Report/Result: Chitterne Road Race (Men)

Zeb Kyffin (Ribble Weldtite) powered clear of his rivals Samuel Painter and Yanto Barker to win the Men’s Chitterne Road Race held in wet and windy conditions

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Result: Chitterne Road Race (Men)

Thanks to British Cycling South …

The weather rolled in for the start of the men’s race but it did not dampen the enthusiasm to be back road racing. With a long neutral section out of the way, it was on the second lap of the race that the wind gradually prised a group off the front.

Initially 13-strong, the same impetus that had eked out their slender advantage, began to rip things apart further on the climb and the group was down to nine with the main group lined out in the gutter heading down the descent towards Shrewton.

One lap later, the pattern of the race was emerging with the front group nursing a 60 seconds advantage over a chasing pack led by Canyon DHB Sungod that threatened to pull the whole bunch apart as they approached the final lap.

As the bunch took the bell, the peloton were down to 24 riders but the gap had been cut to 40 seconds and the race was finely poised. Kyffin, Painter and Barker managed to take themselves clear of the rest of the breakaway on the final lap and came into the finish with enough time to finesse but the winning margin was never in doubt with Kyffin blasting four seconds clear of Painter on the final slope to the line with the bunch and remains of the breakaway all starting to come together in the final kilometre.

1. Zeb Kyffin, Ribble Weldtite
2. Samuel Painter, TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling 2nd
3. Yanto Barker, Onyx RT 2nd
4. Oliver Maxwell, Saint Piran 1st
5. Tom Portsmouth, Carbonbike Discar Academy 1st
6. George Smith, Primera-TeamJobs Elite
7. Joshua Giddings, Z Junior Race Team 1st
8. Daniel Tulett, Canyon DHB Sungod 1st
9. William Truelove, Wales Racing Academy 1st
10. James Ashcroft, Nopinz Motip Race Team 2nd
11. Sebastian Garry, Nopinz Motip Race Team 1st
12. Josh Whitehead, Team PB Performance 2nd
13. Owain Roberts, Team Wales 1st
14. Samuel Clark, TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling 2nd
15. Vaughn Pretorius, Brother UK Team LDN
16. James Nicholson, TAAP Cervelo 2nd
17. Ross Holland, Saint Piran 1st
18. Tom Nancarrow, Nopinz Motip Race Team Elite
19. Joshua Avery, Brother UK – Cycle Team OnForm 1st
20. Aaron Freeman, Richardsons-Trek RT 2nd
21. Max Stedman, Canyon DHB Sungod 1st
22. Shaun Cook, Bristol RC
23. Callum Macleod ,Canyon DHB Sungod 1st
24. Jacques Coates, Team PB Performance 2nd
25. Cameron Biddle, Vredestein Basso 1st
26. Sion Harlow, Team PB Performance 1st
27. Nicholas Tyrie, Primera-TeamJobs 1st
28. Callum Riley, Richardsons-Trek RT 2nd
29. Christopher Rothwell,
30. Joshua Price, Spirit Racing Team 2nd

Thanks to Avid Sport and a host of volunteers for making the racing happen



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK