Result: Owen Blower Memorial Road Races

Jessica Finney was the winner of the Owen Blower Memorial national B Road Race in Leicestershire on Sunday, Thomas Briers was winner of the men’s support race for cat 3/4

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Owen Blower Memorial Road Races

Promoted by Leicestershire Road Club

Photo: Mick Bown – more photos here

Race Report
Fine weather coupled with variable winds provided the platform for some excellent racing in Sunday’s Owen Blower Memorial Road Races, promoted by the Leicestershire Road Club & sponsored by Punk’d Protein. The 9.5 mile circuit based around the roads close to the village of Sileby where Owen Blower grew up, dealt up a mixture of flat, fast and somewhat exposed terrain along with some rolling sections to end each lap.

The mornings 3/4 support race saw a large group approach the line together after various bursts of activity had failed to stick, with a fine win for Loughborough Students CC’s Thomas Briers. Second over the line was also first Junior – Joshua Brown of Tofauti Everyone Active. Josh had also taken the mid race prime so it was no surprise to see him in the top three, with Marco Ruggeri of Rapha Cycling Club completing the podium.

The afternoon’s Owen Blower Memorial – a National B race attracted a quality field of 55 riders with most of the UK’s leading teams represented. A healthy prize list was up for grabs that included a holiday in Portugal courtesy of sponsors – and as the riders rolled away they were further incentivised with a prime on every lap and the addition of more cash for a combative award – so some hard fought racing was never in doubt.

After settling into the race, an attack was launched by Francesca Cutts of Team LDN – Brother UK on lap two that saw her gain maximum points in the first of three Queen of the Hills competition. Over the top of the prime hill and a break of three quickly formed; the other two being Frankie Hall (Loughborough Lightening) & Sian Botterly (Brother UK – Cycle Team OnForm).

The three quickly established a lead that grew to well over a minute but with just over two laps to go. As the pace of the peloton increased, the gap started to come down, but their tenure off the front ensured that Cutt’s sealed victory in the QOH’s and would take home the Mollie Blower Trophy for her efforts. With two laps showing on the board, the riders were all back together, but Hall found enough strength to score again in the QOH’s competition, adding to her efforts throughout the race, all of which saw her rewarded with the combative prize.

Approaching the final climb through Walton on the Wolds and race radio was telling us the race was together, so it was all eyes down the finish straight to see if there was anyone brave enough for a last-minute attack…

Fortune favours the bold, and that was certainly the case for CAMS-Basso’s Jessica Finney as asuperbly timed, and executed late attack saw her cross the finish line with just eight seconds in hand over the charging bunch. As Finney completed her celebrations, it was no shock that Emily Wadsworth (NXT Racing) won the sprint for second after taking three of the six primes throughout the race!

Team Watto – LDN’s Marine Ruerin completed the podium and led her team to collect the team prize and wonderful Rose Bowl Trophy backed up by Matea Deliu and Heather Mayer in 4th and 7th respectively.

With a cash award for the best team of three already in place, we were delighted to be offered a special trophy for that competition in the form of the former WCRA (Women’s Cycling Racing Assn.) Rose Bowl Trophy. A magnificent trophy steeped in history, from an organisation that was focused on providing opportunities for women to race as a team many years ago, was fitting indeed for this new event.

Results – Owen Blower Memorial. Women Nat B.
1 Jessica Finney CAMS-Basso
2 Emily Wadsworth NXTG Racing
3 Marine Guerin Team Watto-LDN
4 Matea Deliu Team Watto-LDN
5 Lucy Ellmore SKODA DSI Cycling Academy
6 Dannielle Khan Isorex NoAqua Ladies Cycling Team
7 Heather Mayer Team Watto-LDN
9 Sophie Thackray CAMS-Basso
10 Emma Edwards CAMS-Basso
11 Lucy Harris Cowley Road Condors
12 Charlotte Colclough Bianchi Dama
13 Tamsin Miller Avid Sport
14 Ruth Shier Team LDN – Brother UK
15 Charlotte Berry Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes – Heidi Kjeldsen
16 Jennifer Powell Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes – Heidi Kjeldsen
17 Polly Mason Team LDN – Brother UK
18 Harriet Dodd Team LDN – Brother UK
19 Poppy Thompson Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes – Heidi Kjeldsen
20 Jamie-Lee Wright CC London

Queen of the Hills Francesca Cutts Team LDN – Brother UK
1st U23 Emily Wadsworth NXTG Racing
Combative Award Francesca Hall Loughborough Lightning – TRG

Team Award Team Watto-LDN
Marine Guerin
Matea Deliu
Heather Mayer

Results – Owen Blower Memorial Support Race. Men 3/4
1st Thomas Briers Loughborough Students CC
2nd Joshua Brown Tofauti Everyone Active
3rd Marco Ruggeri Rapha Cycling Club
4th Oliver Snodden
5th Benjamin Leroy JRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team
6th Sean Dawson Inflite-Dynamic Rides Race Team
7th Kit Buchanan Solihull CC
8th Fred Shenton-McQueen Beeston Cycling Club
9th Gary Blackman West Midlands Police CC
10th Harrison Tacey Leicestershire Road Club

Many thanks to our sponsors, the riders, officials and volunteers for making a great day of racing happen. We look forward to seeing everyone at the second running of the event next year. Gary Coltman, Organiser.


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK