Result: Bath CC Cotswold League Road Race

Sam Tillett won the Bath CC Cotswold League Road Race on July 25 held over eight laps of the hilly Stowey circuit

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Bath CC Cotswold League Road Race

The Bath CC Cotswold league race was held the hilly Stowey circuit. The 8 laps are only 80kms long but with 1500m of climbing this is always an attritional race. Ben Stockdale was the most aggressive rider and attacked on the first lap and soon opened up a gap of 15 seconds. Over the top of the climb for the 2nd time, Ben was joined in the break by Oliver Hurdle and William Lewis. The three riders worked well together and over the next 4 lasp they opened up a gap of over 2 minutes over the rest of the field.

Ben won the first 3 of the 4 KOM climbs to win the 73 Degrees KOM competition. But the exertions were starting to take the toll and with 3 laps to go the gap had reduced to 30 seconds. At that point Samuel Tillett and Matthew Houlberg took their opportunity and bridged across to the break.

Will Lewis couldn’t hold on to the increased pace of the break and dropped back to the peloton. On the final climb Oliver and Ben could not compete with the fresher legs of Sam and Matthew who came to the finish together 15 seconds ahead of Oliver . Sam beat Matthew in the sprint for the line with Oliver and Ben holding off the reduced peloton. James Alexander won the bunch sprint for 6th place.

1 Samuel Tillett BIKESTRONG-KTM 2U23
2 Matthew Houlberg Meudon Pedal Heaven Le Col RT 2U23
3 Oliver Hurdle Southampton University Road Club 2U23
4 Ben Stockdale Cotswold Cycles-TREK -RT 2Sen
5 David Roper Ride 24 – 7 2Sen
6 James Alexander Beeston Cycling Club 2U23
7 Jack Ramsbottom Caffi Gruff 02-Jun
8 Jordan Giles Southampton University Road Club 2U23
9 Jamie Gostick Banjo Cycles – Raceware – Specialized 03-Jun
10 Rory Gilling RE VO LTN 2Sen
11 Charlie Genner Zappi Racing Team 2U23
12 Joshua Diesel Inflite-Dynamic Rides Race Team 2U23
13 George Skinner Primera-TeamJobs 2Sen
14 Thomas Quaid Foran CCC 2V
15 William Jewitt JRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team 2U23
16 Max Rowley-Sanchez
17 Denis Gorman Kenilworth Wheelers CC 3Sen
18 James Brown University of Bristol u23
19 Harvey Lawson Nopinz Motip Development Team
20 Ethan Browne The Bulls 2U23
21 Matthew Franklin Bristol RC 3Sen
22 Elliot Phillips VC Londres 2Sen
23 Timothy Jones 3Sen
24 William Lewis RE VO LTN 2Sen
25 Harry Lock AeroLab Ward WheelZ 2Sen
26 Toby Manning Wessex RC Sen
27 Ellis Pullinger Velo Sport Fosse 2Sen
28 James Driver Cheltenham & County Cycling Club 3Sen
29 Luke Craddock TAAP Cervelo 2Sen
30 Joshua Croxton Team Tor 2000 Kalas 2Sen
31 Richard Down Paceline RT 3Sen
32 Mark Kendernay Bath Cycling Club 4Sen
33 Chris Bowie-Hill Bristol RC 4Sen
34 William Piccin-White Wheal Velocity 03-Jun
35 Ben Savage Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA 2Sen
36 Alex Painting 3Sen
37 Immanuel Ndungu Black Cyclists Network


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK