Report/Result: Yorkshire Regional RR Championships

Alex Dalton, Hannah Larbalestier and Glen Turnbull Paton and  Jim Brown winners at the 2018 Yorkshire Regional Road Race Championships on Sunday, August 19

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Result: Yorkshire Regional RR Championships
(thanks Marc Etches)


The elite race was run over 7 laps and still the wind blew and rain threatened throughout the race. The first lap was run at a fast pace with lots of attacking on the rolling circuit. Once the race settled down, the first group to gain an advantage was a group of six rider including all three Wiggins riders, Joey Walker, Rob Scott and Reece Wood.

They soon had a 30 second advantage which soon grew to 45 seconds but the peloton, driven by One Pro Cycling’s Pete Williams saw the threat and continued to work hard to reduce the gap. By the next lap the group were brought back. Next up it was Rob Scott’s turn to launch a solo attack. He had a 15 second advantage on lap 4 and was soon joined by Julian Varley, Team KTM UK, team mate, Joey Walker and Freddie Jagger, Team B38 / Underpin Racing.

But again the group was brought back mainly down to Pete Williams and a committed chasing group. By the next lap a group of 9 riders finally cracked the now reduced peloton and gained a 55 second gap within the next 1.5 laps. This group would go on to contest the win. In the final stages, Dave Shackleton, Team KTM UK and Alex Dalton, Wheelbase Castelli MGD attacked and gained a small advantage over Rob Scott. The pairing worked together over the last 3k and they battled it out for the win up the 200 meter climb.

With 50 meters to go it looked like Shackleton had the win but Dalton refused to give up and one last gasp effort saw the Wheelbase Castelli MGD rider beat Shackleton for the Howard Amos trophy by just half a wheel. Rob Scott rolled in for 3rd and One Pro Cycling’s Pete Williams collected 4th place ahead of Joey Walker, Team Wiggins.

Men’s Elite Result
1st Alex Dalton Wheelbase Castelli MGD 78 miles in 3:08.34
2nd David Shackleton Team KTM UK same time
3rd Robert Scott Team Wiggins @ 6 secs
4th Peter Williams One Pro Cycling @ 11 secs
5th Joey Walker Team Wiggins @ 18 secs
6th Reece Wood Team Wiggins @ 20 secs
7th Daniel McDermott FTR Milltag @ 26 secs
8th Julian Varley Team KTM UK @ 31 secs
9th Jude Taylor Team B38 / Underpin Racing @ 1:15
10th Kieran Savage Cycling Sheffield @ 3:58
11th Dean Watson Andy Moore Autocentres Racing st
12th Hayden Allen THRE Datawolves RT st
13th Billy Robinson Le Col @ 4:07
14th Jake Wormersley Holdsworth Pro Cycling @ 4:15
15th Glen Hale Holmfirth CC @ 4:28
16th Eugene Cross Team B38 / Underpin Racing @ 8:22
17th Toby Jarvis Team PB Performance @ 8:27
18th Robert Mitchell Out of the Saddle CC @ 8:35
19th Matthew Armitage Cyclesense st
20th Thomas Potter All Terrain Cycles Ride in Peace @ 8:38

… continued after advert



The women’s race saw the two favourites break away on lap two along with Mary Wilkinson of Team Jadan Weldtite-Vive le Velo. Hannah Larbalestier, Boompods EDCO NRG, defending regional champion, Gabriella Shaw, NJC – Biemme – Echelon and Wilkinson forged out a minutes lead with one lap to go and held that advantage to the finish.

The sprint opened up at 200 metres to go and it was Wilkinson who lead it out only to suffer a mechanical which put Shaw onto the grass. This gave Larbalestier the chance to open up her sprint and although it was close she never looked like being beaten.

The Boompods EDCO NRG rider won by two Bike lengths from a frustrated Shaw. Wilkinson remounted after fixing her bike to take third place. Junior winner and was easily Lily Greenhalgh, Torelli-Brother ahead of Charlotte Dalton riding for Team Jadan Weldtite-Vive le Velo.

Women’s Results

1st Hannah Larbalestier Boompods EDCO NRG
2nd Gabriella Shaw NJC – Biemme – Echelon
3rd Mary Wilkinson Team Jadan Weldtite-Vive le Velo
4th Josie Cram Albarosa CC
5th Melissa Greaves Valley Striders CC
6th Linda Evans Unattached
7th Nicola Moore Squadra RT
8th Rebecca Longthorpe Cliff Pratt Racing

Junior Women Results

1st Lily Greenhalgh Torelli-Brother
2nd Charlotte Dalton Team Jadan Weldtite-Vive le Velo

… continued after advert



The first race of a full day of racing in North Yorkshire took place in dull and windy condtions. 39 master and junior riders took on 5 laps of the 11.2 miles Pennypot Circuit north of Harrogate. The junior field of 16 riders made the racing hard from lap one and soon gaps developed. Team PH-MAS Paul Milnes Cycles riders made several attempts at breaking away and by lap 3, Jim Brown and Oliver Rees along with Dylan Westley, Giant Halifax Race Team forged out a 20 second advantage.

This trio were joined by Joe Howcroft, Otley CC who rode across to the leader and the quartet soon increased their gap to 25 seconds. With 2 laps to go, the gap came tumbling down and they crossed the line with a slender 13 second advantage and the race came together for a bunch sprint up the final climb.

It was Jim Brown who proved too strong for Jack Ford, Wheelbase Cabtech Junior RT who came in a few seconds ahead of Brown’s team mate, Oliver Rees who rode in solo and Alex Ridehalgh, Paceline Cycles North came in 4th place ahead of the chasers.

The veterans race was run alongside the juniors and this made for a very tough race from lap one. Two groups formed in the windy conditions and the front group never really looked like being caught.

As the masters did battle with the younger junior riders they came into the last lap behind the winning group of Juniors. On the final kick to the line it was a two up sprint between Glen Turnbull, and local rider Thomas Denwood of Harrogate Nova CC. On the line it was Turnbull who took the victory by a bike length from Denwood. Third place went to Jonathan Apaloo, VC York ahead of Tim Gill, Ilkley CC coming over the line solo ahead of Richard Moore, Squadra RT.

Masters Over 40 Results

1st Glen Turnbull Paton
2nd Thomas Denwood Harrogate Nova CC
3rd Jonathan Apaloo VC York
4th Tim Gill Ilkley CC
5th Richard Moore Squadra RT
6th Doug Hart Ilkley CC
7th Gordon Kemp Rockingham CC
8th Tristan Emptage Chevin Trek
9th Andy Coward Harrogate Nova CC
10th Paul Lehan Harrogate Nova CC
11th Duncan Johnson Albarosa CC
12th Ged Millward Ilkley CC
13th Matthew Mannakee Prologue Racing Team
14th Alan Davies Born to Bike Racing Team
15th Charles Warren Harrogate Nova CC

Junior Men Results

1st Jim Brown PH-MAS / Paul Milnes Cycles
2nd Jack Ford Wheelbase Cabtech Junior RT
3rd Oliver Rees PH-MAS / Paul Milnes Cycles
4th Alex Ridehalgh Paceline Cycles North
5th Mathew Taylor Albion Cycling Co
6th Dylan Westley Giant Halifax Racing Team
7th William Foster Cyclesence
8th Jenson Young Giant Halifax Racing Team
9th Joe Howcroft Otley CC
10th Evan Cameron Wheelbase Cabtech Junior RT
11th William Orrell-Turner Wheelbase Cabtech Junior RT
12th Joseph Law Green Jersey RT
13th Jonny Gill PH-MAS / Paul Milnes RT
14th Harry Buxton Andy Moore Autocentres Racing
15th Harvey Stroh Team SB Hub


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,