Team News: Madison Genesis for 2019

Madison Genesis announce their squad for 2019, featuring the core of last season’s successful squad and some exciting new signings.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Team News: Madison Genesis for 2019

Erick Rowsell, Tobyn Horton, Jonny McEvoy, George Pym, Rich Handley, Mike Cuming, Matt Holmes and British Road Race Champion Connor Swift are all staying in MGT colours, and they’ll be joined by Ian Bibby, Joe Laverick, Tom Moses, Jon Mould and Joey Walker.

There is a familiar face in charge as well, with Roger Hammond returning as DS to a role in which he’s had great success in the past, and he brings a fantastic mix of experience and enthusiasm.
“On paper we have a really strong team so it’s up to us now to extract the best out of all of those guys individually, as a team” he said.

“You’ve got the stable core, which I find is always important about a team is to keep a core. And the core has stayed the same and all we’ve done is to change the outside of it.  “The whole point of this team is to give these guys an opportunity. Right from the birth of the team it was all about providing that stable environment for people just to concentrate on realising their dreams and that’s what we want to do.”

For anyone who watches domestic racing, Ian Bibby is a rider that needs no introduction (but we’re going to give him one anyway). For over a decade, Bibby has been a standout rider, winning national series events on road, off-road and in cyclocross.

Ian Bibby in Madison Genesis colours again

In 2018 he had one of his most successful years yet, grabbing third on the final stage of the Tour de Yorkshire to secure sixth overall in the race, showing his ability to challenge the world’s best riders.

Next up is Jon Mould, one of Britain’s best crit racers and a man with 11 Tour Series wins to his name. But he’s a man who can lend his talents to any occasion, as he showed with second at the Commonwealth Games road race and a win at the UCI 1.2 GP des Marbriers.

Tom Moses burst onto the scene in 2014, winning the CiCLE Classic and this year made a big step up, taking the Tour of the Reservoir with a stunning individual stage victory – a win that was doubly sweet as it was his first in a national road series race.

The final two new riders are young guns: Joey Walker and Joe Laverick. Walker is one of Britain’s most promising young riders, belying his age by already bagging wins at the Colne GP and Sheffield GP, while Laverick will be the youngest rider on Madison Genesis at just 18, but eighth at the Junior World Time Trial Championships this year was a glimpse of his potential and we’re excited to see him develop.

Eight riders return to the team for 2019, with the headline being British Road Race Champion Connor Swift, who’ll be resplendent in his National Champs kit all season.

There were also strong results in 2018 for Jonny McEvoy who took the overall in the British Spring Cup, Mike Cuming who wore the King of the Mountains jersey at the Tour de Yorkshire and Matt Holmes, who took home the combativity jersey at the Tour of Britain.

Also returning are Tobyn Horton, the team’s longest serving member now going into his fifth season, Road Captain Erick Rowsell, who’ll be in his fourth year with the squad and Rich Handley who’ll be starting his third season. George Pym showed a lot of promise in his first season at MGT, and we’re excited to see how he progresses heading into 2019.

Ian Bibby
Mike Cuming
Rich Handley
Matt Holmes
Tobyn Horton
Joe Laverick
Johnny McEvoy
Tom Moses
Jon Mould
George Pym
Erick Rowsell
Connor Swift
Joey Walker




Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK