Paris-Roubaix: Gilbert makes History with victory

The 36-year-old Belgian Philippe Gilbert  became the ninth rider to have won at least four different Monuments as Quickstep finish with four riders in the top 10

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Philippe Gilbert writes history at Paris-Roubaix

The 36-year-old Belgian Philippe Gilbert  became the ninth rider to have won at least four different Monuments

📷©Tim De Waele/ Getty Images

It was written in the stars: there couldn’t have been any better venue for Deceuninck – Quick-Step, a team who has become synonymous with the Classics, to celebrate our 700th victory than the iconic André-Pétrieux Velodrome, where after 257 kilometers which featured 6 076 000 cobblestones making up for a total of 29 pavé sectors, Philippe Gilbert raised his arms in the air and celebrated one of the finest wins of his career.

For Deceuninck – Quick-Step, it was another masterclass, as our team placed three more riders in the top 10: Belgian Champion Yves Lampaert, who finished third, Florian Sénéchal (sixth and the best Frenchman at the end of the day) and Zdenek Stybar, who came home eighth and recorded his sixth top 10 finish in seven Paris-Roubaix participations.

Gilbert: “I am extremely happy! I was disappointed after Flanders, but in the week leading to Roubaix I returned to training and focused on Roubaix. I came into the race with pressure, because I was very motivated to overcome what had happened last Sunday and go for the win, especially as I felt that I had good legs. It’s hard to believe what I’ve done today, it’s something really special and it will take a few days to realise what has happened and what I’ve achieved”, said the seventh oldest rider in history to win Paris-Roubaix.

The 117th edition of Paris-Roubaix started from Compiègne and was a fast and windy one, with a breakaway going clear more than 70 kilometers into the race. Tim Declercq and Yves Lampaert were extremely active and helped the move forge a 30-second gap which put pressure on the peloton, who had to work hard in order to nullify it ahead of the iconic Arenberg Forest, the symbol of the “Queen of the Classics” since 1968.

Before entering the first five-star rated sector of the day, Deceuninck – Quick-Step lost Iljo Keisse, a key player up until that point, after the experienced Belgian hit some traffic furniture and had to abandon. Later examinations revealed that Iljo had suffered a complex left elbow fracture, which requires surgery, that will take place at the Herentals hospital.

Arenberg reduced the bunch to less than 50 riders, including all the remaining Deceuninck – Quick-Step members, but the real action got ignited only on the Beuvry to Orchies segment, where Philippe Gilbert was among the three men to respond to a big attack of Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin), inside 70 kilometers to go. On the run-in to the infamous Mons-en-Pévèle, everything came back together, but another brutal acceleration saw eight men extricate themselves from the bunch.

Gilbert was again there, as was Yves Lampaert, and the Deceuninck – Quick-Step duo cooperated with the other six riders in the move, carrying a one-minute lead onto the final cobblestone stretches. On the brutal Carrefour de l’Arbre, Philippe and Yves took turns to attack, wearing down the remaining riders, but it was on Gruson – the sector made famous by a crash of Bernard Hinault at the beginning of the ‘80s – that the group split, leaving only Philippe and Politt in the lead.

Just as Lampaert was accelerating and distancing his remaining companions, riding to a deserved podium finish, the front duo – who worked smoothly together – where entering the velodrome, where Gilbert blew past the German with 150 meters remaining, sprinting to his fifth victory in a Monument, after those at Ronde van Vlaanderen (2017), Liège–Bastogne–Liège (2011) and Il Lombardia (2009, 2010).

Gilbert continues “I knew that joining Deceuninck – Quick-Step would be an important step in my career and I am really happy and proud that I’m a member of the Wolfpack. I am the kind of rider who likes new challenges, this motivates me, and here I found plenty of these: from winning Ronde or Roubaix to winning Isbergues, which was a race that was missing from my palmares”, Philippe told the media after netting the team’s 19th Monument. “That’s why after today and the celebration we will have this evening, I will reset my mind and focus on the Ardennes Classics, where I hope that the squad’s formidable spring will continue.”
… continued after advert

Nils Politt: “So close, but even second in Roubaix at my age I still can’t believe it. I was feeling good from the first moment I woke up this morning. For the whole race the team did a great, great job and I think we’ve had such a good classics season. It’s unbelievable to me to get second in Roubaix.” Politt placed fifth in last week’s Tour of Flanders.

Peter Sagan“It was a very tough Paris Roubaix, with the headwind making it even more challenging. The team did once again a great job, we had some crashes but they all put in a tremendous effort. We followed all the moves until the Carrefour de l’Arbre but in the last 15km I didn’t have the legs to respond to the attacks and try to take a podium spot.”

Sep Vanmarcke: I’m very, very disappointed of course. After all what happened the last weeks, I had to fight very hard to come back, even when I couldn’t train. “Last week I did everything I could with a bad knee to still train and get the best level possible. Today I knew if I did everything perfect, I could still be close to victory. And today I did everything perfect. I didn’t make one mistake.But then on the Carrefour de l‘Arbre, my derailleur stopped working. I went into the 11 and I couldn’t do anything anymore. I had to wait for 10-kilometers for a new bike and it killed my legs. I had to let the victory go. It was in my legs but because of the bike, I couldn’t fight for it.”

1. Philippe Gilbert Deceuninck – Quick Step 5t 58′ 02″
2. Nils Politt Team Katusha – Alpecin
3. Yves Lampaert Deceuninck – Quick Step 13″
4. Sep Vanmarcke EF Education First 40″
5. Peter Sagan Bora – Hansgrohe 42″
6. Florian Sénéchal Deceuninck – Quick Step 47″
7. Mike Teunissen Team Jumbo – Visma 47″
8. Zdenek Stybar Deceuninck – Quick Step 47″
9. Evaldas Siskevicius Delko Marseille – Provence 47″
10. Sebastian Langeveld EF Education First 47″

12. Greg Van Avermaet CCC Team 47″
28. John Degenkolb Trek – Segafredo 3′ 00″
32. Luke Rowe Team Sky 4′ 25″
82. Ian Stannard Team Sky 15′ 51″
94. Thomas Scully EF Education First 23′ 26″
95. Owain Doull Team Sky 23′ 37″
96. Ryan Mullen Trek – Segafredo 23′ 37″




Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK