Challenge Mallorca Race 5

On the final stage of Challenge Mallorca, Trofeo Palma, 19 year old Lotto Soudal rider Arnaud De Lie won his first professional victory on the island on Mallorca in a bunch sprint. Matt Walls 20th

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Challenge Mallorca Race 5

Lotto Soudal rider Arnaud De Lie has immediately taken his first professional victory on the island on Mallorca. The 19-year-old Belgian neo-pro, who stepped up from the Lotto Soudal Development Team this season, was the fastest at the end of the Trofeo Palma, the closing race of the five-day Challenge Mallorca. During a bunch kick, it was De Lie who launched an impressive sprint and beat the Colombian Juan Sebastián Molano and the Belgian Sasha Weemaes.

Photo: mfpaloumedia

The Challenge Mallorca drew to a close today with the Trofeo Palma. On a relatively flat course, the race was announced as one for the fast guys. However, the Coll de Sa Creu, at 35 kilometres from the finish caused some splits in the bunch. Eventually, the gaps remained small, the peloton came together again and a sprint took place in the streets of Palma de Mallorca. It was Lotto Soudal rider Arnaud De Lie who emerged victorious in only his third race as a pro.

“I am lost for words, it is just unbelievable to take my first pro victory during my third race as a professional cyclist”, begins Arnaud De Lie, “The team believed in my chances today. It didn’t cause stress, but I obviously wanted to do the best I could. Thanks to fantastic team work, I reached the summit of the final climb in a perfect position. Afterwards, my teammates rode their hearts out to keep me on the front rows of the bunch. I was also lucky with Michael Schwarzmann at my side, who guided me perfectly during the final kilometres. During the sprint, I chose the right wheels I suppose and I could take my first pro victory.”

After the Trofeo Palma, Arnaud immediately showed his gratitude towards his teammates. “I finished the job in the sprint, but this really is a team victory. My teammates assisted me perfectly in the final, from the run-up to the final climb until the line. I am very grateful for all the work they did today.”

With victories in the Trofeo Tramuntana and Trofeo Palma, Lotto Soudal can look back on a successful start of the season on the island of Mallorca.

1. Arnaud De Lie Lotto Soudal 3:54:23
2. Sebastian Molano UAE Team Emirates
3. Sasha Weemaes Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
4. Hugo Hofstetter Team Arkéa-Samsic
5. Luca Colnaghi Bardiani CSF Faizanè
6. Michael Matthews Team BikeExchange-Jayco
7. Giacomo Nizzolo Israel-Premier Tech
8. Filippo Fiorelli Bardiani CSF Faizanè
9. Matteo Moschetti Trek-Segafredo
10. Max Walscheid Cofidis

20. Matt Walls, BORA-hansgrohe
118. Matthew Holmes, Lotto Soudal
140. Thomas Armstrong, Electro Hiper Europa-Caldas

Result for the race is here:


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK