British Road Race Championships

In two fantastic championships with nail biting finishes, Jess Roberts and Connor Swift (Madison Genesis) came away with the stripes to wear for 12 months

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

British Road Race Championships

Event Press Release

A fantastic solo attack by Connor Swift (Madison Genesis) saw him claim the men’s road race title at the British Road Championships in Northumberland this afternoon. Part of a sizeable breakaway group from a relatively early point in the race, Swift – attacked with around 12km to go, pulling away from a group of Owain Doull, former champion Adam Blythe, Fred Wright, Rob Scott and Ben Hetherington.

Blythe launched an attempt to catch the 22 year-old with 3km of the race to go, but Swift kept him at bay to seal his victory. After the race, Swift said: “When I crossed the line it was pretty surreal – I burst into tears. It’s emotional and it’s not going to sink in for a while.”

“Going into that race today, with the amount of World Tour guys that were in there, I was a big underdog, but I had good legs at the end and I could tell that everyone else was suffering. It was so hard on the legs, and I knew it would be hard for them to pull someone back who was running on such adrenaline.”

Blythe (Aqua Blue Sport) maintained his second place to take home the silver medal, while Team Sky’s Owain Doull completed the podium.
The under-23 title went to Scott (Team Wiggins) while Fred Wright (100% ME) claimed silver and Gabriel Cullaigh (Team Wiggins) third.
… continued after advert


Women’s Race
Jess Roberts produced a sensational ride to claim the elite and under-23 women’s titles at the British Road Championships. The Team Breeze rider attacked alongside Storey Racing’s Mel Lowther with around 15km to go on the Northumberland course, and held off a late charge from Dani Rowe (WaowDeals Pro Cycling) to claim her maiden elite national road title.

Afterwards, the 19 year-old said: “I’m just so happy – I can’t believe it, I think it will take a while to sink in. I started crying as I crossed the finish line because I was just completely overwhelmed.”

Roberts’ Team Breeze team-mate Ellie Dickinson took third, and the duo occupied the top two places on the under-23 podium. Storey Racing’s Anna Kay claimed bronze.

Earlier, both Dani Christmas and Nikki Juniper had launched solo attacks, before Juniper, Hannah Payton, Anna Christian and Natalie Grinczer broke away from the peloton. After they were reeled back in, Roberts and Lowther formed their breakaway, with Roberts pulling ahead of her rival as the race approached the final kilometre.

… continued after advert



1 Connor Swift Madison Genesis 4:19:06
2 Adam Blythe Aqua Blue Sport +22
3 Owain Doull Team Sky +25
4 Robert Scott (U23) Team Wiggins st
5 Fred Wright (U23) 100% ME st
6 Ben Hetherington Memil CCN Pro Cycling +27
7 Gabriel Cullaigh (U23) Team Wiggins +34
8 Ben Swift UAE Team Emirates +59
9 Joey Walker (U23) Team Wiggins st
10 Dexter Gardias Canyon Eisberg st
11 Mark Christian Aqua Blue Sport st
12 Alistair Slater JLT Condor st
13 George Pym Madison Genesis st
14 Daniel Bigham Ribble Cycling +1:03
15 Matthew Holmes Madison Genesis +1:13
16 Charlie Tanfield (U23) Canyon Eisberg +4:24
17 Thomas Stewart JLT Condor st
18 Mark Donovan (U23) Team Wiggins st
19 Ian Stannard Team Sky +4:27
20 Alexandar Richardson 0 +7:52
21 Andrew Tennant Canyon Eisberg +8:16
22 Dylan Kerfoot-Robson (U23) Team Wiggins st
23 Peter Williams One Pro Cycling st
24 Matthew Bostock (U23) 100% ME st
25 Julian Varley (U23) Team KTM UK +8:18
26 Ben Turner (U23) Corendon-Circus st
27 Michael Mottram Morvelo Basso RT st
28 Joshua Hunt Vitus Pro Cycling st
29 Matthew Nowell (U23) Canyon Eisberg st
30 Christopher Latham One Pro Cycling st
31 Zeb Kyffin (U23) Ribble Cycling st
32 Maximilian Stedman (U23) Canyon Eisberg st
33 Mark McNally Wanty – Groupe Gobert st
34 Thomas Moses JLT Condor +8:22
35 James Shaw (U23) Lotto Soudal +8:25
36 Richard Handley Madison Genesis +8:36
37 Thomas Baylis (U23) One Pro Cycling +8:40
38 Thomas Pidcock (U23) Team Wiggins +8:44
HSBC UK National Road Championships

King of the Mountains Winner: Dan Bigham, Ribble Cycling
Points Winner, Connor Swift Madison Genesis
U23 Winner, Robert Scott Team Wiggins


1 Jessica Roberts (U23) Team Breeze 2:43:23
2 Danielle Rowe WaowDeals Pro Cycling Team +1
3 Eleanor Dickinson (U23) Team Breeze st
4 Anna Kay (U23) Storey Racing st
5 Megan Barker (U23) Team Breeze st
6 Elizabeth Banks Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Te st
7 Emily Wadsworth (U23) 100% ME st
8 Henrietta Colborne (U23) Bizkaia Durango-Euskadi Murias st
9 Alice Cobb Lares-Waowdeals Women Cycling T st
10 Laura Massey Torelli-Brother st
11 Hannah Barnes CANYON // SRAM RACING st
12 Elinor Barker Wiggle High5 st
13 Dani Christmas Bizkaia Durango-Euskadi Murias st
14 Rachel Langdon Gray Goat Mobile Bullseye Total st
15 Abigail Van Twisk (U23) Trek-Drops +6
16 Jennifer Powell NJC – Biemme – Echelon st
17 Jennifer George Torelli-Brother +8
18 Anna Henderson (U23) Cycle Team OnForm st
19 Alicia Speake Cycle Team OnForm +11
20 Melissa Lowther (U23) Storey Racing +15
21 Emma Grant Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley B +21
22 Sophie Wright (U23) Torelli-Brother st
23 Hannah Payton Trek-Drops st
24 Abigail Dentus (U23) Team Breeze st
25 Anna Christian Trek-Drops st
26 Illi Gardner (U23) YRDP st
27 Hannah Larbalestier Boompods EDCO NRG st
28 Georgina Panchaud Bianchi Dama st
29 Chanel Mason Storey Racing st
30 Annabel Fisher Team Jadan Weldtite-Vive le Vel st
31 Rebecca Durrell Storey Racing +26
32 Natalie Grinczer WNT Rotor Pro Cycling Team +39
33 Mary Wilkinson Team Jadan Weldtite-Vive le Vel +41
34 Ffion James (U23) Storey Racing +47
35 Claire Steels Fusion RT Veloperformance +1:08
36 Emma Lewis Fusion RT Veloperformance st
37 Nicola Juniper NJC – Biemme – Echelon +1:21
38 Sophie Enever (U23) YRDP st
39 Emma Cockcroft Bianchi Dama st
40 Christina Wiejak Barrow Central Wheelers st
41 Leah Dixon Cycle Team OnForm +1:31
42 Jessica Finney Cycle Team OnForm st
43 Bethan Stubbs Bianchi Dama +1:35
44 Abby-Mae Parkinson (U23) Trek-Drops st
45 Elizabeth Holden (U23) Trek-Drops st
46 Lauren Murphy (U23) TWC Maaslandster Zuid-Limburg +1:38
47 Lucy Shaw Trek-Drops +2:16
48 Chloe Fraser The Racing Chance Foundation +2:35
49 Rhona Callander (U23) Team Breeze +2:58
50 Jo Tindley NJC – Biemme – Echelon st
51 Rebecca Johnson Fusion RT Veloperformance +2:59
52 Rebecca Goodson Fusion RT Veloperformance st
53 Alice Barnes CANYON // SRAM RACING +3:51
54 Annabel Simpson Trek-Drops st
55 Lucy Garner Wiggle High5 st
56 Bethany Crumpton Storey Racing +4:45
57 Monica Dew (U23) Storey Racing st
58 Molly Patch Fusion RT Veloperformance +7:02
59 Helen Ralston Sigma Sports x Threo +7:49
60 Jennifer Batey Boompods EDCO NRG +7:56
61 Natasha Reddy (U23) Team Vision Innovative Leisure +7:58
62 Elizabeth-Jane Harris Storey Racing st
63 Amy Gornall (U23) YRDP st
64 Ruth Summerford trainSharp Club +10:49
65 Jenny Holl (U23) Team Breeze +11:57
66 Rebecca Raybould (U23) Team Breeze st
67 Dame Sarah Storey Storey Racing st
68 Holly MacMahon (U23) 4T+ Cyclopark +17:20
69 Amy Hill TWC Maaslandster Zuid-Limburg +18:56
70 Elizabeth Hughes Sigma Sports x Threo +18:57
71 Bethany Taylor (U23) Bianchi Dama +22:18

Queen of the Mountains: Danni Christmas (Bizkai Durango Eskadi Murias)
Points Winner: Danielle Rowe (Woaw Deals Pro Cycyling Team)
U23 Winner: Jessica Roberts (Team Breeze)
Winning Team: Team Breeze


Cycle Division’s New Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK