News: GB for Nations Cup

GB for Track Nations Cup in Glasgow: Names including Dan Bigham, Charlie Tanfield, Matt Walls, Ethan Vernon, Katie Archibald, Laura Kenny and Neah Evans among the riders selected

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: GB for Nations Cup

This month’s Tissot UCI Track Nations Cup in Glasgow makes its first appearance on UK soil since last summer’s Olympic Games.

Archibald and Kenny blazed to victory with a dominant performance in the Madison in Tokyo, and will be joined by team pursuit silver medal teammate Neah Evans. Megan Barker, Ella Barnwell, Maddie Leech, Sophie Lewis and Jess Roberts complete the women’s endurance line-up. Archibald begins this year’s racing in fine form after winning three European and one world title in October, including consecutive omnium victories.

Jack Carlin returned from his first Olympic Games with a team sprint silver and individual sprint bronze, and the Paisley-born rider will head to Glasgow in fine form after securing a hat-trick of sprint titles at last month’s British National Track Championships in Newport. He’ll be joined by Joe Truman, Ryan Owens and Tissot UCI Track Nations Cup debutants Ali Fielding, Hayden Norris and Hamish Turnbull.

The young women’s sprint quartet of Lauren Bate, Sophie Capewell, Blaine Ridge Davis and Milly Tanner will look to continue their impressive recent trajectory in Glasgow, after ending 2021 with a historic bronze medal at the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Roubaix. This year’s Tissot UCI Track Nations Cup series will for the first time see three riders contest the women’s team sprint, bringing it in line with the men’s event. Iona Moir, Lauren Bell and Lusia Steele complete the squad.

Matt Walls makes his first return to the track since winning omnium gold in Tokyo, and will be joined by Tokyo team pursuit riders Kian Emadi, Charlie Tanfield, Ethan Vernon and Ollie Wood. New national Hour Record holder Dan Bigham will once again pull on the Great Britain Cycling Team jersey, alongside Josh Giddings, Josh Charlton, Oscar Nilson-Julien, Josh Tarling and Will Tidball.

Ahead of the announcement, double Olympic champion Katie Archibald said: “I’ve got so many great memories of riding and competing in Glasgow and it’s always brilliant to ride in front of family and friends, particularly after the challenges that Covid has created for sport over the past couple of years”.

“I was pleased with my form off the back of the Tokyo Olympics last year, but we’re into a new season and new demands. I’ve unfortunately kicked it off with a back injury, but I’m still very motivated to be in the best shape I can for the UCI Track Nations Cup. It will all lead into the Birmingham Commonwealth Games this summer and the world championships in Scotland next summer before we know it, so I want to make the most of each step along the way.”

Great Britain Cycling Team squad

Men’s endurance:
Dan Bigham
Josh Charlton
Kian Emadi
Josh Giddings
Oscar Nilson-Julien
Charlie Tanfield
Josh Tarling
Will Tidball
Ethan Vernon
Matt Walls
Ollie Wood

Men’s sprint:
Jack Carlin
Ali Fielding
Hayden Norris
Ryan Owens
Joe Truman
Hamish Turnbull

Women’s endurance:
Katie Archibald
Megan Barker
Ella Barnwell
Neah Evans
Dame Laura Kenny
Maddie Leech
Sophie Lewis
Jess Roberts

Women’s sprint:
Lauren Bate
Lauren Bell
Sophie Capewell
Iona Moir
Blaine Ridge Davis
Lusia Steele
Milly Tanner


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK