Report & Result: Wally Gimber Memorial

Alexandar Richardson wins the British classic, the Wally Gimber Memorial Road Race on March 20

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Result: Wally Gimber Memorial
thank you to Martin Headon  (Dulwich Paragon) – Photos Dave Hayward (

Alexandar Richardson (Le Col) won the 62nd edition of the Dulwich Paragon Wally Gimber Trophy with a 12km solo break, adding to his victory on the same course in 2019. He crossed the line two minutes ahead of James Jenkins (Richardsons – Trek DAS), with Richardson’s team-mate Yanto Barker rounding out the podium, narrowly fending off Chris McNamara (Nuun – Sigma Sports) who put up a worthy and valiant defence of his 2021 title.

On a beautiful sunny early Spring morning, the racing was hard and fast, as evidenced by the quantity and quality of riders being shelled out of the back. Richardson himself told us he completed the 144km course 10 minutes faster than in 2019. However, despite multiple attacks – including a two-up featuring Marinus Peterson (Nopinz Motif) and George Kimber (Spirit BSS) – it took until lap 3 for a proper break to emerge, with a group of 6 including Rory Townsend (WiV-Sungod), Richard Todd (Le Col), and youngster Sam Clark (trainSharp Development) going clear.

A counter-attack featuring Jenkins, George Kimber of Spirit BSS, and the entire remainder of the Le Col team chased them down to form a front group of 12 which now looked far too strong to be brought back. However once Richardson, Barker, and Jenkins went clear, the remaining 9 were unable to organise a chase and were soon caught by the front half of a fractured peloton.

Richardson attacked with 12km remaining, and although Jenkins was able to ride clear of Barker, he couldn’t do anything to match the former ProConti team rider’s power, and had to settle for second spot. Barker held on to finish 3rd ahead of McNamara who escaped the peloton for a solo 4th. The bunch sprint for 5th was taken by Sam Beckett (Wales Cycling Academy) with Red Walters (Ribble-Weldtite) and his orange handlebars finishing just behind.


1 Alexandar Richardson (LE COL) 03:24:53
2 James Jenkins (RICHARDSONS TREK DAS) 03:26:55
3 Yanto Barker (LE COL) 03:27:54 V40
4 Chris McNamara (SIGMA SPORTS / CANNONDALE RT) 03:28:07 V40
5 Samuel Beckett (WALES RACING ACADEMY) 03:28:20 U23-NT
6 Red Walters (RIBBLE WELDTITE PRO CYCLING) 03:28:20
7 Rory Townsend (WIV SUNGOD) 03:28:21
8 Jordan Retallack (SAINT PIRAN) 03:28:21
9 Rowan Baker (LONDON DYNAMO) 03:28:21 U23-NT
10 William Harper (UNATTACHED) 03:28:22
11 Mark Richards (DAP CYCLING CLUB) 03:28:22
12 Will Auty (4T + CYCLOPARK) 03:28:22
13 Joe Hill (UPSHIFT NUTRITION RACE TEAM) 03:28:22 U23
14 Matthew King (RIBBLE WELDTITE PRO CYCLING) 03:28:23
15 Nicholas Tyrie (PRIMERA-TEAMJOBS) 03:28:23
16 Jack Freeman (MEUDON PEDAL HEAVEN LE COL RT) 03:28:23
17 George Pittock (THANET RC RACE TEAM) 03:28:23 U23-NT
18 Matthew Houlberg (MEUDON PEDAL HEAVEN LE COL RT)3:28:23 U23
19 Lucas Rowley (TACTIC SPORT UK RACE TEAM) 03:28:24 U23
20 Richard Todd (LE COL) 03:28:25 V40
21 Joshua Avery (SPIRIT BSS) 03:28:25
22 Conor McGoldrick (RICHARDSONS TREK DAS) 03:28:26
23 Jack Wylie (TAAP CERVELO) 03:28:26
24 Marinus Petersen (LOUGHBOROUGH STUDENTS CC) 03:28:37 NT
25 Ole Henrik Bang-Andreasen (LE COL) 03:29:04
26 George Kimber (SPIRIT BSS) 03:29:46 U23
27 James O’Connell (UNATTACHED) 03:33:17
28 Ian Vagg (PROJECT 51) 03:33:19
29 Charles Ager (STOLEN GOAT RACE TEAM) 03:33:24
30 Matthew Downie (TAAP CERVELO) 03:33:31
31 Finn Dunton (TRAINSHARP DEVELOPMENT TEAM) 03:33:48 U23
32 Jamie Pullen (TAAP CERVELO) 03:33:53 U23
33 Harley Matthews (DAP CYCLING CLUB) 03:33:54
34 Jack Fothergill (STOLEN GOAT RACE TEAM) 03:33:54 U23
35 Joe Staunton (WIGHTLINKWIGHT MOUNTAIN CRT) 03:33:55
36 David Hird (EMBARK-BIKESTRONG) 03:33:55 U23
37 Rory Barrett (SOUTHBOROUGH & DISTRICT WH) 03:33:55 NT
38 Harry Jukes (UNATTACHED) 03:33:56 U23
39 Nathan Hallett (NOPINZ MOTIP RACE TEAM) 03:33:56
40 Andrea Bartoluccio (VERULAM-REALLYMOVING.COM) 03:33:56
41 Jack Rebours (CAESAREAN CC JERSEY) 03:33:56 NT
42 Kevin Nelson (CRAWLEY WHEELERS RT) 03:33:57 NT
43 Jesse Yates (YOELEO TEST TEAM P/B 4MIND) 03:33:59
44 Oliver Hurdle (STOLEN GOAT RACE TEAM) 03:33:59 U23
45 Harry Ives (TRAINSHARP DEVELOPMENT TEAM) 03:34:01 U23
46 Jacob Storey (PARTENZA-NUDE ESPRESSO RT) 03:34:03
47 Bradley Shenton (PARTENZA-NUDE ESPRESSO RT) 03:34:04
48 Stephen Maxwell (DULWICH PARAGON CC) 03:34:04 NT
49 Matthew Lock (TAAP CERVELO) 03:34:14
50 Morris Bacon (DAP CYCLING CLUB) 03:34:19
51 Callum Riley (RICHARDSONS TREK DAS) 03:34:38
52 Matt Witts (NOPINZ MOTIP RACE TEAM) 03:34:38
53 Eliot Ward (INFLITE) 03:34:38
54 Kishan Bakrania (TBW23 STUART HALL CYCLING) 03:34:39 U23
55 Clay Davies (SPIRIT BSS) 03:34:39



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK