Results: CCA Primavera Road Races

Callum Stewart won the Men’s regional B Primavera Road Race whilst FFion James won the regional A women’s race on the circuit at Elmdon.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Results: CCA Primavera Road Races

The CCA Primavera Men’s race, a regional B of 50 miles was held under a blazing sun on the short, 5 mile circuit at Elmdon. 10 laps with a particularly nasty climb over the finish line. Stephen Fuller deserves a mention for making an early move and staying away till 3 laps from the end (taking all the primes) where he was caught by a group of 4 others.

They kept some distance from the bunch till the finish where Callum Stewart of ELV won the sprint from the break. Elliot Phillips headed up the bunch kick to take 6th place. The race was supported by Bicicletta Velo con Coffee (Saffron Walden) and Trisports (Letchworth).

1. Callum Stewart East London Velo
2. Stephen Fuller Cambridge CC
3. Thomas Shanney Redbridge CC
4. Maximillian Ashwanden University of Bath Cycling Club
5. David Veitch Lea Valley CC
6. Elliot Phillips VC Londres
7. George Olive Finchley Racing Team
8. Zak Buttle Islington Cycling Club
9. Harrison Powell Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
10. Stephen Messenger East London Velo
11. Rizwan Hameed LWV de Friesche Leeuw
12. Jack Kellam Brixton Cycles Club
13. James Sherwood Orwell Velo
14. Richard McShee Islington Cycling Club
15. Thomas Russell Verulam CC
16. Paul Lavelle Foran CCC
17. Peter Blencowe Cambridge CC
18. Christy Tabrett Beds Road Race Team
19. Adam Gross Beds Road Race Team
20. Ashley Strowger VC Norwich
21. Simon Halloway Paceline RT
22. Cameron Walker St Ives CC
23. Barron Mendelssohn Contour Cycles RT
24. James Somerfield Hub Vélo
25. Bjorn Krylander Cambridge CC
26. George Kemp Lea Valley CC
27. Aidan Kerrigan LVYCC
28 Lukasz Szeloch Redbridge CC
29. Simon Weppe Islington Cycling Club
30. Brad Lamb Victoria CC
31. David Wells Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA)
32. Michael Bell Fast Test Racing Team
33. Damon Bond Chelmer CC
34. Paul Rogers Private Member
35. Joseph Halloran Cambridge CC
36. Ben Smith Welwyn Wheelers CC
37. Simon King Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA)

.. continued after advert

CCA Women’s Primavera 2019

Photo Simon Blackwell

The main event of the day was a women’s regional A, 10 laps of the 5 mile hilly Elmdon Circuit. The midday heat took it’s toll on several riders as 47 starters thinned down to 35. All of the primes bar one were taken by one rider, Francesca Cutts of Team LDN as she soloed off the front for the majority of the race.

She was joined by one other shortly before two more bridged over. As they hit the bottom of the hill for the last time, Ffion James launched her attack and stayed away to the line to take top honours in the first edition of the CCA Women’s Primavera. Bicicletta Velo con Coffee of Saffron Walden and Trisports of Letchworth supported the race along with members and friends of CCA.

1. FFion James Hope Factory Racing
2. Francesca Cutts Team LDN
3. Kerry Middleton Team LDN
4. Samantha Fawcett Lovelo Squadra Donne
5. Greta Cowen EASY CC
6. Holly MacMahon Bianchi Dama
7. Hannah Lancaster Halesowen A & CC
8. Michelle Arthurs-Brennan 1904 RT
9. Georgia Bullard Fusion RT
10. Rebecca Richards Newark Castle CC
11. Katrina Murphy Dulwich Paragon CC
12. Sophie Lankford Team Jaden Weldtit-Vive le Velo
13. Polly Mason DAP Cycling
14. Keira McVitty Isorex NoAqua Ladies Cycling Team
15. Rosie Lyon-Smith University of Bristol CC
16. Megan Panton Project 51
17. Alicia Lisle OVB
18 Alison Lilley Fenland Clarion CC
19. Miriam Bullock East London Velo
20. Elena Spanou Team Empella Cyclo-Cross.Com
21. Toni Wilkes Project 51
22. Olivia Poole Islington Cycling Club
23. Donna Dale Walden Velo
24. Kirstin Hamilton Ipswich Bicycle Club
25. Amy Smith Project 51
26. Jamie Paine Les Filles
27. Kimberlee Charlton DAP Cycling Club
28. Madeleine Gammons LIV AWOL
29. Harley Pell LIV AWOL
30. Grace Dent Project 51
31. Deena Blacking Cycling Club Hackney
32. Karina Kaufmann CC London
33. Jennifer Andrews Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA)
34. Jennifer Lake Lovelo Squadra Donne
35. Tilly Malbon Barking and Dagenham CC



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK