Tour de Yorkshire: Women

Marianne Vos produced a brave performance on an enthralling final stage to win the 2019 Asda Tour de Yorkshire Women’s Race.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tour de Yorkshire: Women

Marianne Vos produced a brave performance on an enthralling final stage to win the 2019 Asda Tour de Yorkshire Women’s Race. Vos – a living legend in the sport with over 180 career victories to her name – joined an elite group of three riders on the fast run in to Scarborough and then outsprinted Mavi Garcia (Movistar Team Women) and Soraya Paladin (Ale Cipollini) along North Bay to wrap up the blue jersey sponsored by Yorkshire Bank.

The Dutchwomen, who rides for CCC-Liv, won the race by a seven—second margin courtesy of the bonus seconds she picked up over the two days of action. Garcia took second place on both the stage and overall standings, with Paladin in third.

The concluding stage proved to be a real war of attrition and home favourite Lizzie Deignan (Trek Segafredo) helped thin out the field with an attacking performance that saw her voted the most active rider sponsored by Dimension Data in a live Twitter poll at @letouryorkshire.

Garcia also produced a gutsy solo attack and the fact that she crested the Côtes de Grosmont and Ugglebarnby in first place meant that she earned the best climber’s jersey sponsored by LNER. Vos and Paladin eventually hauled her back and it was Vos who bossed the sprint in front of massive crowds on the seafront in Scarborough. Christine Majerus meanwhile, crossed the line 1min 22sec later in fourth place, and that meant the Boels Dolmans rider won the best sprinter classification sponsored by Asda following her second-placed finish on Friday.

… continued after advert

Race winner Marianne Vos said: “I was nervous coming into the final because I didn’t know what power I had left in my legs after such a hard stage but to finish it off was incredible. I’m really happy to win here and the crowds in the last few days have been fantastic. Like us, the spectators have braved some bad weather over the last two days but they have always cheered us on. It’s been a very good race.”

Yorkshire’s very own Lizzie Deignan said: “Marianne is a phenomenal rider and thoroughly deserves this win because she rode it very smartly, so congratulations to her. This has been another fantastic race and the whole women’s peloton is incredibly grateful for the support we have received from the organisers. This is a top-class race and I’m looking forward to returning in September for the World Championships.”

1 Marianne Vos CCC-Liv 03:59:16
2 Margarita Victoria Garcia Canellas Movistar Women’s Team
3 Soraya Paladin Alé Cipollini
4 Christine Majerus Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
5 Amanda Spratt Mitchelton – Scott
6 Lisa Brennauer WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling Team
7 Alice Maria Arzuffi Valcar Cylance Cycling
8 Hannah Barnes Canyon SRAM Racing
9 Elizabeth Banks Bigla
10 Liane Lippert Team Sunweb

14 Elizabeth Holden Drops
16 Pfeiffer Georgi Team Sunweb
23 Lauren Dolan
28 Lizzie Deignan Trek – Segafredo Women
31 Alice Barnes Canyon SRAM Racing
33 Rebecca Durrell Brother UK-Tifoso
36 Emily Wadsworth Brother UK-Tifoso
37 Elynor Backstedt Storey Racing
38 Jessica Roberts GB
40 Abby-Mae Parkinson Drops
43 Nicola Juniper MEXX-Watersley Internat.
47 Sophie Wright Bigla
49 Danielle Christmas Lotto – Soudal Ladies
50 Leah Dixon Brother UK-Tifoso
52 Anna Henderson Brother UK-Tifoso
65 Anna Christian Drops
76 Eleanor Dickinson Drops

Final standings
1 Marianne Vos (Ned) CCC-Liv 7:34:27
2 Margarita Victo Garcia Cañellas (Spa) Movistar Team Women 0:00:07
3 Soraya Paladin (Ita) Ale Cipollini 0:00:09
4 Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 0:01:28
5 Amanda Spratt (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott Women 0:01:35



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK