RESULT: MOD Swynnerton Circuit Races

David Powell and Sam Hall winners of the Stone Wheelers MOD Swynnerton Circuit Races on July 21st

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

RESULT: Swynnerton Circuit Races

Category S/M/A/B/C

Race 2 Under 55s Race Report – 75 minutes plus 3 laps.

All CATs, S,M,A,B and C started as one – and remained intact until approx 45 minutes into the race when David Powell of Horwich CC broke away with Chris Humphries of Onimpex Bioracer. Working well together they quickly established a lead of over 2 minutes until disaster struck Chris when he punctured with 3 laps to go.

However David pressed on alone to take the victory by over 3 minutes. The bunch sprint was won by James Claydon, closely followed by Paul Thursfield and Mark Liptrot. Average speed for the race was 25.3 MPH.

Race organiser Ian Noons would like to thank his hard working (and long-suffering) wife, Amanda who not only did most of the admin work, ran the race HQ and provided the refreshments for all involved. She deserves a medal (so she tells me!) Ian would also like to thank members of Stone Wheelers, in particular Paul Belfield and Fiona Prew, for their invaluable help, and the biker marshals for doing an excellent job providing race safety and security.

Thanks also to all the riders for turning up and making it a good day’s racing.

Today was not just about providing a safe race for experienced rides, but more importantly it gave the newcomers to the sport an opportunity to race in a safe traffic-free environment.

1 . David Powell Horwich CC A 1ST
2. James Claydon Bill Nickson RT S 1ST
3. Paul Thursfield GWRT C 1ST
4. Mark Liptrot GWRT C 2ND
5. Gerrard Heap Macclesfield Whlrs C 3RD
6. Lyndon Thompson ????? c 4th
7. Thomas McCormack Element A 2ND
8. Jarod Garrington GWRT B 1st
9. Keith Large Crewe Clarion Whlrs B 2nd
10. William Turley Pro Vision B 3RD
11. Darren Parsons Pro Vision C 5TH
12. Duncan Loch Velo Runner RT ??? N/A
13. Jimmy Froggatt SKCC C 6TH
14. Phillip Knupfer MBC A 3RD
15. Paul Cookson GWRT B 4TH
16. Steven Cartwright GWRT C 6TH

… continued after advert


Race 1 Over 55s Race Report – 75 minutes plus 3 laps.

Race 1 was a handicap for the majority of Over 55s, however within the field were a number of riders who were new to racing and in order to give them the best racing experience they were placed in this group for that reason. The first group off consisted of riders aged over 65 years of age, a lone female rider, and several riders who were riding their first ever competitive cycling race. This group was given a 3 minute lead over the second group.

Next group off were CAT Ds and Es who were quickly organised into a well marshalled chasing group by the experienced Keith Jones of Graham Weigh RT. The 3 minute lead was quickly eaten up and after approx 45 minutes of racing the catch was made and after a series of attacks three riders got away, they evergreen Keith Jones, Sam Hall and Alex Thompson both youth riders.

Sam Hall sprinted for the victory, closely followed by Alex Thompson. The bunch sprint was won by Geoff Rawlinson. It was a hard fast race on this excellent MOD circuit with an average speed of 25MPH.

Man of the Match and the Fair Play award goes to Keith Jones.

1. Sam Hall Velo Runner RT Youth 1st
2. Alex Thompson Fred Williams Cycles Youth 2nd
3. Keith Jones GWRT D 1ST
4. Geoff Rawlinson St Helens CRC E 1st
5. Aaron Mansell Pro Vision Youth 3rd
6. Martin Harney MBC D 2ND
7. Raphael Tabiner North Cheshire Clarion Youth 4th
8. Ray Pugh Liverpool Mercury E 2ND
9. Steve Davies Omniplex D 3RD
10. Gordon Wallace GWRT E 3RD
11. Jamie Skelton St Helens CRC B 1st
12. Marcus Walker Bush Health CRT E 3RD
13. Graham Weigh GWRT F 1ST
14. Dennis Callanan GWRT D 4TH
15. Paul Williams Velo RunnerRT D 5TH


… continued after advert


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK