod Team Central Region J2 9 9
3 Dylan Westley Giant Halifax Race Team FJ2 4 4
4 Samuel Beckett Cardiff JIF FJ2 3 3
5 Sam Culverwell Guernsey Velo Club J2 1 1


Cycle Division’s New Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK