Team News: Trek-Segafredo 2020 Womens Team

Abi Van Twisk, Elynor Bäckstedt  and Elizabeth Deignan among the riders in the 2020 Trek-Segafredo Womens Team

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Team News: Trek-Segafredo 2020 Womens Team

Trek-Segafredo is happy to confirm the contract renewals of four riders who have been of great value to the team in its inaugural season: Audrey Cordon-Ragot, Lauretta Hanson, Anna Plichta, and Abi Van Twisk.

Photo credit: Jojo Harper

French super-domestique Audrey Cordon-Ragot had a strong season helping the team leaders achieve their goals and taking her own chances. Her aggressive racing style earned her a win in a tough edition of the Drentse Acht race in The Netherlands when she went solo to the line after a long-range attack. Additionally, Audrey took the overall victory in the Tour de Bretagne racing for the French national team.

Joining Trek-Segafredo and racing a full season in Europe was a big step-up for Australian Lauretta Hanson. Her development throughout the year didn’t go unnoticed and earned her a spot on the roster for 2020. Lauretta really shone in helping to position the team’s sprinters for the bunch finishes and also achieved a great result in Le Samyn, where she took 4th.

Hanson: “Trek-Segafredo has been a great fit for me, and I’m really excited to be renewing for 2020. This year I was given the opportunity to just focus on my growth and development, and I think I gained a lot out of that. Next year we have the same team with the addition of two really strong riders, so I’m looking forward to capitalizing on what I learned this year, taking opportunities, and working hard for my teammates.”

… continued after advert

Another rider who has shown solid results over the year is Anna Plichta, particularly in time-trials. In addition to taking the Polish national title, Anna achieved a top-5 result in the Madrid Challenge TT.

Abi Van Twisk played a supporting role this year as she develops her abilities. One noteworthy performance was at her home race, the Women’s Tour, which saw her ride tirelessly on the front of the peloton with Anna Plichta to protect team leader Lizzie Deignan’s lead in the General Classification.

Van Twisk: “I am super excited to be continuing with Trek-Segafredo next year. Being surrounded by such impressive and inspirational riders, along with the staff, creates the best environment to race. This year has been a huge learning curve for me, so I can’t wait to go into 2020 with more experience and help to win some more races together.”

The 2020 Trek-Segafredo team

Elynor Bäckstedt (UK)
Lucinda Brand (NED)
Audrey Cordon-Ragot (FR)
Elizabeth Deignan (UK)
Lauretta Hanson (AUS)
Lotta Lepistö (FIN)
Elisa Longo Borghini (ITA)
Letizia Paternoster (ITA)
Anna Plichta (POL)
Ellen van Dijk (NED)
Abigail Van Twisk (UK)
Tayler Wiles (USA)
Ruth Winder (USA)
Trixi Worrack (GER)




Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK