Result: South East Regional RR Champs

Joseph Sutton winner of the South East Regional RR Championship at Ninfield on Sunday, June 2nd

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: South East Regional RR Champs

On 2nd June Sussex Revolution had the honour of hosting the South East Regional Championship which also incorporated the inaugural presentation of the Chris Hewitt Trophy.

52 riders, including many of the best the region has to offer, started the challenging and scenic course of Ninfield (10 laps, total distance 147km).

The first lap pace was high as riders familiarised themselves with the circuit and each other. Joe Hill attacked on lap 2 after a few small early moves. He took with him a small group, including Louis Rose-Davies, Tom Hargreaves, Joseph Sutton, and Simon McNamara. A little later, Oliver Robinson and Daniel Martin bridged up to them but Martin couldn’t hold on.

The breakaway riders increased the gap to the peloton to 2 minutes; with teammates up the road, the peloton failed in any real attempt to close the gap.

With 3 laps to go, the leading group of 6 split into two groups of 3, with Sutton, Rose-Davies, and Robinson ahead of the other 3.

On the final lap, Hill, McNamara, and Hargreaves were caught by a small group led by a flying James Boyman. Only Hill could hold his wheel as he surged away from the group on the final climb, eventually dropping Hill as he nearly caught the leading trio.

Within the leading group, Robinson attacked early but was caught agonisingly close to the finish, with Sutton taking the win ahead of Rose-Davies. Robinson took 3rd with Boyman and Hill finishing solo for 4th and 5th. The remainder of the top 10 was taken up by various survivors of the small chasing groups that had been a regular feature of the race, with a much-depleted bunch 5 minutes later taking the lower placings.

Thank you to all that helped make the day a success and a fitting tribute to our friend Chris Hewitt. We look forward to seeing you all next year!

Sussex Revolution VC – Thanks Andy Brown

1 Joseph Sutton Richardsons-Trek RT
2 Louis Rose-Davies Canyon dhb p/b Bloor Homes
3 Oliver Robinson Team Wiggins Le Col
4 James Boyman Hoops Velo
5 Joe Hill ActiveEdge Race Team
6 Tom Wiley Team LDN
7 Michael Guilford Meudon Pedal Heaven Le Col RT
8 Tom Hargreaves Nuun-Sigma Sports-London RT
9 Alexander Welburn trainSharp Club
10 Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT
11 Simon McNamara Southdowns Bikes – Casco PET
12 Keith Henderson Southborough & District Whls
13 Rory Barrett Southborough & District Whls
14 Lawrence Coyle Brighton Mitre CC
15 Benjamin Tappenden trainSharp Club
16 Jamie Francis ActiveEdge Race Team
17 Mark Gower Southdowns Bikes – Casco PET
18 Daniel Martin University of Bath Cycling Clu…
19 Cameron Preece Southdowns Bikes – Casco PET
20 Jake Roe
21 Warren Jesse Meudon Pedal Heaven Le Col RT
22 Joseph West TBW23 Stuart Hall Gett Taxi
23 Rhys Clegg PMR
24 James Bonham Southdowns Bikes – Casco PET
25 Luke Alexandre Abellio – SFA Racing Team
26 Ian Vagg Project 51
27 Lewis Winfield VC Londres
28 Andrew Critchlow 1904 RT
29 Llewellyn Thomas N+1 – Lindfield Coffee Works
30 Harry Horsman TBW23 Stuart Hall Gett Taxi
31 Jonathon James Wild Side 707 Road Team
32 Josh Wakeling Adalta Race Team
33 Paul Barnard Southdowns Bikes – Casco PET
34 Charlie Heffernan Southdowns Bikes – Casco PET
35 Jonathan Gales Kibosh



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK