2020 UAE Tour: Stage 4

Dylan Groenewegen gets his win as he sprints to victory on stage 4 of the UAE Tour; Adam Yates continues to lead overall

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

2020 UAE Tour: Stage 4

Team Press Release (Jumbo Visma)

Dylan Groenewegen won the fourth stage in the UAE Tour on Wednesday. The leader of Team Jumbo-Visma was brought to the sprint in an ideal position by his teammates and Groenewegen proceeded to out sprint many of the worlds top sprinters in Dubai.

For Groenewegen, it was his third victory of the season. Earlier this month he already won two stages in the Setmana Ciclista Valenciana. The resident of Amsterdam is therefore the first Dutchman to win a World Tour race this year. For Team Jumbo-Visma, it is also the third victory of the new cycling season.

The stage was perfectly controlled by the sprinter’s teams including Team Jumbo-Visma. The two riders in the breakaway were reeled in in the final ten kilometres after which Team Jumbo-Visma took the initiative in the last three. In the hectic and nervous final, Groenewegen was well positioned for the sprint by Tony Martin, Jos van Emden, Timo Roosen and Christoph Pfingsten. Groenewegen launched his sprint from behind Sam Bennett and timed his sprint at the right time.

“This is a very good win. I am very pleased”, Groenewegen said. “I beat the world’s best sprinters today. This is a really sweet victory. In the first stage, I probably had the fastest sprint of all, but I was not well positioned. That meant I had to come from too far. Today it was a totally different sprint. The boys did a perfect lead-out. It was a hectic final, but everyone really had his share in my stage win”.

“They all went flat-out. We decided to move up to the front in the last three kilometres because of the strong headwind. Christoph (Pfingsten) has the eye to put me in the best position for the sprint. Then I perfectly timed my sprint. I am happy that I was able to finish off the team’s work.”

… continued after advert

Stage 4
1. Dylan Groenewegen Team Jumbo-Visma 04:16:13
2. Fernando Gaviria UAE Team Emirates
3. Pascal Ackermann Bora-Hansgrohe
4. Sam Bennett Deceuninck-Quick Step
5. Caleb Ewan Point jersey Lotto Soudal
6. Kaden Groves Mitchelton-Scott
7. Jakub Mareczko CCC Team
8. Attilio Viviani Cofidis
9. Rudy Barbier Israel Start-Up Nation
10. Max Walscheid NTT Pro Cycling Team

11. Rick Zabel Israel Start-Up Nation
12. Arnaud Démare Groupama-FDJ
21. Mark Cavendish Bahrain-McLaren
33. Adam Yates Mitchelton-Scott
45. Jack Bauer Mitchelton-Scott
50. Albert Torres Movistar Team
58. Edward Dunbar Team Ineos
62. Charlie Quarterman Trek-Segafredo
85. Chris Froome Team Ineos
120. Alex Dowsett Israel Start-Up Nation @ 26 secs
134. James Knox Deceuninck-Quick Step @ 02:04

1. Adam Yates Mitchelton-Scott 16:46:15
2. Tadej Pogacar UAE Team Emirates @ 01:07
3. Alexey Lutsenko Astana Pro Team @ 01:35
4. David Gaudu Groupama-FDJ @ 01:40
5. Rafal Majka Bora-Hansgrohe @ 01:40
6. Jesus Herrada Lopez Cofidis @ 02:05
7. Wilco Kelderman Team Sunweb @ 02:06
8. Diego Ulissi UAE Team Emirates @ 02:06
9. Patrick Konrad Bora-Hansgrohe @ 02:06
10. Edward Dunbar Team Ineos @ 02:06
13. Ilnur Zakarin CCC Team @ 02:23
17. Alejandro Valverde Movistar Team @ 02:48
24. Wout Poels Bahrain-McLaren @ 04:04
52. Jack Bauer Mitchelton-Scott @ 09:08
72. James Knox Deceuninck-Quick Step @ 13:36
82. Chris Froome Team Ineos @ 14:41
92. Alex Dowsett Israel Start-Up Nation @ 16:36
121. Mark Cavendish Bahrain-McLaren @ 26:08
123. Albert Torres Movistar Team @ 26:43
130. Charlie Quarterman Trek-Segafredo @ 28:36

Full results can be found here 



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK