Report: Wessex CX League Round 2

Round 2 – Wessex CX League: There were wins today for Adrian Lansley and Emily Wadsworth at the NHRC event held at Stratton Park in Basingstoke – Graham Robins reports

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Wessex CX League Round 2

Sunday 23rd September | from Graham Robins

There were wins today for Adrian Lansley (Pedal On) and Emily Wadsworth (Beeline Cycles RT) at the NHRC event held at Stratton Park in Basingstoke. Following on from last week Lansley from Tadley and nineteen year old Wadsworth from Oxford made it two from two at the season’s opening rounds. After last week’s dead heat Lansley made sure of the win today by leading it out from the start and with a winning margin of nearly two minutes from Alex Forrester ( and Tom Budden (Sotonia CC) in third.

Adrian Lansley

The morning’s races were held under dark skies and heavy rain but by time the seniors took to the course it had dried and the sun came out. The course held in parkland held up really well and drained quickly.

Lansley lead the field away followed by Forrester, Sam Allen (Pedal On), Budden and Joe Hickerton (Spokes BPC Racing). There was a gap to a chase group which included Karl Norfolk (Pedal On), Alex Watkins and David Brazier (Sarum Velo).

After the initial first couple of laps the race settled down and the race order was almost settled and Lansley increased his lead over Forrester and Budden who were locked together. Allen was being distanced from the leaders and was nearly a minute down on our leader. Behind were Norfolk and Hickerton and now Thomas Nightingale (Cowley Road Condors) was making in-roads in the top ten. Closing out the top ten was a three-way duel between Watkins, Dan Adkins (Didcot Phoenix CC) and Christopher Minter (Pedal On).

As the laps ticked away the race order remained static with only Nightingale managing to make up a couple of places as he got past both Hickerton and Minter. Lansley was well clear at the chequered flag whilst Forrester pulled away from Budden over the remaining two laps.

… continued after advert

Following on from last week’s first separate women’s race we had another strong showing with 52 taking to the course. The conditions were now clearing up as the women started their race and quickly Emily Wadsworth made her usual quick start and she was joined by junior Abbie Manley (Hargroves-Montezuma’s) and vet Helen Pattinson (Hargroves-Montezuma’s). In close contact with the leaders were Lindy Brazier-Larkin (Sarum Velo), Jennifer Forrester (, Melanie Smith (Cotswold Veldrijden) and Alison Rothnie (Spokes BPC Racing).

Emily Wadsworth

Behind Abbie in the junior race were team mates Poppy Pattinson and further back Ella Lawrence. In the vet category led by Helen but further down the field were Jess Connor (Cotswold Veldrijden) and Ruth Miller (PM). Alison Ford (GS Vecchi) was the first in the O50 category.

Within three laps Wadsworth’s gap over Manley was now over a minute with Rothnie, Forrester and Brazier-Larkin locked at 1min 16secs down. Helen Pattinson was next followed by Smith and Lydia Brookes (Les Filles RT). Both Poppy and Ella were dropping back and they were replaced by Kate Robson (Pedal On). At the bell our leader was now 1min 30secs clear of Manley, Forrester had finally shaken off Brazier-Larkin and Rothnie by 18secs with the rest now beginning to tire gaps began to appear.

In the combined junior and vet 40 race it was Barney Clacy (Hargroves-Ridley-Montezuma’s) who won overall from Dan Guest (Cotswold Veldrijden). The top eight places were a mixture of one junior and one vet and Crispin Doyle (Hargroves-Montezuma’s) was second vet and third overall. The vet 50+ race was a clean sweep for the riders from GS Vecchi as Kevin Holloway led home Phillip Boarer and Tim Costello. Jed Smithson (Worx Factory Racing) was first youth and Madeline Grace Cooper (Spokes BPC Racing) was the first female youth.
… continued after advert


Provisional Results
1st Adrian Lansley Pedal On 59mins 38secs
2nd Alex Forrester @1min 51secs
3rd Tom Budden Sotonia CC @2mins 06secs
4th Sam Allen Pedal On
5th Thomas Nightingale Cowley Road Condors
6th Karl Norfolk Pedal On
7th Joe Hickerton Spokes BPC Racing
8th Alex Watkins Sarum Velo
9th Daniel Atkins Didcot Phoenix CC
10th Christopher Minter Pedal On

1st Emily Wadsworth Beeline Cycles RT 40mins 17secs 1st Senior
2nd Abbie Manley Hargroves–Montezuma’s 1st Junior
3rd Helen Pattinson Hargroves–Montezuma’s 1st Vet
4th Jennifer Forrester
5th Lindy Brazier-Larkin Sarum Velo
6th Alison Rothnie Spokes BPC Racing
7th Melanie Smith Cotswold Veldrijden
8th Lydia Brookes Les Filles RT
9th Kate Robson Pedal On
10th Jessica Connor Cotswold Veldrijden

Vet 50+ women
1st Alison Ford GS Vecchi
2nd Helen Wallington PM
3rd Catherine Pascoe New Forest CC

Vet 40+junior
1st Barney Clacy Hargroves–Montezuma’s 1st junior
2nd Dan Guest Cotswold Veldrijden
3rd Matthew Coulson PPV 2nd junior
4th Crispin Doyle Hargroves–Montezuma’s
5th Samuel Freeman Hargroves–Montezuma’s 3rd junior
6th Jamie Norfolk Pedal On

Vet 50+
1st Kevin Holloway GS Vecchi 38mins 14secs
2nd Phillip Boarer GS Vecchi @26secs
3rd Tim Costello GS Vecchi @1min
4th Dave McMullen Cotswold Veldrijden
5th Shaun Green Stonehenge Tri and Road club

Youth Male
1st Jed Smithson Worx Factory Racing
2nd Gareth Davies Banjo Cycles
3rd Angus Beggin Bicester Millennium CC
4th Thomas Wadsworth Beeline Cycles RT
5th Jamie Gostick PPV

Youth Female
1st Madeline Grace Cooper Spokes BPC Racing
2nd Amelia Cox Banjo Cycle CX Development Team
3rd Amelie Prior Banjo Cycles
4th Alexa Hawkins Banjo Cycles
5th Elana Day Solent Pirates Youth CC


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,