Result: British Women’s RR Championship

Under 23 rider, Alice Towers solo’d to a magnificent victory in the Elite Women’s British Road Race Championship for 2022

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: British Women’s RR Championship

In the women’s race, Towers claimed an incredible solo victory from 30km out, while 2021 champion Pfeiffer Georgi took second in a sprint finish over Anna Henderson, after a 128km race that was beset by torrid weather conditions. Christina Wiejak made a valiant solo move early on, while Monica Greenwood attempted to chase her down. Wiejak went 2:15 up on the peloton, while Greenwood remained tied in the middle before being caught at just over 40km.

Wiejack continued to maintain her lead, which the likes of Dame Sarah Storey and Emily Meakin attempted to chase down from the bunch. Wiejack looked as if she was about to be caught and was within 50 metres of the peloton but had a second wind and managed to gain a 25 second lead before finally being caught at the halfway point. At the 80km mark, a leading group of 15 riders broke free from the bunch, including big hitters Henderson, Georgi, Elynor Backstedt, Abi Smith, and all five Le Col Wahoo riders.

The leaders had a 24 second advantage before Towers rode away solo with around 30km to go, while the group was caught by the bunch.

Greenwood attempted another solid attack but was caught, while Henderson put in frequent surges, before Sammie Stuart then managed to get away. Towers’ Le Col Wahoo teammates continued to shut down the peloton to help her grow a lead of two minutes. A massive counterattack from Georgi, Backstedt, Henderson and Lizzie Holden was enough to get away in the penultimate lap. Towers was up 1:37 coming into the final lap, while Stuart was caught to make a five-up chasing group.

Towers crossed the line 1:13 up on the chasing group – a massive result for the young 19-year-old, while a fiery sprint saw Georgi edge Henderson on the line. Holden rolled for fourth and Backstedt took fifth to finish third in the under-23 category.

Afterwards Towers said: “Really special to get on that podium today. There have been so many amazing women that have got on there the past few years so to be part of that level of champions is crazy. It hasn’t sunk in yet. It wasn’t the plan to go that early, but I just rode at my own pace and I just kept going! It will be great to wear the stripes in the team.”

1 Alice Towers Le Col – Wahoo U23 3:28:02
2 Pfeiffer Georgi Team DSM U23 +1:13
3 Anna Henderson Team Jumbo-Visma ST
4 Elizabeth Holden Le Col – Wahoo +1:16
5 Elynor Backstedt TREK – SEGAFREDO U23 +1:21
6 Sammie Stuart CAMS-Basso +1:25
7 Alice Barnes CANYON – SRAM RACING +2:45
8 Eluned King Le Col – Wahoo U23 +2:46
9 Abi Smith EF Education-TIBCO-SVB U23 ST
10 Dannielle Khan Solihull CC ST
11 April Tacey Le Col – Wahoo U23 ST
12 Beth Harley-Jepson Jadan – Vive le Velo ST
13 Kate Richardson Alba Development Road Team U23 ST
14 Claire Steels Sopela Women’s Team ST
15 Millie Couzens Plantur-Pura U23 ST
16 Flora Perkins Le Col – Wahoo U23 ST
17 Beth Morrow CAMS-Basso U23 ST
18 Monica Greenwood Team Boompods ST
19 Robyn Clay Otley CC U23 ST
21 Jessica Finney CAMS-Basso ST
22 Amira Mellor Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus ST
23 Anna Shackley Team SD Worx U23 + 2:52
25 Jessie Carridge Brother UK-Orientation Marketing ST
26 Bexy Dew Pro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes p/b Heidi Kjeldsen ST
27 Danielle Shrosbree CAMS-Basso ST
28 Sophie Enever Alba Development Road Team ST
29 Jo Tindley Pro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes p/b Heidi Kjeldsen + 2:54
30 Lucy Ellmore Pro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes p/b Heidi Kjeldsen U23 ST
31 Natalie Grinczer Stade Rochelias Charente-Maritime ST
32 Emily Meakin AWOL- O’Shea + 2:57
33 Savannah Morgan ST
34 Lucy Gadd Storey Racing U23 + 3:00
35 Sophie Lankford Alba Development Road Team + 7:55
36 Lydia Watts AWOL Worx Galliard U23 ST
37 Sian Botteley Team LDN – Brother UK ST
38 Olivia Bent AWOL- O’Shea U23 + 7:57
39 Mary Wilkinson Team Boompods ST
40 Libby Smithson AWOL Worx Galliard U23 ST
41 Madeleine Nutt Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus ST
42 Samantha Fawcett Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus ST
43 Miriam Jessett StolenGoat Race Team ST
44 Louise Hart Team Boompods ST
45 Xan Crees Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus U23 ST
46 Rebecca Saunderson Studio Velo U23 ST
47 Dame Sarah Storey Storey Racing ST
48 Gwenno Hughes Saint Piran WRT ST
49 Erin Avill Storey Racing U23 ST
50 Emma Matthews CAMS-Basso ST
51 Charlotte Broughton AWOL- O’Shea ST
52 Francesca Morgans-Slader AWOL- O’Shea ST
53 Jenny Holl TEKKERZ CC ST


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK