Preview: Newells Michaelgate Dash

A non championship event at the Road Champs this week will be the Newells Michaelgate Dash where riders will race up Michaelgate racing against 2 or 3 rivals (3 or 4 per heat)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Preview: Newells Michaelgate Dash

— Saturday 16th October
— Start 5.30pm | Finish 8.00pm (approx)

The Newells Michaelgate Hill Dash will take place on the infamous cobbled climb of Michaelgate, which is recognised as one of the ‘Top 100’ climbs in the UK, on the Saturday evening (16th October) prior to the National Road Championships (incorporating the Rapha Lincoln Grand Prix) on Sunday 17th October.

This event in held in an elimination format. Heats will consist of either 3 or 4 riders. In all races, places 1st and 2nd will go through to the next round. Riders will be held upright at the start line and clipped into pedals. The event will provide holders, use of personal holders is not allowed.

— Lane draw will be down by selecting a playing card from the Commissaire at the start line.
— Prize money is in a ‘Winner Takes All’ format.
— There is only 1 prize per category.
— Bike MUST have brakes as this is considered bunch racing.
— There will be no BC licence points awarded for this event due to the format.
— Riders should use the pavement to ride down SLOWLY to the start for the next round to keep the cobbles clear for the races.
— Riders using the pavement in races will be disqualified.

Event Schedule
4pm – Sign On opens
5pm – Sign On closes
5.30pm – Race Start
5.30 – 5.50 (approx) Mens Round 1 x 11 heats
6.00 – 6.15 (approx) Mens Round 2 x 6 heats
6.15 – 6.25 (approx) Youth Men Semi Finals x2
6.30 – 6.45 (approx) Mens Quarter Finals x4
6.50 – 7.00 (approx) Womens Semi Finals x2
7.10 – 7.20 (approx) Mens Semi Finals x2
7.30 (approx) Youth Women and Junior Women Final
7.35 (approx) Youth Men Final 1×4
7.40 (approx) Junior Men Final 1×4
7.45 (approx) Womens Final 1×4
7.50 (approx) Men Final 1×4
8.00pm (approx) – Presentations.

The Course
The course is 330m long and will start from a marked line at the bottom of the cobbles, the finish line is the same line used for the National Circuit Race Champs and National Road Races.


1 Damian Roberts Steve Poole Plant Hire
2 Mark greenwood Army Cycling Union
3 Kai Watts Black Cyclists Network
4 Jacob Chambers Blackmore Cycling Apparel
5 Tom Parsons Bolsover & District Cycling Club
6 Phil Hubbard Brown Cow Buckaroos
7 Matthew Meanwell COBL Cycling Club
8 Jack Moore East Lancashire RC
9 Oliver Humphreys Haus Race Team
10 Jack Hoy Hetton Hawks Cycling Club
11 Charles Openshaw Islington Cycling Club
12 Steven Vaughan Kendal Cycle Club
13 Dan Jestico Lee Velo (South East London)
14 Nicola Papalini Lee Velo (South East London)
15 James Wallace Lee Velo (South East London)
16 Jon Wilson Lee Velo (South East London)
17 Calum Brown Lifting Gear Prod- CyclesInMotion
18 Kieran Smith Lifting Gear Prod- CyclesInMotion
19 Gregg Booker Loughborough Students CC
20 Thomas Carter Loughborough Students CC
21 Tom Bos Louth Cycle Club
22 Richard Lucas Mapperley CC
23 Adam Kenway Brother UK
24 Scott Swinburn PainTrain Lincoln
25 Aaron Stone Richardsons Trek DAS
26 David Earth Rose Race Team
27 Jack Levick Rose Race Team
28 George Thompson Rose Race Team
29 Manat Patthamasing Sheffield Hallam Cycling Club
30 Tobi Ng Team PB Performance
31 James Raine University of Lincoln CC
32 Andrew Moulden
33 Richard Stoodley
34 Marc Walker

40 Rebecca Richardson Brother UK
41 Louise Hart Campinense – Velo Performance
42 Monica Greenwood Macclesfield Wheelers
43 Rebecca Hair Magspeed Racing
44 Karolina Chudzikiewicz Sheffield Hallam Cycling Club
45 Sam Gell

51 Timothy Lane JRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team
52 Bradley Norris PainTrain Lincoln
53 Samuel Howes Sleaford Wheelers Cycling Club
54 Devon Morgan Sleaford Wheelers Cycling Club

60 Shona Mosley JRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team

70 Matthew Kent Beeston Cycling Club
71 Ryan Williams Beeston Cycling Club
72 Alexander Montero Lee Velo (South East London)
73 Thomas Williams Lincoln Wheelers CC
74 Callum Evans Sleaford Wheelers Cycling Club
75 Joshua Hemmings Verulam –

80 Anna Whitworth Hay JRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team
81 Isabel Wallace Lee Velo (South East London)
82 Georgia Lancaster Sleaford Wheelers Cycling Club


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK