Result: Capernwray Road Races

Ross Lamb and Lucy Ellmore winners at the Men’s and Women’s National B Capernwray Road Races on Sunday in North Lancashire

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Capernwray Road Races

The Men’s National B E123 was a hotly contested race over 8 laps of this formidable course, racing the infamous climb of Sunny Bank 9 times in total. After the first lap a small lead group of 4 riders formed containing Dean Watson and Michael Chadwick of Clancy Briggs, Ross Lamb of SwiftCarbon and George Peden of Team PB. Once this group had established a lead of around a minute, first Ben Granger (Zappi) and then Adam Mitchell (Crimson Performance) bridged across and after some yo-yo-ing the final climb saw Mitchell leading round the final bend only to be caught just before the line by a rampaging Lamb. Granger was unlucky to be pipped by hundredths of a second in a photo for 2nd, with Mitchell just hanging on. Granger picked up the Combativity award from the Commissaires for his efforts in chasing down the original lead group.

In the afternoon the Women’s National B E123 lived up to the high quality set by the Men in the morning. Whilst the main peloton stayed together for much of the first 4 laps, repelling repeated attacks on the climb and the narrow lanes around the course, a group of 15 riders came up the climb for the penultimate time in the hot July sunshine. The sapping 6th climb of Sunny Bank final split the bunch and it was Lucy Ellmore of Skoda UK that rounded the final corner of the climb with an advantage of two bike lengths. She held on to win from Illi Gardner (CAMS Basso) and Becky Storrie (Team On Form) rounded out the podium. Mary Wilkinson and Sammie Stuart of Crimson Performance took 4th and 5th respectively as the remainder of the leading bunch rolled in shattered from their efforts.

It’s worthy of note that Ellmore finished 2nd-last in the 2019 edition of the race and the two previous winners are Joss Lowden and Lizzy Banks, both of whom have gone on to phenomenal achievements since winning at Capernwray.

1 Ross Lamb SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling 1st
2 Adam Mitchell Crimson Orientation Marketing … 2nd
3 Ben Granger Zappi Racing Team 1st
4 Oliver Peckover SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling 1st
5 Michael Chadwick Clancy Briggs Cycling Academy 1st
6 George Peden Team PB Performance 2nd
7 Alex Peters SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling 1st
8 Leon Mazzone Crimson Orientation Marketing … 2nd
9 Joey Walker Crimson Orientation Marketing … Elite
10 Alexander Welburn trainSharp Development team 1st
11 Andrew Nichols Lifting Gear Prod- CyclesInMot… 1st
12 Tyler Hannay Utmost IOM Junior Cycling Team 2nd
13 James Bishop Windle Race Team 2nd
14 Joe Wilson Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling 1st
15 Toby Tanfield Cleveland Whls RT/Catley Lakem… 2nd
16 William Harding Cycling Sheffield 2nd
17 Tarn Fynn Manchester Bicycle Club 2nd
18 Farley Barber Spirit Bontrager BSS Rotor 2nd
19 Finn Crockett Wheelbase CabTech Castelli 1st
20 Matti Dobbins RT23 1st
21 Dean Watson Clancy Briggs Cycling Academy 1st
22 Tim Shoreman Wheelbase CabTech Castelli 1st
23 Jamieson Blain BIKESTRONG-KTM 1st
24 Richard Jones Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling 1st
25 Joseph Bowers Tactic Sport UK Race Team 1st
26 Jamie Fletcher Ellan Vannin Cycling Club 1st
27 Logan Maclean Wheelbase CabTech Castelli 1st
28 Thomas Mitchell Birkenhead North End CC 1st
29 Declan Hudson Dolan Ellesse Race Team 1st
30 Richard Butler Giant-Kendal RT 2nd
31 Jonathan Fowles Tactic Sport UK Race Team 1st
32 William Bjergfelt SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling Elite
33 Simon Wilson Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling Elite
34 Patrick Clark Lifting Gear Prod- CyclesInMot… 2nd
35 Ben Hardy SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling 1st
36 Ben Mewes Zappi Racing Team 2nd
37 Christopher Latham SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling 1st
38 William Dykes Cog Set Papyrus Racing Club 3rd

Women E/1/2/3
1 Lucy Ellmore SKODA DSI Cycling Academy 2nd
2 Illi Gardner CAMS-Basso 2nd
3 Becky Storrie Brother U.K – Cycle Team OnFor… 2nd
4 Mary Wilkinson Crimson Orientation Marketing … 2nd
5 Samantha Stuart Crimson Orientation Marketing … 2nd
6 Ruth Shier Team LDN – Brother UK 2nd
7 Rebecca Seal Torelli-Assure-Cayman Islands 2nd
8 Jessica Finney CAMS-Basso 1st
9 Amy Gornall Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes -… 2nd
10 Danielle Shrosbree Team LDN – Brother UK 2nd
11 Jo Tindley CAMS-Basso Elite
12 Corinne Side Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes -… 2nd
13 Isabel Darvill Team Boompods 2nd
14 Maddie Heywood Team Watto-LDN 3rd
15 Harriet Dodd Team LDN – Brother UK 2nd
16 Nicole Coates Torelli-Assure-Cayman Islands 2nd
17 Louise Hart Campinense – Velo Performance 2nd
18 Jihanna Bonilla-Allard PMRR 2nd
19 Hannah Bayes AWOL- O’Shea 2nd
20 Lucy Lee Team LDN – Brother UK 1st
21 Gabriella Homer Team Rupelcleaning – Champion … 1st
22 Josie Cram PMRR 2nd
23 Melissa Greaves Crimson Orientation Marketing … 2nd
24 Daisy Barnes Brother U.K – Cycle Team OnFor… 3rd
25 Emma Jeffers JRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team 2nd
26 Rebecca Rimmington 3rd
27 Harriet Gilson Wigan Wheelers CC 3rd
28 Flora Knight Loughborough Lightning – TRG 2nd
29 Georgia Hilleard Team Boompods 2nd


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK