James Ireson sprinted to a clear victory in round four of the Shropshire and South Staffordshire Road Race League ahead of Ribble Pro Cycling’s Ed Hopper.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

(from Ben Goddard)

James Ireson (Morvelo Basso) sprinted to a clear victory in round four of the Shropshire and South Staffordshire Road Race League.
The weekly series returned for a second week to the Huntingdon circuit near Cannock Chase.

After a solo attack from Ben Lloyd scuppered the sprinter’s chances on the same circuit last week the sprinters had their day on this occasion. Ireson missed last week’s round due to racing in the televised OVO Energy Tour Series in Salisbury.

With elite rider Ed Hooper (Ribble Pro Cycles) joining Ireson in the scratch group they worked together to catch those setting off ahead of them in the handicap format. With the race together coming into the finish Ireson, from Wolverhampton, was the quickest on this occasion sprinting clear with Hooper on his wheel in second.

Jordan Hill (Velo Runner) finished third on the night in a close finish on the flat straight. Another consistent ride from Grant Bigham (Velo Runner) saw him finish in sixth place on the night which was enough for him to take the leader’s overall yellow jersey.

Farley Barber (Pro Vision Race Team) consolidated his lead in the overall junior series with a 12th place finish with his league rival George Mills-Keeling absent. Overall veteran’s leader Matthew Morris was part of the organising Wolverhampton Whls club and lost his lead to seventh place finisher Rob Childs (Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG).

Rachael Brown was first woman finisher ahead of Pro Vision RT team-mate Sarah Hardy.

… continued after advert

1 James Ireson Morvelo Basso
2 Ed Hopper Ribble Pro Cycles
3 Jordan Hill Velo Runner
4 Ben Manfield-Yorke Morvelo Basso RT
5 Matthew Garthwaite Holohan Coaching Race Team
6 Grant Bigham Velo Runner
7 Rob Childs Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG
8 Kirk Vickers Holohan Coaching Race Team
9 Ben Joughin Pro Vision Race Team
10 Elroy Laud Evo Velo Karbona
11 William Lewis Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG
12 Farley Barber Pro Vision Race Team
13 Thomas Ford EvoVelo Karbona
14 Duncan Loch Velo Runner
15 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG
16 Jack Escritt
17 Chris Childs Holohan Coaching Race Team
18 Kieran Frend RST Cycle Division
19 Jonathan Hornblow Leisure Lakes
20 Ashley Bullock EvoVelo Karbona
21 Adam Mumford WrekinSport
22 Mark Reeves Stourbridge Velo
23 Jonathan Bourne Pro Vision Race Team
24 Timothy Jones Mid Shropshire Wheelers
25 Alec Bond Mid Shropshire Wheelers
26 Paul Green Stourbridge Velo
28 Jack Temple Evo Velo
29 Stephen Talbot Pro Vision RT
30 David Allen Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG
31 Daniel Brough Velo Runner
32 Martin Ryan EvoVelo Karbona
33 Robert Disney Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG
34 Simon Haycock Stourbridge CC
35 Duncan Parsonage Pro Vision Race Team
36 Andrew Tomlinson Wolverhampton RCC/BrigtownCycles
37 Rachael Brown Pro Vision Race Team
38 Sarah Hardy Provision RT
39 Darren Parsons Pro Vision RT
40 Bryan Davies Holohan Coaching Race Team
41 Gareth Vickers Stourbridge CC
42 Darren Winterburn BC Velo
43 Oliver Hayward Holohan Coaching RT
44 Nick Morris Clee Cycles
45 James Walker Velo BC
46 Nicholas James SCT
47 Gareth Scott Halesowen A & CC
48 Alexander Simmons Pro Vision Race Team
49 Will Corden Velo Runner
50 Ben Lloyd Pro Vision Race Team
51 Gary Hodkinson Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG
52 Amanda Whitehouse Stourbridge CC
53 Neil Ruston Stourbridge CC
54 Richard Smith Wrekinsport CC
55 Darren Cadwallader Stourbridge CC
56 Simon Smewin Stourbridge CC

Junior: Farley Barber (Pro Vision Race Team)
Woman: Rachael Brown
Veteran: Rob Childs (Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG)



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK