Startlist: Banbury Star Women’s RR

Startlist for the first on the road British Women’s Team Cup event for 2021 promoted by Banbury Star; the day also sees a 3/4 Men’s race

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Startlist: Banbury Star Women’s RR

This Sunday sees the first on the road round of the British Women’s Team Cup comprising three laps of a 14 mile circuit that includes the tough climb of Edge Hill. The race features three anti-clockwise laps of this testing course, which commences with a rolling start approximately 800m north of the race HQ. Riders then proceed along the B4100 Warwick Road which features two fast descents before a sharp left turn is made onto a quieter country lane which exits at the bottom of the infamous Knowle at Edge Hill.

This climb is short but brutal with a gradient of over 15% for some of its 110 vertical metres. This is an ideal location for spectators to view the race. The pace then picks up for the second half of the lap with a gradual downhill through Edge Hill village after which a left turn is made onto the A422 Stratford Road. After another a short section of main road another left turn is made into Quarry Road for the fast descent into Horley village which features a very sharp left turn at its exit, caution is required here.

A short but energy-sapping rise then takes the riders either up to the finish line or back onto the Warwick Road to complete the end of a lap.

It will be interesting to see how the teams that have excelled at the British Team Cup Zwift racing league perform on the road with league leaders St Piran fielding a full team for Sunday’s event plus TW1 Racing (currently 2nd), Pro Noctis (3rd) also running full teams. We are all super excited to be able to see each other and race on the road again and we thank the organisers Mike Gillett and Paul Dean of Banbury Star Cycling Club along with all the British Cycling event personnel, NEG and marshals for their huge efforts in getting this event up and running.

– Morning race – Mens Cat 3 /4 45 miles 9.30
– Afternoon race – Women Only (part of the British Women’s Team Cup) 45 miles 1.30pm

Directions to the Race HQ
The race headquarters is situated at Drayton Pavilion next to the athletics track of North Oxfordshire Academy Drayton Pavilion, North Oxfordshire Academy Banbury, Oxfordshire, OX16 0UD

The route is available to download via Garmin Connect:

Please note the start isn’t a hard point as shown on the Garmin map. It will be a rolling start following a neutralised zone from the race HQ and will be under the control of the
British Cycling Chief Commissaire.

Francesca Cutts Team LDN – Brother UK 1st
Kerry Middleton Team LDN – Brother UK 1st
Ruth Shier Team LDN – Brother UK 2nd

Sian Botteley Brother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm 2nd
Madeline Verdegaal Brother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm 2nd
Becky Storrie Brother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm 2nd

Lucy Ellmore Crimson Orientation Marketing RT 2nd
Melissa Greaves Crimson Orientation Marketing RT 2nd
Mary Wilkinson Crimson Orientation Marketing RT 2nd

Emma Jeffers JRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team 3rd
Molli Keenor JRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team 3rd
Annabel Ramsay JRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team 3rd

Chloe Vickers Loughborough Lightning – TRG 2nd
Alderney Baker Loughborough Lightning – TRG 2nd
Francesca Hall Loughborough Lightning – TRG 1st
Hannah Lancaster Loughborough Lightning – TRG 2nd

Bethany Barnett Awol 3rd
Eva Callinan Awol 2nd
Lydia Watts Awol 2nd

Poppy Thompson Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes – Heidi Kjeldsen 2nd
Corinne Side Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes – Heidi Kjeldsen 2nd
Amy Gornall Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes – Heidi Kjeldsen 2nd
Charlotte Berry Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes – Heidi Kjeldsen 1st

Sarah Briggs RFDA 2nd
Lucia Bruton Saint Piran WRT 2nd
Bexy Dew Saint Piran WRT 2nd
Christina Wiejak Saint Piran WRT 2nd
Polly Burge Jadan – Vive le Velo 2nd
Grace Castle Tofauti Everyone Active 3rd
Nicole Coates Weston Homes-Torelli-Assure 2nd
Rebecca Dawes RFDA 3rd
Matea Deliu Team Watto-LDN 3rd
Isabel Ellis Weston Homes-Torelli-Assure 2nd
Rebecca Hair Magspeed Racing 3rd
Claire Hammond TW1 Racing 2nd
Chloe Hinchliffe RFDA 3rd
Emma Jane Hornsby VC Londres 3rd
Rachel Jenkins Cowley Road Condors 3rd
Jasmine Jones Bianchi Dama 2nd
Amber Junker-Brameld VC Londres 3rd
Rebecca Kearney Will Houghton Racing Team 2nd
Debra Kelsall Team Watto-LDN 3rd
Roisin Lally Weston Homes-Torelli-Assure 3rd
Alice Lethbridge Weston Homes-Torelli-Assure 2nd
Kristen Lovelock Cowley Road Condors 2nd
Victoria Lovett Awol 2nd
Ella Maclean-Howell Tofauti Everyone Active 3rd
Holly MacMahon Bianchi Dama 2nd
Heather Mayer Team Watto-LDN 3rd
Rose McGovern Cowley Road Condors 2nd
Gabriella Nordin TW1 Racing 2nd
Flora Perkins VC Londres 2nd
Laura Pittard Brother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm 2nd
Natasha Reddy Bianchi Dama 2nd
Ella Roper Abingdon Race Team 3rd
Gemma Sargent Saint Piran WRT 2nd
Danielle Shrosbree Team LDN 3rd
Amelia Southall RFDA 3rd
Ileia Spyropoulou Will Houghton Racing Team 3rd
Victoria Strila TW1 Racing 3rd


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK