Report: Brooks Cycles Track League

The final night of this years Brooks Cycles Track League which took place Thursday 5th September turned out to be the best night of the year attendance wise with 56 riders taking part.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Brooks Cycles Track League

The final night of this years Brooks Cycles Track League which took place Thursday 5th September turned out to be the best night of the year attendance wise with 56 riders taking part. The racing’s also pretty quick with the weather being fine and sunny and then not too cold once the floodlights came on.

The Freewheelers races started the night off with some close racing across the 8 race program with the top points scorers were as follows;
Group 1 Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC 9 Points
Group 2 Rory Shenton Lyme RC 10 Points

In the A Class endurance league Sprinter Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Black Line) rode all the events as well as the sprinters league to make a busy night for him. He won the 10 laps and 20 laps scratch races along with the unknown distance. Ryan Greaves ( Lichfield CCC) won the other A endurance event in the Elimination Race. The overall winner of the league was Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC) who took two second places however he had dominated throughout the season and is a deserved leader and th e first rider for many years to retain his title.

The sprinters league saw the Keiren League being the highlight of the night with a full packed 7 rider final. Once the motor bike peeled off the pace went straight up and in the mass charge for the line Hayden Norris ( RST) won from Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles). The team sprint race went to a super fast ride by Joel Partington ( Sportcity Velo), Hary Ledingham-Horn and Eddie Ardern ( SES Racing ) . The 1/2 lap handicap races went to Josh Spendelow, Eddie Ardern , Hayden Norris and current World Masters Champion Dave Hughes ( Beacon RC) , who was making his first visit to the track. The overall winner of the league was Harry Ledingham-Horn who topped off a great year for him.

The B Class event saw a variety of winners with Rob Taylor ( Crewe Clarion ) taking the 10 laps scratch, Hannah Davis ( Black Line ) the unknown distance and Tom Alcock ( Lyme RC) the 20 laps scratch. The overall title went to Ross Hooley ( Innovation RT ) who won one event on the night in the Elimination.

The C League races was hotly contested agin with Gareth Croft ( Lyme RC) winning the opening 6 laps scratch. Phil Powell ( BC PM) won the Kieren and the Elimination filled by Karl Meredith taking the 20 laps scratch . The overall title went to a Darren Hughes ( Lyme RC) who had rode strongly all year taking many wins.

The youth races saw this years Champion Thomas Wheaver ( Lyme RC) win three of the four event in the 200m TT, Elimination and the Unknown Distance. Thomas has rode so well this year and had shown great potential for the future.

The organisers would like to thank all orders for supporting the league this year which has seen record attendance each week. There has also been no crashes throughout the year which shows how well all riders have ridden. We would also like to thank all officials and sponsors Tony Brooks from Brooks Cycles and Lyme RC. We look forward to welcoming you all and many more down the track in 2020.

… continued after advert

Freewheelers Results
Group 1
Race 1
1st Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC
2nd George Morton Lyme RC
3rd Eddie Townsend Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Sophie Griffiths Lyme RC
2nd Eddie Townsend
3rd Minnie McKenzie

Race 3
1st George Morton
2nd Minnie Mckenzie
3rd Sophie Griffiths

Race 4
1st Alissa Jamison
2nd Minnie McKenzie
3rd George Morton

Group 2

Race 1
1st Rory Shenton Lyme RC
2nd Max McKenzie Lyme RC
3rd Charlie Croft Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Charlie Croft
2nd Rory Shenton
3rd Max McKenzie

Race 3
1st Charlie Croft
2nd Rory Shenton
3rd Max McKenzie

Race 4
1st Max McKenzie
2nd Rory Shenton
3rd Charlie Croft

… continued after advert



Sprinters League 200m Standing Starts Heat Winners
Josh Spendelow Brooks Cycles
Eddie Arden SES Racing
Dave Hughes Beacon RC

Youth 200m TT
1st Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC
2nd Thomas Hyde Newport RC
3rd Seth Ireland Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 10 lap scratch
1st Harry Ledingham-Horn Black Line
2nd Ryan Greaves Lichfield CCC
3rd Josh Marsden Lyme RC

B Class 10 Lap Scratch
1st Rob Taylor Crewe Clarion
2nd Mike Boston Uttoxeter CC
3rd Ross Hooley Innovation RT

C Class 10 lap Scratch
1st Gareth Croft Lyme RC
2nd Karl Meredith RNRMC
3rd Ken Warrilow Lyme RC

Sprinters League Team Sprint
1st Joel Partington Sportcity Velo
Eddie Ardern
Harry Ledingham-Horn

Youth Team Sprint
1st Thomas Hyde Newport CC
Sam Stoker Hafren CC
Thea Lea Newport CC
Seth Ireland Lyme RC
Tom Jackson Newport CC
Liam Campbell Lyme RC
Sophie Griffiths Lyne RC

A Class Unknown Distance
1st Harry Ledingham-Horn
2nd Thomas Bullock Newport CC
3rd Ryan Greaves

B Class Unknown Distance
1st Hannah Davis Black Line
2nd Ethan Wilmot Derby Mercury
3rd Ross Hooley

C Class Keiren
1st Phil Powell BC PM
2nd Gareth Croft
3rd Karl Meredith

Keirin Final
1st Hayden Norris
2nd Josh Spendelow
3rd Harry Ledingham-Horn
4th Eddie Ardern
5th Chris Pyatt
6th Josh Dunham VC St Raphael

Youth Elimination
1st Thomas Heaver
2nd Seth Ireland
3rd Thomas Hyde

A Class Elimination
1st Ryan Greaves
2nd Thomas Bullock
3rd Josh Marsden

B Class Elimination
1st Ross Hooley
2nd Mike Boston
3rd Hannah Davis

C Class Elimination
1st Phil Powell
2nd Karl Meredith
3rd Darren Hughes

Youth Unknown Distance
1st Thomas Wheaver
2nd Thomas Hyde
3rd Carys Greaves Lichfield CCC

20 lap Scratch
1st Harry Ledingham-Horn
2nd Hayden Norris
3rd Josh Spendelow

B Class
1st Tom Alcock Lyme RC
2nd Mike Boston

C Class
1st Karl Meredith
2nd Darren Hughes
3rd Ken Warrilow


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK