Result: Leicester Castle Classic

After a breakaway started by Tobyn Horton and strengthened by Alex Richardson was caught 3k out, Gabz Cullaigh won from teammate Rob Scott in a crash affected finish

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Leicester Castle Classic

The Leicester Castle Classic on Sunday (August 12) saw a dramatic finish after a nailbiting last few laps. Winner was Gabz Cullaigh (left) who edged out his teammate Rob Scott (centre) who is fast heading for the barriers as Chris Latham (3rd) falls into him on the line. Interviews with some of the riders involved in the fall below:

The race started very quick and from lap one, the 100 plus peloton was splitting and a group escaped led here by Jon Mould with British champion Connor Swift (Madison Genesis) always near the front of the race.

From that split though came Tobyn Horton (Madison Genesis) who spent quite a few laps out front alone 

The chase was off and on – here Tom Moses attacks through the castle trying to go clear, chased by Connor Swift, teammate to the leader Tobyn

The only rider who was able to escape the chase group and bridge to Tobyn was Alexandar Richardson who had to survive a moment on a corner where he lost 20 seconds on Tobyn but managed to get back to the front

JLT Condor however, after a little grouping at the front with a few groups coming together, had the numbers and they put riders on the front and chased the two leaders down…

And we were left with that dramatic bunch kick …

Rob Scott crashes into the barriers with Chris Latham whilst behind Andy Tennant also hits the deck

Winner Gabz Cullaigh

… continued after advert


Post Race Interviews

Gabz Cullaigh (Winner)

Rob Scott (second)

Connor Swift (British Champion)

Tobyn Horton (Madison Genesis)
(Who started the breakaway that almost stayed clear)

Alex Richardson (part of the break that almost stayed clear)

… continued after advert



1 Gabriel Cullaigh Team Wiggins 1:51:58
2 Robert Scott Team Wiggins st
3 Christopher Latham One Pro Cycling st
4 Andrew Tennant Canyon Eisberg st
5 Connor Swift Madison Genesis st
6 Isaac Mundy Madison Genesis st
7 Jonathan Mould JLT Condor st
8 Daniel Tulett 100% ME +3
9 Maximilian Stedman Canyon Eisberg st
10 Frederik Scheske Team Tor 2000 KALAS st
11 Jack Pullar Canyon Eisberg st
12 Louis Verhelest Tarteletto – Isorex st
13 Dylan Kerfoot-Robson Team Wiggins st
14 Joey Walker Team Wiggins +6
15 Jacob Scott One Pro Cycling st
16 Joe Evans Saint Piran +17
17 Peter Williams One Pro Cycling st
18 Alexandar Richardson +19
19 Graham Briggs JLT Condor +56
20 Tobyn Horton Madison Genesis +1:02
21 Harrison Jones Vitus Pro Cycling st
22 William Harper Saint Piran +2:34
23 Cameron Jeffers Saint Piran +2:36
24 Jake Womersley Holdsworth Pro Racing +2:38
25 Reece Wood Team Wiggins st
26 James Ireson Morvelo Basso RT st
27 Timothy Torrie Vitus Pro Cycling st
28 Callum Ferguson Team KTM UK st
29 Jordan Peacock Spirit Tifosi Racing Team st
30 Oliver Robinson Team Wiggins st
31 Antony Richardson Royal Air Force CA st
32 Peter Cocker Richardsons-Trek RT st
33 Joshua Croxton Team Tor 2000 KALAS +2:42
34 Neil Van Der Ploeg Madison Genesis +3:01
35 David Lines Wheelbase Castelli MGD st
36 Ken Buckley Spokes BPC Racing st
37 Erick Rowsell Madison Genesis st
38 Thomas Moses JLT Condor st
39 Taylor Gunman Madison Genesis +4:05
40 Alistair Slater JLT Condor +5:04
41 Peter Barusevicus Team KTM UK +5:23
42 Joshua Wallis ActiveEdge Race Team st
43 Oscar Hutchings VCEquipe/FlixOralHygiene/Propul +5:24
44 Thomas Baylis One Pro Cycling +5:43
45 Oliver Wood JLT Condor OTL
46 Fraser Martin Saint Piran OTL
47 Liam Davies Vitus Pro Cycling OTL
48 Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT OTL
49 Jonathan McEvoy Madison Genesis OTL
50 Etienne Georgi Team Wiggins OTL
51 Ryan Fenwick Wheelbase Castelli MGD OTL
52 Peter Haworth Team Tor 2000 KALAS OTL
53 Peter Kibble Wales Racing Academy OTL
54 Will Ranoe Morvelo Basso RT OTL
55 James Tillett Wales Racing Academy OTL
56 Matthew Ellis Soenens Booom OTL
57 Anthony Moye Spirit Tifosi Racing Team OTL
58 Christopher Durham Lincsquad (Quadrathlon Club) OTL
59 Fraser Rounds Team KTM UK OT


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK