News: Tour Series Back to Durham

Britain’s best men and women racers to return to Durham for the 10th year on May 18 for round 4 of the Tour Series

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: Tour Series Back to Durham

Britain’s best riders will tackle the country’s toughest criterium circuit once again in May, as the Tour Series returns to the historic city of Durham for a record-breaking 10th year.

Andy Tennant winning in 2018

A day of fun, fast and free cycling activities will be held in Durham on Saturday 18 May, culminating in elite women’s and men’s races around the series’ grueling and iconic 1.4-kilometre (0.9-mile) circuit. Taking place in the shadow of the city’s cathedral, the challenging cobbled climb of South Street has become synonymous with thrilling racing and a party atmosphere.

The series celebrated its 10-year anniversary and 100th event in Salisbury in May 2018; Durham has featured annually in the event since 2010. Reigning under-23 world cyclo-cross champion Tom Pidcock (2017) and British cycling great Malcolm Elliott (2010) are among the previous individual winners in Durham. Last year the city hosted its first-ever round of the women’s series; NJC-Biemme-Echelon claimed the team victory on the night.

“No less than three riders who won rounds of the Tour Series in 2009 (the first series) are still racing … Russell Downing, Ed Clancy and Graham Briggs – the latter two expected to feature in the 2019 series. Shame Rus can’t race it! #restoftheworldteamperhaps”

As well as being an unticketed, free-to-attend event, the Tour Series is unique in the world of cycling: the focus in both the men’s and women’s competition is on the teams, who battle for the overall title based on the performance of all five of their riders in each round.

Already announced for the 2019 series is a return to Redditch, Worcestershire on Thursday 9 May. The Scottish doubleheader of Motherwell and Aberdeen returns for the third year, with Britain’s best riders competing for glory there on Tuesday 14 and Thursday 16 May respectively. Birkenhead welcomes the event for the first time on Tuesday 21 May as part of the area’s celebrations as the Liverpool City Region’s Borough of Culture for 2019.

Tour Series 2019
1. May 9 – Redditch
2. May 14 – Motherwell
3. May 16 – Aberdeen
4. May 18 – Durham May 18
5. May 21 – Birkenhead
6. Coming …
7. Coming …

History of Durham in the Tour Series

2010: (round 2 of 10) Malcolm Elliott
2011: (round 1 of 8) Zak Dempster
2012: (round 2 of 12) Kristian House
2013: (round 2 of 12) Kristian House
2014: (round 5 of 10) Jon Mould
2015: (round 5 of 10) Richard handley
2016: (round 6 of 10) Jon Mould
2017: (round 9 of 10) Tom Pidcock
2018: (round 4 of 8) Andy Tennant (HC winner Jack Pullar)
2019: (round 4 of 7) ??????

Tom Pidcock goes solo to win at Durham dominating the 2017 edition

Richard Handley winning at Durham in the colours of John Herety’s team

Jon Mould beating Graham Briggs in the line at Durham…



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK