Perfs Pedal Entries Close Jan 20

Entry for the early season classic the Perfs Pedal on February 10 closes on January 20 after which a full field will be selected – Former winners go far back as Tony Mills in 1964 and over the years Ian Hallam, Dave Legrys, Glenn Longland, Chris Newton, Alex Dowsett, Julian Winn and Tour de France hero Sean Yates are among the victors

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Perfs Pedal Entries Close Jan 20

Entry for the early season classic the Perfs Pedal on February 10 closes on January 20 after which a full field will be selected. The race will cover five laps of the Portsdown Hill circuit starting from Southwick before turning off the circuit with 5km to go to finish at the top of Lodge Hill making a total distance of 74K.

The organisers tell us that notable teams to enter so far include Canyon DHB p/n Bloor Homes, Nopinz Latchem Race Team and the Wales Racing Academy. As for riders, former winner  and Tour of Britain Sprints winner Alex Paton is one of the entries as is Time Trial record holder Marcin Bialoblocki (Nopinz Latchem Race Team):
– 10 mile T/T record holder (16:35)
– 25 mile T/T record holder (42:58)
– 50 mile T/T record holder (1:30:31)
… continued after advert

Other riders include Louis Rose-Davies (Canyon DHB P/B Bloor Homes) the 2017 National Junior Road Race Champion, Jacob Vaughan (Canyon DHB P/B Bloor Homes) the 2016 National Junior Road Race Champion who returns from Europe and time with the Lotto U23 team, Michael Mottram (Vitus Pro Cycling p/b Brother UK), Lincoln GP winner Alexandar Richardson (Canyon DHB P/B Bloor Homes), Lee Frost (Nopinz Latchem Race Team), George Smith (Nopinz Latchem Race Team) and Oscar Mingay (Wales Racing Academy).


1964 Tony Mills Ryall / Raxar
1965 Barrie Heath Bournemouth Olympic
1966 Graham Moore Bristol Road Club
1967 Alan Williams Dragon RC
1968 & 69 Not Held
1970 Graham Moore Bristol Road Club
1971 Graham Moore Bristol Road Club
1972 Clive Crossley Bristol Road Club
1973 Derek Witt G S Europa
1974 Bob Woodley Kingston Pheonix
1975 Ian Hallam Beeston Road Club
1976 Dave LeGrys 34th Nomads CC
1977 Clive Oxborrow Brighton Mitre CC
1978 Glenn Longland Antelope RT
1979 Sean Yates Archer RC / Cutty Sark
1980 Tim Stevens 34th Nomads CC
1981 Piers Hewitt VC Europa
1982 Tim Stevens 34th Nomads CC
1983 Tim Harris Willeboro-Van-Peer-Kyoso
1984 Tim Harris Willeboro-Van-Peer-Kyoso
1985 Glenn Longland Antelope RT
1986 Tim Harris Weilersport
1987 Nigel Perry G S Stella / Weilersport / VRV
1988 Mark Markowski Hastings & St Leonards
1989 Race stopped by Police
1990 Simon Bray Invicta-DLB / Phil Corley Cycles
1991 Paul Rogers VC St Raphaël / Waite Contracts
1992 Brian Fleming C C Romford
1993 Richard Wooles CC Abergavenny / Owen Construction
1994 Colin Langley C C Luton
1995 Martin Markowski Velo Club Bayeaux
1996 Brian Fleming Cannon Sports Club / Omega Bio Racer
1997 Justin Clarke Giant – Portland
1998 David Rand PDM Sports – Concorde – WCU
1999 Paul Wilkes VC St Martinus
2000 Justin Hoy Liphook Cycle RT
2001 Julian Winn Welsh Cycling Union Private Member
2002 Barry Elcombe Festival Road Club / Nico lapage
2003 Cancelled due to Flooding
2004 Julian Winn Pinarello RT/Pinarello/Corima
2005 Chris Newton Xpower/Litespeed
2006 Jason Williamson / Xpower
2007 Alex Dowsett 100% ME
2008 James Stewart KFS Special Vehicles / Sunday Bikes
2009 Will Bjergfelt Sports Beans-Willier
2010 cancelled due to poor road conditions
2011 Ben Stockdale Team Quroz
2012 Chris Opie Team UK Youth
2013 Marcin Bialoblocki Team UK Youth
2014 cancelled due to poor road conditions
2015 Yanto Barker ONE Pro Cycling
2016 Rory Townsend Pedal Heaven
2017 Chris Opie, Canyon
2018 Alex Paton, Canyon Eisberg


… continued after advert


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK