Giro: Stage 10

Arnaud Démare (Groupama-FDJ), the winner of the 2016 Milan-Sanremo, claimed his first ever stage victory at the Giro d’Italia in a crash-marred finale

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Giro: Stage 10

Arnaud Démare (Groupama-FDJ), the winner of the 2016 Milan-Sanremo, claimed his first ever stage victory at the Giro d’Italia in a crash-marred finale that affected the Maglia Ciclamino Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) who went down. Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick Step) and Rüdiger Selig (Bora-Hansgrohe) rounded out the podium. Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates) came home safely and retained the Maglia Rosa.


Maglia Rosa (pink), general classification – Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)
Maglia Ciclamino (cyclamen), sprint classification, – Pascal Ackermann (Bora – Hansgrohe)
Maglia Azzurra (blue), King of the Mountains – Giulio Ciccone (Trek – Segafredo)
Maglia Bianca (white), young rider classification, – Nans Peters (AG2R La Mondiale)

A pancake-flat 144km-long stage between Ravenna, the former capital of the Western Roman Empire and of the Ostrogothic Empire, and Modena kicked off the second Corsa Rosa week. As soon as two riders decided to animate stage 10, Pieter Serry of Quickstep moved to the front of the peloton, assuming pace-setting duties together with delegates from other teams and making sure of reeling in the duo inside the last 30 kilometers.

With three kilometers to go, Francisco Ventoso (CCC Team) clipped off the front, taking advantage of some urban cobbles and corners to put around ten seconds between him and a bunch which began panicking as the lead-out trains desperately tried to slot their sprinters into a good position. A high-speed crash under the flamme rouge, just as the Spaniard was being caught, took several riders out of contention, leaving a small group to fight for victory.

… continued after advert

The stage winner Arnaud Demare said in the press conference: “I knew it would be a fast sprint with the last 20km very nervous. To avoid any crash, I asked my team-mates to keep me in the first ten or fifteen positions. They have been excellent. Ramon [Sinkeldam] has been very strong and Jacopo [Guarnieri] exceptional. A sprint like this, at full speed with no need to brake, was perfect for me. I and my team would have liked to win a sprint earlier in the Giro. I was always placed but I wasn’t winning. It’s a relief today. My goal is to reach Verona. If I have the legs to overcome the mountains, I’ll be there till the end.”

The Maglia Rosa Valerio Conti said in the press conference: “In some stages of this Giro we rode very hard but it wasn’t the case today. I don’t like this kind of racing because it makes the finale more dangerous as many riders are still fresh and too many believe they can win. I don’t want to take unnecessary risks. I repeat that I want to keep the Maglia Rosa as long as possible. My biggest fear is the attacks of Vincenzo Nibali. They’re unpredictable.”

Elia Viviani: “I jumped out from Ewan’s wheel and powered ahead straight down the middle of the road, but Demare was strong and could keep his speed until the end, despite putting in a long sprint. We have another opportunity on Wednesday and I hope to be again up there and fight for victory”, an upbeat Elia said in Modena, where the Giro d’Italia returned after more than three decades.

NEXT: Stage 11 – Carpi-Novi Ligure 221km – total elevation 400m
A pan-flat stage to the edge of the Po Valley. After Casteggio, the route follows the traditional itinerary of Milano-Sanremo, up to 3km from the finish. Starting from Carpi, the route first heads towards Reggio Emilia. After crossing the town, it takes the ss. 9 “Via Emilia” all the way to Piacenza, following a straight course. Past Piacenza, the route takes the former Statale Padana Inferiore all the way to the finish, passing through several cities that have often featured regularly in the Giro route, and in the Milano-Sanremo finale.

1. Arnaud Démare Groupama – FDJ 03:36:07
2. Elia Viviani Deceuninck – Quick Step
3. Rüdiger Selig Bora – Hansgrohe
4. Caleb Ewan Lotto – Soudal
5. Giacomo Nizzolo Team Dimension Data
6. Davide Cimolai Israel Cycling Academy
7. Manuel Belletti Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec
8. Giovanni Lonardi Nippo–Vini Fantini–Faizanè
9. Jasper De Buyst Lotto – Soudal
10. Jacopo Guarnieri Groupama – FDJ

26. Jack Bauer Mitchelton – Scott
28. Simon Yates Mitchelton – Scott
31. Vincenzo Nibali Bahrain – Merida
43. Miguel Angel Lopez Astana Pro Team
45. Primoz Roglic Team Jumbo – Visma
49. Hugh Carthy EF Education First
77. Tao Geoghegan Hart Team Ineos
84. Edward Dunbar Team Ineos
145. Conor Dunne Israel Cycling Academy
148. Scott Davies Team Dimension Data

1. Valerio Conti UAE Team Emirates
2. Primoz Roglic Team Jumbo – Visma
3. Nans Peters AG2R La Mondiale
4. José Joaquin Rojas Movistar Team
5. Fausto Masnada Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec
6. Andrey Amador Movistar Team
7. Amaro Antunes CCC Team
8. Valentin Madouas Groupama – FDJ
9. Giovanni Carboni Bardiani – CSF
10. Pello Bilbao Astana Pro Team

11. Vincenzo Nibali Bahrain – Merida @ 3.34
12. Bauke Mollema Trek – Segafredo @3.45
16. Hugh Carthy EF Education First @4.36
24. Simon Yates Mitchelton – Scott @5.36
31. Tao Geoghegan Hart Team Ineos 6.58
49. Edward Dunbar Team Ineos
140. Jack Bauer Mitchelton – Scott
145. James Knox Deceuninck – Quick Step
150. Scott Davies Team Dimension Data
151. Conor Dunne Israel Cycling Academy



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK