Report: 35th Thames Velo Spring RRs

Robert Attreed and George Fowler winners at the 35th Thames Velo Spring road races on Sunday (May 12)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: 35th Thames Velo Spring RRs

The 35th edition of the Thames Velo Spring Road Races proved to be a special day for the Thames Velo club on Sunday 12th May 2019. Not only did they celebrate another consecutive year of hosting road racing over the past three and a half decades, but also celebrated the first time a member of the club has won the race.

In the morning’s 3/4/W/J race a couple of breakaways got away at points but with 16 kms to go the race was back together. The ensuing bunch sprint saw Thames Velo’s Robert Attreed power to the line to take the win by a bike length ahead of Carl Farrell (Sussex Revolution) and Thomas Price (Avid Sport). This year, to attract more women to enter the race, Thames Velo offered an extra prize to the first woman and were delighted that thirteen women raced for the prize, won by Mathilde Paul from 1904 RT.

1. Robert Attreed (Thames Velo)
2. Carl Farrell (Sussex Revolution)
3. Thomas Price (Avid Sport)
4. Thomas Clarke (Team Vision Innovative Leisure)
5. Josh Gokmen (London Dynamo)
6. Harry Bunnel (Kingston Wheelers)
7. George Galbreith (Jam Cycling RT)
8. Harry Savell (Watford Velo Sport)
9. Christy Tabrett (Beds Road Race Team)
10. Josh Knowles (Team Vision Innovative Leisure)

1st Woman – Mathilde Pauls (1904 RT)
… continued after advert

In the afternoon’s E/1/2/3 a very fast paced race finally yielded after 16kms to let a ten man break get away. The ten worked well, and with riders in the break represented from the bigger teams, the chase wasn’t organised and quickly a two minute gap was established that eventually stretched out to an unassailable three minutes.

Within the break George Fowler (Nopinz Symec) was active amongst the riders, ensuring everyone came through to do a turn, until at 30kms to go, a couple of digs from Fowler and Barnabas Purbrook (Nunn Sigma Sport) whittled the break down to five, along with Harley Matthews (DAP Cycling), Hefin Evans (Bynea CC) and Anthony Roberts (Meudon Pedal Heaven Le Col RT) to the finish.

With a kilometre to at the long uphill drag to the flag, the break began looking at each other, no-one wanting to lead out for the inevitable sprint. With 200 metres left the riders began winding up for the sprint with George Fowler just getting the jump on Harley Matthews and Barnabas Purbrook to take the win.

1. George Fowler (Nopinz Symec)
2. Harley Matthews (DAP Cycling)
3. Barnabas Purbrook (Nunn Sigma Sport)
4 Anthony Roberts (Meudon Pedal Heaven Or Col RT)
5. Hefin Evans (Bynea CC)
6. Shammeg Salie (Nunn Sigma Sport)
7. Jamie Wimborne (Cycle Team On Form)
8. Ken Buckley (Nunn Sigma Sport)
9. Thomas Booth (Bryan Steel Academy)
10. Llewlyn Kinch (TAAP Cervelo)



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK