Result: Eastern Regional Road Race Championship

George Wood winner of the Bob Whitear Memorial Road Race (inc the Eastern Region Road Race Championship) at Saxlingham Nethergate on August 19

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Eastern Region Road Race Championship

Updated – report & pics from Fergus Muir

L-R: Woodfield, race organiser David Hurrell, Wood, Clements

George Wood of Richardsons/Trek won a hard-fought Eastern Regional Championship Road Race on the tight, scenic and hilly Shotesham circuit just south of Norwich. Organisers Strada Sport put on a well organised race which saw constant attacks that meant the field was more often strung-out, eyeballs-out, rather than in a bunch .

After the fifteenth and final ascent of Skeets Hill, Wood, third last year, took the win from Sam Woodfield (Active Edge) with Wood’s Richardsons/Trek teammate Matt Clements third. With the race just over an hour old Ross Fawcett (Pedal Power Ipswich) and Matt Clements were breaking away – hotly chased by Andy Taylor (VC Norwich) and Gary Freeman (Fast Test)

Later breaks featured Harley Matthews (DAP CC), James Jenkins (Richardsons/Trek) and Jim Bradford (Cambridge CC) among others. The move that decided the race went with a dozen miles remaining when teammates Wood and Clements plus Woodfield (Active/Edge) and Fawcett (Pedal Power) broke clear and were never caught. Up Skeets Hill with five miles to go Wood attacked. Woodfield , from Peterborough, gave his all in a chase to get back on the Richardsons/Trek man’s wheel. He did close the gap, but had nothing left when Wood put the hammer down again. George Wood, who started racing as an Under 12 cyclo-cross rider more than a decade ago, powered away to win by 11 seconds.

Woodfield held on for second place, Clements took third spot ahead of Fawcett. Simon Alexander and Richardsons/Trek teammate James Jenkins, released from blocking duties, came home next, but it was nearly three minutes before the remains of the bunch arrived to settle who would take the minor ranking points.

1 George Wood Richardsons-Trek RT
2 Samuel Woodfield ActiveEdge Race Team
3 Matthew Clements Richardsons-Trek RT
4 Ross Fawcett Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
5 Simon Alexander Richardsons-Trek RT
6 James Jenkins Richardsons-Trek RT
7 Charlie Wright Strada-Sport
8 Liam Fenner API-Metrow/Bodyby JR
9 Mark Richards DAP Cycling Club
10 Harley Matthews DAP Cycling Club
11 Laurence Kirby ActiveEdge Race Team
12 Jim Bradford Cambridge CC
13 Gary Freeman Fast Test Racing Team
14 Timothy Torrie Vitus Pro Cycling
15 Michael Parry Verulam –
16 Josh Rock Bloodwise QSW
17 Andy Lyons API-Metrow/Bodyby JR
18 Tom Elwood Cycle Team OnForm
19 Thomas Heal Strada-Sport
20 Charlie Passfield Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
21 Jack Burgin St Ives CC
22 Jack Hardwicke Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
23 Lewis Pendle VC Norwich
24 Andrew Taylor VC Norwich




Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,