News: World Stars for Women’s Tour

Startlist – British riders take on worlds best on home roads in the 2019 edition of the Women’s Tour

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: World Stars for Women’s Tour

The leading names in women’s cycling – including all five former race winners and the reigning European and Commonwealth champions – will be competing at next week’s Women’s Tour.

Women’s Tour victors Marianne Vos (CCC – Liv), Lisa Brennauer (WNT – Rotor Pro Cycling), Lizzie Deignan (Trek – Segafredo), Kasia Niewiadoma (Canyon//SRAM Racing) and Coryn Rivera (Team Sunweb) will be joined by Marta Bastianelli (Team VIRTU Cycling), Ellen van Dijk (Team Sunweb) and Chloe Hosking (Alé Cipollini) in Suffolk on Monday (10 June).

Vos, Bastianelli, Niewiadoma, van Dijk and Rivera are also among eight of the world’s current top 15 riders in the UCI rankings who will race in Britain next week.

In addition to having all five former race winners in action, participating riders have claimed 23 of the event’s 25 stage victories to date. Boels Dolmans Cycling Team’s line-up notably features four different stage winners among their six-rider roster: Jolien D’Hoore (Belgian), Amalie Dideriksen and Amy Pieters (Netherlands); and Christine Majerus (Luxembourg).

Stage winner in Worcester last year, Dideriksen and her team-mate Chantal Blaak are two of the five previous UCI road world champions taking the start in Britain’s most prestigious women’s cycling event. Also featured among the 96 starters is Valcar Cylance Cycling’s Marta Cavalli, the current leader of the UCI Women’s WorldTour’s youth classification. In total, 22 different nationalities are represented; 13 of whom will have their reigning national road race champion in action.

… continued after advert

All 15 of the world’s top teams from the start of season UCI Women’s WorldTour rankings accepted their invitations to the event, and will be joined by British team Drops to complete the 16-team field when the race gets underway in Beccles on Monday.

The 2019 Women’s Tour has expanded to six stages, covering 790 kilometres of racing and over 8,400 metres of ascent, with two tough stages in Mid and South Wales concluding the race on Friday 14 and Saturday 15 June.

The race will also include a hill-top finish for the first time, coming on Stage Four (Thursday 13 June) in Warwickshire on Thursday 13 June with riders tackling the 1.2 kilometre, 5% average gradient climb of Burton Dassett Country Park on three occasions during the stage.

Once more the Women’s Tour will offer prize money parity with the men’s Tour of Britain. ITV4 will screen highlights from every stage of the Women’s Tour, with programmes broadcasting at 20:00 in the UK and available on demand via the ITV Hub catch up service.

… continued after advert


STARTLIST (Provisional)

Team Sunweb
1 Coryn Rivera USA
2 Susanne Andersen NOR
3 Leah Kirchmann CAN
4 Liane Lippert GER
5 Floortje MacKaij NED
6 Julia Soek NED

CCC – Liv
11 Marianne Vos NED
12 Valerie Demey BEL
13 Jeanne Korevaar NED
14 Riejanne Markus NED
15 Ashleigh Moolman RSA
16 Pauliena Rooijakkers NED

Boels Dolmans Cycling
21 Chantal Blaak NED
22 Karol Ann Canuel CAN
23 Jolien D’Hoore BEL
24 Amalie Dideriksen DEN
25 Christine Majerus LUX
26 Amy Pieters NED

Canyon//SRAM Racing
31 Kasia Niewiadoma POL
32 Alena Amialiusik BLR
33 Hannah Barnes GBR
34 Elena Cecchini ITA
35 Tiffany Cromwell AUS
36 Alexis Ryan USA

Alé Cipollini
41 Chloe Hosking AUS
42 Romy Kasper NED
43 Maria Apolonia Van’t Geloof NED
44 Nadia Quagliotto ITA
45 Eri Yonamine JAP
46 Anna Trevisi ITA

Mitchelton – SCOTT
51 Sarah Roy AUS
52 Jessica Allen AUS
53 Grace Brown AUS
54 Gracie Elvin AUS
55 Aleandra Manly AUS
56 Moniek Tenniglo NED

Bigla Pro Cycling
61 Elizabeth Banks GBR
62 Martina Alzini ITA
63 Elise Chabbey SUI
64 Nicole Hanselmann SUI
65 Julie Leth DEN
66 Leah Thomas USA

FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine – Futuroscope
71 Emilia Fahlin SWE
72 Charlotte Becker GER
73 Eugenie Duval FRA
74 Maelle Grosstete FRA
75 Lauren Kitchen AUS
76 Greta Richioud FRA

81 Anna Christian GBR
82 Eleanor Dickinson GBR
83 Lizzie Holden GBR
84 Manon Lloyd GBR
85 Abby-Mae Parkinson GBR
86 Hannah Payton GBR

Team VIRTU Cycling
91 Marta Bastianelli ITA
92 Barbara Guarischi ITA
93 Katrine Aalerund NOR
94 Sofia Bertizzolo ITA
95 Rachel Neylan AUS
96 Sara Penton SWE

WNT – Rotor Pro Cycling
101 Lisa Brennauer GER
102 Janneke Ensing NED
103 Kathrin Hammes GER
104 Erica Magnaldi ITA
105 Sarah Rijkes AUT
106 Ana Santesteban ESP

Valcar Cylance Cycling
111 Alice Maria Arzuffi ITA
112 Marta Cavalli ITA
113 Maria Giulia Confalonieri ITA
114 Alessia Vigilia ITA
115 Dalia Muccioli ITA
116 Asja Paladin ITA

Trek – Segafredo
121 Lizzie Deignan GBR
122 Lotta Lepistö FIN
123 Elisa Longo Borghini ITA
124 Anna Plichta POL
125 Ellen van Dijk NED
126 Trixi Worrack GER

Movistar Team
131 Aude Biannic FRA
132 Roxane Fournier FRA
133 Alicia González ESP
134 Sheyla Gutiérrez ESP
135 Lourdes Oyarbide ESP
136 Paula Patiño COL

Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley Bank
141 Alice Cobb GBR
142 Brodie Chapman AUS
143 Alison Jackson CAN
144 Nina Kessler GER
145 Shannon Malseed AUS
146 Rozanne Slik NED

Parkhotel Valkenburg
151 Sophie de Boer NED
152 Belle de Gast NED
153 Roxane Knetemann NED
154 Femke Markus NED
155 Esther van Veen NED
156 Demi Vollering NED


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK