Team News: Deceuninck – Quick-Step Next Races

Remco Evenepoel and Fabio Jakobsen lead Deceuninck – Quick-Step  at Poland with James Knox; Sam Bennett goes to Milano-Torino (the oldest race in the world)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Team News: Deceuninck – Quick-Step Next Races

Deceuninck – Quick-Step to Tour de Pologne

Remco Evenepoel and Fabio Jakobsen will lead the team at next week’s World Tour race

The 77th edition of the Tour de Pologne (5-9 August), despite consisting of just five stages, will give opportunities to almost everyone: sprinters, climbers and puncheurs. The first World Tour stage race in five months will start from Chorzow and conclude in Krakow, one of the oldest cities in the country. Despite lacking an individual time trial for the fourth consecutive year, the route will provide plenty of challenging terrain for the yellow jersey favourites to make the difference, one of which will be the traditional finish at Bukowina Tatrzanska.

Fresh off his outstanding success at the Vuelta a Burgos, where he became the youngest winner in the history of the race, Remco Evenepoel will now line-up for his first World Tour event of the season, supported by Mattia Cattaneo, Dries Devenyns and James Knox. On the flat stages, our team will look to Fabio Jakobsen, whose fine form carried him to three wins before the season was halted in early spring. The 23-year-old Dutch Champion, making his second consecutive appearance at the Tour de Pologne, will rely in the bunch gallops on Davide Ballerini and Florian Sénéchal, who will round out our team for next week’s race.

“We start again with a very strong and motivated squad. Fabio is our man for the sprints, he’s excited to be back racing, and we’re confident he is capable of getting a good result, while with Remco we will go again for the GC. Everyone saw what he did in Burgos and he will have a nice support also here and an excellent road captain in Dries. We’ll just take one stage at a time and see what happens”, said Deceuninck – Quick-Step sports director Klaas Lodewyck.


Davide Ballerini (ITA)
Mattia Cattaneo (ITA)
Dries Devenyns (BEL)
Remco Evenepoel (BEL)
Fabio Jakobsen (NED)
James Knox (GBR)
Florian Sénéchal (FRA)

Sports Director Brian Holm (DEN)
Klaas Lodewyck (BEL)


05.08.20 Stage 1 Stadion Slaski, Chorzow – Katowice 195.8 km
06.08.20 Stage 2 Opole – Zabrze 151.5 km
07.08.20 Stage 3 Wadowice – Bielsko-Biala, Slaskie 203.1 km
08.08.20 Stage 4 Bukovia Resort – Bukowina Tatrzanska 152.9 km
09.08.20 Stage 5 Hotel Bachleda Kasprowy, Zakopane – Krakow 188.0 km

… continued after advert


Deceuninck – Quick-Step to Milano-Torino

Irish Champion Sam Bennett heads into the 101st edition of the race as one of the riders to watch

Milano-Torino – the oldest race in the world – has an altered course this year, which will give sprinters an opportunity to test their legs ahead of Saturday’s Milano-Sanremo, the season’s first Monument. The 198km course between Mesero and Stupinigi will be flat except for the crossing of Monferrato, where the riders will face a series of short climbs that won’t have any impact on the outcome.

Victorious on stage 3 of the Vuelta a Burgos after a canny attack inside the final kilometer, Sam Bennett will lead Deceuninck – Quick-Step at the race created back in 1876, his confidence buoyed by last week’s spectacular win. Completing the team will be Bennett’s regular lead-out men Shane Archbold and Michael Mørkøv, Tim Declercq, Ian Garrison, Mikkel Honoré, and Yves Lampaert.

“For many, the race will be a rehearsal for Milano-Sanremo and a good opportunity to see where they are ahead of Saturday’s important appointment. It’s a new parcours which will change everything, except our desire to be again in the mix and get a good result. Sam Bennett is naturally our leader, he’s coming at the start after a very impressive victory in Burgos and will be supported by a solid team and an experienced lead-out train”, said Deceuninck – Quick-Step sports director Davide Bramati.

05.08 Milano-Torino (ITA) 1.Pro


Shane Archbold (NZL)
Sam Bennett (IRL)
Tim Declercq (BEL)
Ian Garrison (USA)
Mikkel Honoré (DEN)
Yves Lampaert (BEL)
Michael Mørkøv (DEN)

Sports Director Davide Bramati (ITA)
Wilfried Peeters (BEL)

Length 198.0 km
Start 13:45
Finish 18:37

Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK