Report: Clayton Spring Classic 2019

Oliver Rees, one of four juniors who clipped off the front of their group on lap 3, is the second junior ever to win the Clayton Velo Spring classic

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Clayton Spring Classic 2019

It was a summer like day for the 2019 Edition of the Clayton Spring Classic and in bright sunshine, the riders with an NEG escort, rode to the start en-mass out of Clithero

The biggest group in the handicap race was the Juniors and Veterans and they set off first ahead of a largish second group with only a small group on Scratch with the fewest pros seen in the event for many a year sadly. There are differing views on UCI teams competing in ‘grass roots race’ but I and those I spoke to certainly feel they add something special to the event and would be good to see them supporting these grass roots events.

No sooner had the Scratch gone off six minutes behind the front group, said front group came steaming pass at speed….

Chased by the second group who were not hanging about….

And then the smallest group, the scratch one …

After only two laps, there was a breakaway off the front of the race which was the start of the winning break….

The chasers behind the two leaders on the start of lap three

Lap 3 and a solo leader (Oliver Rees, eventual winner) about to get caught by four others

And behind the leaders were yet more groups going off the front of the first group

The scratch group …

Five leaders with over a 3 minute gap and looking like winners after only five laps of the 15

… continued after advert

A lap or two later however and the group was down to four

Behind, the race had settled a bit with Shaun Pearson of Merlin Cycles leading the second group

With six laps to go and the speed of all the front groups was quick and the groups were strung out

Whilst behind, a rider more accustomed to racing the Tour of Flanders, Strade Bianche and Kuurne Brussels Kuurne at this time of year, Scott Thwaites (Vitus Pro Cycling), was now towing along Jake Womersley

Head down, ass up as the group behind Thwaites chased down the groups ahead

Steven Parsonage doing an impressive ride chasing down the four leaders ahead of him and bringing down the gap too with Logan Maclean on his wheel

Behind Scott Thwaites and Jake Womersley was another splinter group

The win though went to Oliver Rees who clipped off at the end to win ahead of his teammate to make it a 1-2 for the HMT Hospitals junior team

Steven Parsonage wins the sprint for 5th

Scott Thwaites crosses the line in 8th after giving his new bike a through shake down in its first race
… continued after advert


Result: Clayton Spring Classic 2019

1 Oliver Rees HMT Hospitals Giant Cycling Team 1st J
2 Dylan Westley HMT Hospitals Giant Cycling Team 2nd J
3 Isaac Peatfield Green Jersey RT 2nd J
4 Scott Howieson Spokes Racing Team 2nd J
5 Steven Parsonage Durham University Cycling Club 3rd
6 Logan Maclean Spokes Racing Team 2nd J
7 Jake Womersley Crimson Performance RT 2nd
9 James Noonan Hoppers Rollers 1st
10 Finn Crockett Wheelbase Castelli MGD 1st
11 Christopher Humphries Onimpex Bio Racer RT 2nd
12 Matthew Warhurst High Peak Cycles RT 2nd
13 Jamie Ridehalgh Crimson Performance RT 2nd
14 Theo Hartley ILLI-Bikes Cycling Team 2nd
15 Jimmy Smith Specialized Racing 2nd
16 Steven Fidler 3C Payment sports 2nd
17 Charlie Critchley Tactic Sport 2nd
18 John Hines 3C Payment sports 3rd
19 George Elliott Innovation Racing 2nd J
20 Grant Martin 2nd
21 Craig Battersby Team Chronomaster 2nd
22 Alex Ridehalgh Paceline Cycles North 2nd
23 Gavin Berry Lune Racing Cycling Club 2nd
24 Bobby Horton Green Jersey RT 2nd J
25 Ben Barlow 1st
26 Charles Paige Green Jersey RT 2nd J
27 Adam Smith Innovation Racing 3rd J
28 Jack Crook Liverpool Mercury (Dolan) CC 3rd
29 Tom Garnett Ilkley Cycling Club 2nd
30 Tarn Fynn Crimson Performance RT 1st
31 Fraser Martin 1st
32 Harvey Stroh Team SB Hub 2nd J
33 Francis Woodcock Bury Clarion Cycling Club 3rd J
34 Julian Roche All Terrain Cycles Ride In Peace 2nd
35 William Abbott Innovation Racing 2nd J
36 Stephen Abbott Hoppers Rollers 2nd
37 Tom Rowlay Hopey Bicycle Repairs 3rd
38 Shaun Pearson Team Merlin 2nd
39 Christopher Mann Marsh Tracks Racing – Trek 3rd J
40 Alexander Dent Spokes Racing Team 2nd J
41 Martin Woffindin 2nd
42 Mathew Lythgoe Ribble Valley CRC 3rd
43 William Harding Marsh Tracks Racing – Trek 3rd J
44 Dillon Byrne Bella In Sella Racing 1st
45 Glen Hale Holmfirth Cycling Club 2nd
46 Alexander Hutchinson Prologue Racing Team 2nd
47 Louis Evans Innovation Racing 3rd J
48 Matti Dobbins Glasgow Cycle Team 2nd J
49 Ross Miller 3rd 1
50 Pedro Clem Green Jersey RT 3rd 1 J
51 Scott Williams Marsh Tracks Racing – Trek 3rd 1 J
52 Scott Roberts Marsh Tracks Racing – Trek 3rd 1 J
53 Rueben Orr SF Racing 3rd 1 J
54 Gareth Frankland Team SB Hub 3rd 1
55 Sam Dobson Team SB Hub 3rd 1


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK