Report/Result: Will Houghton Road Race

After being forced to move the race to Hillingdon, the Will Houghton Road Race was won by James O’Connell on Sunday (September 19)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Result: Will Houghton Road Race

With the lack of accredited marshals, this event was forced to move to Hillingdon. The format was changed but the riders still got 90 minutes of racing and with a £200 1st prize and a £50 Prime, racing was set to be competitive.

In the early part of the race, four riders went clear; James O’Connel, Oisin Murphy, Callum Slade and Ashley Towery. The four riders pushed hard and had a good advantage. James took the £50 Prime after 30 minutes of racing and the gap went out to 30 seconds. But the bunch never eased up and after an hour of racing, the break’s lead was down to 15 secs. Then two riders, Cavan Walker and Patrick Allen, bridged across but still the bunch pushed on and with only a few laps to go, it was all back together.

As the riders went around the circuit anti-clockwise, looking across at the back straight, it was clear it was going to be a bunch sprint. Popping out of the bunch to take the win was James O’Connell, the prime winner, with Cavan walker taking second and Oisin Murphy third. 1st Junior went to Dylan Humber-Kelly who was also 5th overall.

The organiser would like to thank all the riders and helpers for a great race and we raised lots of money for the fabulous Will Houghton Foundation. It was quite fitting as Will Houghton first started riding at the Hillingdon Circuit.

1. James OConnell
2. Cavan Walker, Loughborough Students CC
3. Oisin Murphy, VCEquipe-FlixOralHygiene-Propulse
4. Max Sillifant, Team PB Performance
5. Dylan Humber-Kelly, VC Deal
6. Matthew Grey, Jam Cycling RT coached by BPC
7. Thomas Briers, Loughborough Students CC
8. Joshua Knowles, Will Houghton Racing Team
9. Jacob Avery, Brother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm
10. Rafael Hackenbroch, Regents Park Rouleurs
11. Callum Slade, Jam Cycling RT coached by BPC
12. Ben Stockdale, Cotswold Cycles-TREK -RT
13. James McCormick, Finchley Racing Team
14. Ryan Savage, Finchley Racing Team
15. Jamie Copus, High Wycombe Cycling Club

1st Junior: Dylan Humber-Kelly (VC Deal)


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK