Women’s Tour: Vos Crashes Out

Jolien D’hoore wins Oxfordshire stage of Women’s Tour whilst stage 2 winner Marianne Vos crashed out – Lisa Brennauer leads overall

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Women’s Tour: Vos Crashes Out

Jolien D’hoore wins Oxfordshire stage of Women’s Tour

Boels Dolmans Cycling Team’s Jolien D’hoore continued her strong start to this year’s Women’s Tour as she sprinted to victory at historic Blenheim Palace, Oxfordshire, on Wednesday to claim her second win in three days.

D’hoore, wearing the Points jersey, edged out Lisa Brennauer (WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling) by a narrow margin to add to Monday’s victory in Stowmarket, Suffolk. Brennaeur’s reward for the time bonuses she has accrued in this year’s race thus far is the race leader’s jersey.

Overnight race leader Marianne Vos was one of a number of riders forced to abandon mid-stage following a crash near Didcot. The Dutch rider required treatment to cuts on her face. Speaking after the stage, D’hoore said, “I was hoping for a bunch sprint, it was a bit rolling the whole stage and it was quite hard in the beginning but we made it for a bunch sprint and I’m happy I could finish it off again.”

“The pace was really high and I had Amy Pieters in front of me but I didn’t want to go in second position in the last corner so I let Lisa Brennauer in between and then someone started the sprint with 350 to go and I started as well, but then I realised this is still a long way to go so I went back behind Lisa again and then I started again.”

Trek Segafredo rider Anna Plichta earned the Wahooligan Combativity Award for a long solo break of just under 100 kilometres, one that saw her escape shortly after the opening  Queen of the Mountains climb at Pishill above Henley-on-Thames in south Oxfordshire. She was eventually caught at Alvescot in west Oxfordshire with 41 kilometres remaining.

… continued after advert

Brennauer’s runners up position moves her back into the lead of the race she won in 2015, saying afterwards, “I wanted to win the stage, I knew that the final would suit me; a flat finish, a long finish straight. But I did everything how I wanted to do it and I don’t think I did anything wrong it’s just Jolien is so fast and she passed me before the line and that’s how it is. She was just better today and so congrats for the stage victory.

“I think tomorrow is another good day for us as a team to step up and do good teamwork and we are ready for it and I’m excited.”

Speaking after the crash that eliminated her, 2014 race winner and overnight leader Marianne Vos said, “The speed went up in preparation for the second intermediate sprint. There was a fall before me, which I could not avoid. I fell hard on my head and, apart from a cut and some scratches, I don’t have any other injuries. Yet I went to the hospital because the cut had to be stitched. Very unfortunate, I was quite upset by it, because I was in such a good position. But even after a fall, the race continues, but this time without me.”

The Women’s Tour moves a short distance north to Warwickshire on Thursday 13 June for Stage Four, featuring the first hill-top finish in race history. Riders will race from Warwick to Burton Dassett Country Park, with three ascents of the 1.2 kilometre climb coming in the closing stages of the 158.9 kilometre / 98.9 mile stage.

… continued after advert


Stage 3
1. Jolien D’Hoore Boels – Dolmans Cycling Team 03:46:04
2. Lisa Brennauer WNT – Rotor Pro Cycling Team
3. Demi Vollering Parkhotel Valkenburg
4. Roxane Fournier Movistar Women’s Team
5. Sarah Roy Mitchelton – Scott
6. Lizzie Deignan Trek – Segafredo Women
7. Eugénie Duval FDJ Nouvelle – Aquitaine
8. Maria Confalonieri Valcar – Cylance Cycling
9. Katarzyna Niewiadoma Canyon – SRAM Racing
10. Sofia Bertizzolo Team Virtu Cycling

22. Elizabeth Banks Bigla @ 03
24. Abby-Mae Parkinson Drops @ 03
45. Eleanor Dickinson Drops @ 03
48. Abigail Van Twisk Trek – Segafredo Women @ 03
52. Elizabeth Holden Drops @ 03
60. Hannah Barnes Canyon – SRAM Racing @ 03
61. Manon Lloyd Drops @ 03
65. Anna Christian Drops @ 03
74. Alice Barnes Canyon – SRAM Racing @ 01:00
79. Hannah Payton Drops @ 06:48 82
81. Alice Cobb Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley Bank @ 07:52 78

DNF: Marianne Vos

1. Lisa Brennauer WNT – Rotor Pro Cycling Team 09:29:23
2. Coryn Rivera Team Sunweb @ 03
3. Lizzie Deignan Trek – Segafredo Women @ 04
4. Amy Pieters Boels – Dolmans Cycling Team @ 04
5. Roxane Fournier Movistar Women’s Team @ 06
6. Sarah Roy Mitchelton – Scott @ 06
7. Jolien D’Hoore Boels – Dolmans Cycling Team @ 08
8. Maria Giulia Confalonieri Valcar – Cylance Cycling @ 10
9. Liane Lippert Team Sunweb @ 10
10. Susanne Andersen Team Sunweb @ 11

The Stages

· Stage One, Monday 10 June, Beccles to Stowmarket, 157.6km

· Stage Two, Tuesday 11 June, the Kent Cyclopark Stage, 62.5km

· Stage Three, Wednesday 12 June, Henley-on-Thames to Blenheim Palace, 145.1km

· Stage Four, Thursday 13 June, Warwick to Burton Dassett Country Park, 158.9km

· Stage Five, Friday 14 June, Llandrindod Wells to Builth Wells, 140km

· Stage Six, Saturday 15 June, Carmarthen to Pembrey Country Park, 125.9km


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK