Result: Banbury Star Road Races

Oliver Tandy and and Mary Wilkinson winners at the Banbury Star Road Races on Sunday, May 22

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Banbury Star Road Races

Women’s Race

Mary Wilkinson – Team Boompods, totally dominated the latest round of the British Women’s Team Cup held on the Edge Hill course superbly organised by Michael Gillett and the Banbury CC.

On a perfect summers day an almost full field started out to ride the always difficult course to tackle three laps. It was on the 2nd lap that the action started with Mary, who was obviously after the Queen of the Mountain titles as well, which she scooped up. Twelve riders escaped the bunch with initially a lead of one minute. Bexy Dew-Pro Noctis, Monica Greenwood-Team Boompods, Lucy Harris-Team Boompods, Danielle Akan-Ellmore Clothing, Maddie Haywood-Team Watto LDN, Alice McWilliam-Bianchi Hunt Morvelo, Kerry Middleton-Team Watto LDN, Tamsin Miller Bianchi Hunt Morvelo, Kelly Murphy-Ellmore Clothing, Ruth Shier Team-Watto LDN, Lucy Sinclair-Onyx Racing, and Mary.

The escapees piled on the pressure so the gap to the peloton now crept up to over 3 minutes as they battled Edge Hill for the last time….and this is when it all exploded. Mary explained it this way “It was good to have my team mates with me so we could work well. One team member went very hard downhill on the last lap and that really broke up the bunch until we had just 4 riders coming into the finish. I won here in 2018 so knew the course well. I really went hard at the bottom of the hill and got a nice gap and that was all I needed, it is a very nice course but….phew! It is hard!”

Banbury Stars Women’s Road Race
1 Mary Wilkinson Team Boompods
2 Lucy Harris Team Boompods
4 Kelly Murphy
5 Dannielle Khan Solihull CC
7 Kerry Middleton Team LDN – Brother UK
8 Monica Greenwood Team Boompods
9 Bexy Dew Pro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli…
10 Maddie Heywood Team Watto-LDN
11 Lucy Sinclair Onyx Racing Team
12 Ruth Shier Team LDN – Brother UK
14 Anouska Greenaway
15 Penny Colloff LAKA Pedal Mafia RT
16 Sian Marsh Team Boompods
17 Emily Proud Grinta Coaching
18 Cecilia Ricks Grinta Coaching
19 Ailsa McLagan Abingdon Race Team
21 Polly Milson
22 Charlotte Matthews Onyx Racing Team
23 Lotty Dawson Backstedt Bike Performance JRT
24 Rebecca Stubs
25 Ruth Fisher Abingdon Race Team
26 Maria-Elianna Constantinou COBL Cycling Club
27 Ellie Mackman The Ark Cycles
28 Emily Chilton Saint Piran WRT
29 Charlotte Hodgkins-byrne
30 Jessica Wood Army Cycling Union
31 Laura Senior LAKA Pedal Mafia RT
32 Gabriella Nordin Jadan – Vive le Velo
33 Sarah Johnston
34 Chloe Watson-Hill Caesarean CC Jersey
35 Charlotte Gibson
36 Hope Inglis Brother UK-Orientation Marketi…
37 Faith Hammond Grinta Coaching
38 Laura Starmer Team Watto-LDN
39 Savannah Morgan
40 Charlotte Chaloner Team Watto-LDN
41 Abigail Cooper Brother UK-Orientation Marketi…
42 Miriam Bullock East London Velo
43 Catriona Ross Abingdon Race Team
44 Ella Roper Abingdon Race Team
45 Jessica Holloway Team Watto-LDN
46 Amy Harvey Brother UK-Orientation Marketi…
47 Angela Laycock Army Cycling Union
48 Lowri Richards Backstedt Bike Performance RC
49 Georgina Oakley INFLITE
50 Simone Gout Army Cycling Union
51 Olive Holliday Avid Sport
52 Ellen Inglis Brother UK-Orientation Marketi…
53 Emma Watson Grinta Coaching
54 Amy Marks Team LDN – Brother UK
55 Katie-Anne Calton VC Londres
56 Freya Eccleston Brother UK-Orientation Marketi…

Team standings after Event 4 Banbury
1 Team Boompods 386
2 Bianchi Hunt Morvelo 228
3 Team LDN – Brother UK 120
4 Team Watto-LDN 115
5 Grinta Coaching 103
6 Abingdon Race Team 99
7 LAKA Pedal Mafia RT 88
8 Onyx Racing Team 83
9 Stolen Goat RT 71
10 Pro-Noctis-Rotor-RedChilli Bikes 60
11 Army Cycling Union 52
12 Brother UK-Orientation marketing 37
13 Avid Sport 31
14 The ARK Cycles 26
15 Saint Piran WRT 25
16 Jadan – Vive le Velo 21
17 Awol Worx 18

 …. continued after the advert.

Banbury Stars Men’s Road Race
1 Oliver Tandy Solihull CC
2 Benjamin Bussmann Cowley Road Condors
3 David Fellows Solihull CC
4 Daniel Lord University of Warwick
5 Evan Clements
6 James Miller Onyx Racing Team
7 Tom Whitworth Royal Air Force CA
8 Henry Eve Cotswold Cycles RT
9 Roger Prior Team Empella Cyclo-Cross.Com
10 Darryl Thomas Dynamic Rides CC
11 Kit Buchanan Solihull CC
12 Ian Lee Royal Air Force CA
13 Simon Hall Watford Velo Sport
14 Samuel Williams Splinters CC
15 Thomas Moody Yomp Bonk Crew
16 Jonathan Allen University of Birmingham CC
17 Charles Godfrey University of Warwick
18 David Brock PMCC
19 Dominic Switzer Welland Valley CC
20 Peter Medhurst Royal Leamington Spa CC (RLSCC…
21 Simon Molyneux VeloVitesse
22 Tom Stockdale Cotswold Cycles RT
23 Peter Drnovsek Banbury Star CC
24 Benjamin De Jager VC Jericho
25 Joss Williams Splinters CC
26 Ash Mahoney
27 Tom Miller Onyx Racing Team
28 Stuart Alford Warwick Lanterne Rouge C.C
29 Oliver Morgan Cowley Road Condors
30 Oliver Biling
31 Bob McGlue High Wycombe Cycling Club
32 Richard Summerbell Royal Air Force CA
33 Thomas Batchelor COBL Cycling Club
34 Richard Santhouse Banbury Star CC
35 Bailey Brown Royal Air Force CA
36 Joseph Socci Solihull CC
37 Will Pepper Cowley Road Condors
38 Jeremy Godfrey
39 Jacob Avery High Wycombe Cycling Club
40 Jose Antonio Diego Gonzalez
41 Lubomir Belak St Ives CC
42 Brett Connor Warwick Lanterne Rouge C.C


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK