Result: DAP CC Spring Road Races

Steven Parsonage and Matthew Carter winners at the DAP CC Spring Road Races at Beccles in Suffolk on Sunday (March 31)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: DAP CC Spring Road Races

Nat B road race presentation: L-R Tom Fitzpatrick (3rd), Steven Parsonage, Jenny Lusher who presented the prizes, and Barnabas Purbrook. Pic: Fergus Muir

Report from Fergus Muir
Surprise winner of the DAP CC National B road race was VC Norwich member Steven Parsonage who broke away in company with Barnabas Purbrook (Nuun-Sigma Sport) and stayed clear for the last hour of the 76 mile race.

Parsonage who is 23 and a former GB squad rower, finally opened a gap on Purbrook on Stone Street, the Bungay-Halesworth road, with about six miles remaining. He finished 13 seconds clear. Just over a minute later Tom Fitzpatrick (RTS Racing) took third from Oliver Robinson (Team Wiggins).

Purbrook, incidentally, had won the Orwell Velo two-up time trial the previous afternoon. Riding with his wife Ruth, the pair beat all-male teams of no mean ability. A full field of 60 contested the race on a 10 mile circuit on the relatively flat tree-lined roads of north Suffolk on a bright day with a cold east wind.

Pic: Fergus Muir. Steven Parsonage (leading) and Barnabus Purbrook with one lap to go.

On the second of the eight laps Matt Clements (Richardsons/Trek) and another made an attack and were chased by a group including Parsonage, Andy Taylor, Ben Thompson, and Oli Wood, with Tommy Power chasing close behind. Behind the leaders, a bizarre incident with a dog split the main field and resulted in the dog inviting itself into the assistant comms car.

By just after the halfway point the lead group had grown to around 16 riders at which point Parsonage and Purbrook made their move.

Completing the top ten finishers in the DAP race, fifth place went to Oliver Knights (HMT Hospitals), whose father was also in the same race. The next three places went to Joseph Sutton (Richardsons/Trek), Jim Bradford (Active Edge) and James Jenkins (Richardsons/Trek). Lawrence Carpenter (Team Wiggins) came in alone for ninth, while Essex rider Matt Clements (Richardsons/Trek) headed the next group, about three minutes down on the winner.

In the morning the 47 mile race for third and fourth cat riders was won in a bunch sprint by Matt Carter (Velo Schils) from Sean Dunlea (Bloodwisw/QSW) and Darren Rutterford (Iceni Velo).

Pics: Fergus Muir 

Cat 3/4
1 Matthew Carter Velo Schils – Interbike RT
2 Sean Dunlea Bloodwise QSW
3 Darren Rutterford Iceni Velo
4 Matthew Watts Push Sport / Barford Van Hire
5 Ben Ewing Iceni Velo
6 Sam Baxter DAP Cycling Club
7 Tom Yiangou Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
8 Matthew Day Orwell Velo
9 Lukasz Szeloch Redbridge CC
10 Caolan Stowe VC Norwich
11 Lucas He Velo Club Baracchi
12 Nicholas Esser DAP Cycling Club
13 Aaron Stone Cycle Team OnForm
14 Adam Chamberlin TPH Racing
15 Sam Yates Strada-Sport
16 Patrick Grant Iceni Velo
17 Chris Owen Cambridge CC
18 Andy Bartelsmeier Iceni Velo
19 Calvert Churchill Strada-Sport
20 Glenn Davey Stowmarket & District CC
21 David Clark Orwell Velo
22 Tim Guy Iceni Velo
23 Philip Large Iceni Velo
24 Phil Marler Godric CC
25 Michael Bell Fast Test Racing Team
26 Aidan Kerrigan Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
27 Lubomir Belak St Ives CC
28 Bradley Nelson DAP Cycling Club
29 Elliot Fullerton
30 Thomas Abbott Fast Test Racing Team
31 David Husband Godric CC
32 Alex Pantelides Cambridge University CC
33 Clover Murray Liv Awol
34 George Macfarlane UEA Velo
35 Ben Howell Strada-Sport
36 Louis Julian DAP Cycling Club
37 Oliver Partner Colchester Rovers CC
38 Vincent Ellis Velo Schils – Interbike RT
39 Joshua Sykes Strada-Sport
40 Chris Parker Ipswich Bicycle Club
… continued after advert


Photo: Jack Payne (Natural Photography)  

1 Steven Parsonage VC Norwich
2 Barnabas Purbrook Nuun-Sigma Sports-London RT
3 Tom Fitzpatrick RTS RACING TEAM
4 Oliver Robinson Team Wiggins Le Col
5 Oliver Knight HMT Hospitals Giant Cycling Te…
6 Joseph Sutton Richardsons-Trek RT
7 Jim Bradford ActiveEdge Race Team
8 James Jenkins Richardsons-Trek RT
9 Lawrence Carpenter Team Wiggins Le Col
10 Matthew Clements Richardsons-Trek RT
11 William Mapus-Smith The Bike Bar RT
12 Simon Alexander Richardsons-Trek RT
13 Seb Herrod Strada-Sport
14 Morris Bacon DAP Cycling Club
15 Timothy Torrie Vitus Pro Cycling p/b Brother…
16 Theo Modell Richardsons-Trek RT
17 Andy Lyons API-Metrow/Bodyby JR
18 Daniel McDermott FTR Milltag
19 Michael Krukov Team LDN
20 Samuel Woodfield ActiveEdge Race Team
21 Mark Richards DAP Cycling Club
22 Freddy Pett DAP Cycling Club
23 Leighton Oxley-Crisp Velo Schils – Interbike RT
24 Gabriel Fowden Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
25 Dominic Schils Velo Schils – Interbike RT
26 Tiago Fougo Strada-Sport
27 Thomas Power Richardsons-Trek RT
28 Peter Merritt TBW23 Stuart Hall Gett Taxi
29 Andrew Taylor DAP Cycling Club
30 Roman Piotrowski
31 Harley Matthews DAP Cycling Club
32 Thomas Heal Strada-Sport
33 John Mulvey ActiveEdge Race Team
34 Benedict Thompson Team LDN
35 Michael Auger Iceni Velo
36 Tom Rowson Velo Schils – Interbike RT
37 Mike Smith Rapha Cycling Club
38 Gary Freeman Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
39 Robert Staines Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
40 Isaac Hudson ActiveEdge Race Team
41 Jamie Wimborne Cycle Team OnForm
42 Matthew Webster TAAP Cervelo
43 Daniel Mcquillan Nopinz Symec Race Team
44 Matthias Barnet Cycle Team OnForm
45 Oliver Wood Strada-Sport
46 Kieran Jarvis Cycle Team OnForm
47 Benjamin Beynon Strada-Sport
48 Liam Fenner API-Metrow/Bodyby JR
49 Jake Towler Strada-Sport
50 Nigel Macaodha



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK