Team News: Wout Van Aert 2nd at E3

Cyclo-cross star Wout Van Aert (Team Jumbo – Visma) second in E3 Binckbank Classic on Friday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Team News: Wout Van Aert 2nd at E3

The E3 Binckbank Classic remained locked until the peloton hit the climbs. After attacks by, among others, Danny van Poppel, Mike Teunissen and Amund Jansen were neutralised, Bob Jungels attacked. The winner of Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne got a lead of more than one minute before the favourites launched their attacks on the Paterberg and the Oude Kwaremont.

Photo: © Tim De Waele / Getty Images

Van Aert proved to be very strong and broke clear, while being accompanied by Greg van Avermaet, Zdenek Stybar and Alberto Bettiol. The four caught Jungels in the last seven kilometres, after which a sprint was unavoidable. Stybar benefited from the fact that he did not put in any efforts in the pursuit of his teammate.

“The E3 is one of the most difficult races of the spring. I certainly felt it in my legs. This race is just a bit more difficult than the previous classics. I am happy that I was able to ride a final again”, Van Aert said. “I certainly thought about winning. But after such a difficult race it is always an atypical sprint. I felt really good and in the final kilometres I mainly focused on Stybar’s attacks that you knew were coming. It was the best tactic to be in his wheel straight away. Though it was far from easy. It also took quite a long time before we could bridge over to Jungels. That cost us a lot of energy.”

Van Aert was impressed by his strong team today. “After the first selection, we were still well-represented in the front. Van Poppel, Teunissen and Jansen did a very good job. It’s a pity that Amund just wasn’t able to join Jungels when he attacked. When Van Avermaet accelerated on the Paterberg, I did not hesitate for a moment to join him. When he goes, the only option is to join. And I managed.”

1 Zdenek Stybar Deceuninck – Quick Step 4.46.05
2 Wout Van Aert Team Jumbo – Visma
3 Greg Van Avermaet CCC Team
4 Alberto Bettiol EF Education First
5 Bob Jungels Deceuninck – Quick Step 03″
6 Nils Politt Team Katusha – Alpecin 1′ 04″
7 Matteo Trentin Mitchelton – Scott
8 Oliver Naesen AG2R La Mondiale
9 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar Team
10 Marc Hirschi Team Sunweb
11 Philippe Gilbert Deceuninck – Quick Step 1′ 33″
12 Sebastian Langeveld EF Education First
13 Sonny Colbrelli Bahrain – Merida
14 Jens Keukeleire Lotto – Soudal
15 Niki Terpstra Direct Energie 1′ 37″
16 Tiesj Benoot Lotto – Soudal 1′ 42″
17 Peter Sagan Bora – Hansgrohe
18 Yves Lampaert Deceuninck – Quick Step 1′ 45″
19 Marco Haller Team Katusha – Alpecin 2′ 49″
20 Magnus Cort Astana Pro Team

21 Alexander Kristoff UAE Team Emirates
50 Jack Bauer Mitchelton – Scott
54 Luke Rowe Team Sky
67 Conor Dunne Israel Cycling Academy 3′ 46″
90 Ian Stannard Team Sky 10′ 39″
98 Thomas Scully EF Education First



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK