Critérium du Dauphiné: Stage 3

Ireland’s Sam Bennett won stage 3 of the 71st Critérium du Dauphiné in a bunch gallop in Riom ahead of cyclo-cross star Wout van Aert and Davide Ballerini. Dylan Teuns retained the overall lead

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Critérium du Dauphiné: Stage 3

Ireland’s Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) won stage 3 of the 71st Critérium du Dauphiné in a bunch gallop in Riom. Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) and Davide Ballerini rounded out the podium. Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Merida) retained the overall lead ahead of the 26.1km individual time trial in Roanne.

145 riders took the start of stage 3 in Le Puy-en-Velay. Natnael Berhane (Cofidis) and Quentin Pacher (Vital Concept-B&B Hôtels) rode away right after flag off. Berhane passed the côte d’Allègre (cat. 4, km 24.5) in first position with an advantage of 3’55’’ over the peloton.

… continued after advert

A maximum time gap of 4’05’’ was recorded at km 30. The Bahrain-Merida team of race leader Dylan Teuns set the tempo of the peloton on a moderated speed as the leading duo covered only 37km in the first hour, after which Arkea-Samsic and Bora-Hansgrohe seized the command of the pack with the aim of a bunch sprint finish. Deceuninck-Quick Step came in help with 65km to go.

Berhane went on to collect one point at the top of each climb: côte d’Augerolles (km 105.5), côte de Courpière (km 117.5) and côte de Coulaud (km 121). One hour before the end, the deficit of the peloton was reduced to less than one minute with the same teams of the sprinters swapping turns at the head of the pack at a moderated speed.

It was all together again with 12km to go as the bunch delayed the regrouping as much as possible. The Bora-Hansgrohe paved the way at perfection for Bennett who launched his sprint with 200 metres to go and took his time to celebrate his first ever stage victory at the Critérium du Dauphiné before he crossed the line. It’s his seventh win this year.
… continued after advert


Sam Bennett: “I am super happy to take the win today. It’s certainly not just my victory, the team rode absolutely amazing today and the support I got is what made that win look so easy! Therefore, a huge thanks to the whole team for the effort. Let’s hope the legs are still good for stage 5 in two days.” –


1. Sam Bennett, Bora – Hansgrohe 04:15:25
2. Wout Van Aert, Team Jumbo – Visma
3. Davide Ballerini, Astana Pro Team
4. Clement Venturini, AG2R La Mondiale
5. Edward Theuns, Trek – Segafredo
6. Edvald Boasson Hagen, Team Dimension Data
7. Alvaro Hodeg, Deceuninck – Quick Step
8. Jens Debusschere 1989 Team Katusha – Alpecin
9. Luka Mezgec, Mitchelton – Scott
10. Bjorg Lambrecht, Lotto – Soudal

30. Ian Stannard, Team Ineos
42. Chris Froome, Team Ineos
76. Daniel Martin, UAE Team Emirates
88. Adam Yates, Mitchelton – Scott
134. Alex Dowsett, Team Katusha – Alpecin

1. Dylan Teuns Bahrain – Merida 11:52:28
2. Guillaume Martin Wanty – Groupe Gobert @ 03
3. Alexey Lutsenko Astana Pro Team @ 20
4. Jakob Fuglsang Astana Pro Team @ 20
5. Nairo Quintana Movistar Team @ 24
6. Thibaut Pinot Groupama – FDJ @ 24
7. Michael Woods EF Education First @ 24
8. Chris Froome Team Ineos @ 24
9. Wout Poels Team Ineos @ 24
10. Adam Yates Mitchelton – Scott @ 24


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK