News: BinckBank Tour TT Stage

Double Tour de France stage winner Søren Kragh Andersen (Sunweb) continues to win with victory in the time trial stage of the Binckbank Tour

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: BinckBank Tour TT Stage

Sunweb Press Release

With the spirits high in the team after their recent successes, Team Sunweb’s victorious streak continued today with two-time Tour de France stage winner Søren Kragh Andersen setting the timing sheets alight to take the stage victory at the BinckBank Tour’s TT.

The penultimate day of racing at the BinckBank Tour saw the peloton faced with a tricky eight kilometre time trial, starting and finishing in Riemst. Featuring a few short climbs, and several technical section; it was set to be a tough test against the clock.

Max Kanter set a strong early time for the team, moving into the provisional top ten as he crossed the line. Jasha Sütterlin was next down the ramp for the team and the strong German rider stormed into the hot seat, stopping the clock in ten minutes and ten minutes and 16 seconds.

…. continued after the advert.

Several riders came close to Sütterlin’s time but none were able to beat his run until Søren Kragh Andersen flew around the course, setting the timing sheets alight; finishing the course in a brilliant nine minutes and 59 seconds. It moved Kragh Andersen into the hot seat where he had a nervous wait as more riders started and finished their efforts. No one was able to match his time though and he was crowned the TT winner once everyone else had crossed the line – securing his fourth win of the season and Team Sunweb’s Men’s Program 14th win in total.

As the dust settled Sütterlin’s time was also good enough for a very strong sixth place finish on the day, rounding out a perfect afternoon of racing against the clock for the team.

With tomorrow’s final stage to go, Kragh Andersen now sits second on GC, just seven seconds behind leader Mads Pedersen. “Today’s race was a really nice parcours for me,” explained a jubilant Kragh Andersen. “I came into the day with the expectation of going for a good result and trying to ride myself into the GC so I’m really happy with the result. My legs were really good and I felt strong from the start. We paced it really well and I think in the second part of the course we made the difference; you can see that in the split times. Everything went perfectly for me today and I’m really happy to be up there again. It’s my second TT victory of the year which is a big thing for me. I’m now second on GC too so I’m looking forward to tomorrow with the team and we’ll go for it again.”

1. Søren Kragh Andersen Team Sunweb 09:59
2. Stefan Küng Groupama-FDJ @ 06
3. Stefan Bissegger EF Pro Cycling @ 07
4. Mads Pedersen Leader jerseyPoint jersey Trek-Segafredo @ 09
5. Mathieu van der Poel Alpecin-Fenix @ 13
6. Jasha Sütterlin Team Sunweb @ 17
7. Jannik Steimle Deceuninck-Quick Step @ 19
8. Yves Lampaert Deceuninck-Quick Step @ 20
9. Max Walscheid NTT Pro Cycling Team @ 21
10. Christophe Laporte Cofidis @ 21

18. Ryan Mullen Trek-Segafredo @ 29
28. Thomas Scully EF Pro Cycling @ 38
35. Owain Doull INEOS Grenadiers @ 41
62. Mark Cavendish Bahrain-McLaren @ 51
63. Christopher Lawless INEOS Grenadiers @ 51
79. Charlie Quarterman Trek-Segafredo @ 57

1 Mads Pedersen Trek-Segafredo 06:35:31
2 Søren Kragh Andersen Team Sunweb @ 07
3 Stefan Küng Groupama-FDJ @ 13
4 Stefan Bissegger EF Pro Cycling @ 14
5 Mathieu van der Poel Alpecin-Fenix @ 17
6 Jasper Philipsen UAE Team Emirates @ 19
7 Yves Lampaert Deceuninck-Quick Step @ 24
8 Max Walscheid NTT Pro Cycling Team @ 28
9 Mike Teunissen Team Jumbo – Visma @ 30
10 Florian Sénéchal Deceuninck-Quick Step @ 31

Full Result Here

Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK