Women’s Giro: Vos wins stage 3

Marianne Vos attacked her way to victory on stage 3 of the Women’s Giro; World champion Annemiek van Vleuten extended her race lead on the summit finish in Assisi.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Women’s Giro: Vos wins stage 3

Mitchelton-Scott press release

World champion Annemiek van Vleuten extened her overall race lead at the Giro Rosa as stage three came down to an uphill showdown in Assisi. The newly crowned European champion climbed to fifth place on the day, as the peloton tackled the brutally steep climb up to the historic Basilica of St. Francis, and was able to gain four seconds on the general classification over her nearest rival Anna van der Breggen (Boels – Dolmans).

There was no chance of the peloton easing into stage three after yesterday’s difficult opening road stage. The bunch were straight into the hills as they rolled out of Santa Fiora, and it was up and down for the majority of the first half of the race. No breakaway attempts were made inside the first 50-kilometres until a flurry of solo attackers briefly escaped. Mitchelton-SCOTT were alert to each move, with Van Vleuten riding on the front as she kept an eye on the moves.

The bunch became nervous with around 30kilometres to go with a threat of crosswinds rumoured, but the winds failed materialise. Despite several attempts to break free from various riders, it was clear that the stage would be decided on the brutal ascent to the finish line in the picturesque town of Assisi. The pace was rapid as the peloton negotiated the narrow streets on the approach to the foot of the short, steep ramp.

Van Vleuten found herself out of position and was forced to brake as riders raced into the bottom of the climb, with the 37-year-old unable to get back on terms with those out front. Marianne Vos (CCC Liv) proved to be the strongest on the day and took the win, with Van Vleuten crossing the line in fifth to safely retain the Maglia Rosa.

Annemiek van Vleuten: “I knew when I saw this finish that it was really a Marianne Vos finish, for me it was about not losing time, so I wanted to not be out of position. Actually, I was a little bit out of position, and I had to make up gaps, but I was not there for the win today. I had a really good day on the bike and with my team, all day in control and at the front so a really good day for us. I love the heat, it’s good for me, everything that makes it hard is good for me, you just have to drink more.”

1. Marianne Vos CCC-Liv 03:53:34
2. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig FDJ-N. Aquitaine-Futuroscope @ 02
3. Elisa Longo Borghini Trek-Segafredo Women @ 05
4. Liane Lippert Team Sunweb @ 08
5. Annemiek van Vleuten Mitchelton-Scott @ 12
6. Lotte Kopecky Lotto – Soudal Ladies @ 13
7. Anna van der Breggen Boels – Dolmans Cycling Team @ 16
8. Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio CCC-Liv @ 16
9. Katarzyna Niewiadoma Canyon-SRAM Racing @ 16
10. Mavi Garcia Alé BTC Ljubljana @ 19

37. Elizabeth Banks Équipe Paule Ka @ 01:01
66. Abby-Mae Parkinson Lotto – Soudal Ladies @ 01:48
76. Lizzie Deignan Trek-Segafredo Women @ 02:11
86. Hannah Barnes Canyon-SRAM Racing @ 02:27
89. Elizabeth Holden Bizkaia – Durango @ 02:30

1 Annemiek van Vleuten Mitchelton-Scott 08:07:06
2 Anna van der Breggen Boels – Dolmans Cycling Team @ 01:22
3 Katarzyna Niewiadoma Canyon-SRAM Racing @ 01:37
4 Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig FDJ-N. Aquitaine-Futuroscope @ 02:38
5 Mikayla Harvey Équipe Paule Ka @ 03:40
6 Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio CCC-Liv @ 03:58
7 Mavi Garcia Alé BTC Ljubljana @ 04:08
8 Elisa Longo Borghini Trek-Segafredo Women @ 04:16
9 Elise Chabbey Équipe Paule Ka @ 04:40
10 Marianne Vos CCC-Liv @ 04:53

16 Elizabeth Banks Équipe Paule Ka @ 07:14


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK