Report/Result: Chitterne Road Race (Women)

Lucy Lee (Brother UK/Team LDN) sprinted clear of Zoe Backstedt and Alice McWilliam in the final metres to win the Chitterne women’s race on Sunday in Wilstshire

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Result: Chitterne Road Race (Women)

Thanks to British Cycling South …

Lucy Lee (Brother UK/Team LDN) sprinted clear of Zoe Backstedt (Tormans ACROG) and Alice McWilliam (Grinta Coaching) in the final metres to win the Chitterne women’s race on Sunday in Wilstshire The exposed roads of Salisbury Plain have a reputation for creating attritional racing and the conditions did nothing to dispel that history as we saw the combination of climbs and crosswinds make light work of splitting the peloton.

The women’s race started with a stuttering opening as the race was briefly paused following a crash in the early kilometres but the climbs on the course quickly got to work breaking up the group and left a group of 31 riders to contest the win with one lap to go.

On the main climb, a five minute effort out of the village of Chitterne up onto the plain, it was Lucy Lee who was showing her form and leading the group over the crest with the group well strung-out in her wake. Millie Couzens (PH Mas – Paul Milnes Cycles) was glued to her wheel and junior Zoe Backstedt was looming ominously, clearly backing her sprinting ability to secure the honours. Lee was looking composed though and despite this show of strength, her rivals were not in a position to look to take an advantage heading into the sprint.

Maddi Aldam-Gates (Bath CC) was the first to launch her bid for glory on the long gradual climb to the line but admitted to her own inexperience as she was swallowed up by the main pack as they approached the finish and it was Backstedt who was leading up the left hand side of the road.

Lee though took the shorter, more sheltered line and with a glance over in the final metres knew she had the victory in the bag by a bike length.


1. Lucy Lee, Brother UK/Team LDN
2. Zoe Backstedt, Tormans Acrog
3. Alice McWilliam, Grinta Coaching
4. Grace Lister, Cero Cycle Division
5. Penny Colloff, Paceline RT
6. Harriet Dodd, Brother UK/Team LDN
7. Millie Couzens, PH MAS Paul Milnes Cycles
8. Elizabeth Sanders, Avid Sport
9. Danielle Watkinson, Team Watto-LDN
10. Maddie Heywood, Team Watto-LDN
11. Hannah Rainger, Propello
12. Jennifer Millmore, Islington CC
13. Katie Scott, Cams Basso
14. Katarzyna Madej, Paceline RT
15. Kater Voller, Paceline RT
16. Rebecca Seal, Saint Piran WRT
17. Maddie Aldam
18. Georgina Paul, Ross on Wye & District CC
19. Emma Matthews, Sowerby Sunday Club
20. Rosie Wayland, Durlsey RC
21. Polly Masson, Brother UK/Team LDN
22. Madeline Cooper, Jam Cycling RT
23. Feodora Rayner, Team Watto-LDN
24. Baiba Fogele, CC London
25. Anya Tamplin, HuntBikeWheels
26. Molly Hodges, Avid Sport
27. Emma Watson, Islington CC
28. Jamie-Lee Wright, CC London
29. Lauren Johnston, Torvelo Racing
30. Connie McLauglin, Tofauti Everyone Active
31. Hannah Rainger, Propello
32. Lauren Booth, PDQ Cycle Coaching
33. Millie Skinner, Pro Noctis Red Chilli Bikes
34. Sarah Hickman, Nova Race team
35. Emma Cauoux-Hudson, Cowley Condors
36. Francesca Derbyshire, Army CU
37. Grace Park, Avid Sport
38. Olive Holliday, Avid Sport
39. Margaret Dods,
40. Charlotte Davies, Clapham Chasers
41. Claire Fennell, Chew Valley CC

Thanks to Avid Sport  and all the volunteers that made the racing possible


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK