RR Result: Victor Berlemont Trophy Road Race

Alexandar Richardson wins the Victor Berlemont Trophy Road Race on Sunday, August 28 in Oxfordshire

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

RR Result: Victor Berlemont Trophy Road Race

Report: Chris Lovibond

There must have been plenty of adrenalin flowing as the seventy nine riders started this 112 mile race – there was an immediate three man break by Matthew Ellis (SRCT Muc Off), Cameron McClaren (Nopinz Motip RT) and Joe Hill (Spirit BSS).

The field regrouped by the end of the first lap, only to see a fresh, but short lived break. This feverish activity, which was marked by complaints from the motorbike escort marshals of dangerous riding in the bunch, could not last for the whole distance.

With five laps completed and signs of fatigue within the bunch, the race winning break was initiated by Matt King (Ribble Weldtite) Josh Housley (Spirit BSS) and Ben Pease (Moonglu Race Team). They were soon joined by Joe Hill, Seb Garry (Nopinz Motip RT) and Alexandar Richardson (Saint Piran). By the end of the sixth lap, although there were chasers in between, this group had almost a minute’s advantage over the peloton; before the start of the two smaller finishing laps Richardson and King had left the others to work efficiently together increasing their advantage to over two minutes.

Alexandar Richardson made sure of his victory by dropping his companion before the final ascent of Catsbrain Hill. Mark King can be seen in the background as the winner gives his victory salute, but given Richardson’s dominance in the race, this was still a super ride by King.

The top three times were: Richardson 4.28.01, King at 19 secs. and Warhurst at 2 mins 4 secs.

Back at the HQ, Alexandar Richardson succinctly described the race as ‘attritional’. He said that the headwind on Flint Hill had inhibited earlier attacks but, by the time he jumped across to that decisive break, the bunch was beginning to fall apart. It’s rare, nowadays, for riders to be able to test themselves in an event of this length, but for Richardson, whose idea of a training run is London to Brighton and back (at 25mph), the distance was easily within his range. Having won the Ryedale GP last week and recently taken third place in the National Road Race Championship, he started this race as favourite and certainly justified that position. His next event is the Tour of Britain – we wish him good luck there.

There was a King of the Mountains competition, based on points at the top of the arduous Flint Hill, and this was won by Seb Garry. The Under 23 prize went to Matthew Warhurst, who finished third overall. It’s worth noting that last year’s U23 winner, Joe Hill, achieved a creditable fifth place this year. Older readers will be encouraged to hear that, at the other end of the age range, the remarkable Chris McNamara who was third in this event last year, showed striking consistency by finishing fifth in 2022. Chris is forty seven years of age.

Mention must also be made of the promoter, Andy Pearce who, with the aid of the High Wycombe CC, has shown himself to be one of the few people remaining capable of organising a race on this scale in the face of all the modern problems. There was also the usual contingent of helpers from the Pedal Club.

Finally, at the very top of the age scale, we have Doug Collins who claims still to have been a schoolboy in 1951 when the first of these events were run. It has been Doug’s passion and enthusiasm for this race which have been an essential factor in the successful revival of the Victor Berlemont Trophy.


1 Alexandar Richardson Saint Piran
2 Matthew King Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling
3 Matthew Warhurst SRCT MUC-OFF
4 Sebastian Garry Nopinz Motip Race Team
5 Chris McNamara Sigma Sports – Cannondale RT
6 Red Walters Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling
7 Ben Millar Primera-TeamJobs
8 Joe Hill Spirit BSS
9 George Radcliffe Identity Racing
10 Tobias Bartlett Doddington Cycling Club
11 Llewellyn Kinch TAAP Cervelo
12 Oliver Winwood Bratchell Primera-TeamJobs
13 Cameron McLaren Nopinz Motip Race Team
14 Oscar Hutchings Team Tor 2000 Kalas
15 James Bentley Team PB Performance
16 Thomas Day Home Solution – Soenens U23 De…
17 Matt Clarke
18 Ben Pease Moonglu Race Team
19 Renzo Casale University of Bath Cycling Clu…
20 Josh Housley Spirit BSS
21 Tom Merry Wheelbase CabTech Castelli
22 James Boyman Hoops Velo
23 Scott Redding SRCT MUC-OFF
24 Matthew Ellis SRCT MUC-OFF
25 Matthew Lord Richardsons Trek DAS
26 Jordan Giles Primera-TeamJobs
27 Daniel Lord University of Warwick
28 Oliver Hucks Saint Piran
29 Carl Jolly 73Degrees CC
30 Frazier Carr Spirit BSS
31 David Roper Nopinz Motip Race Team
32 Barnabas Purbrook Sigma Sports – Cannondale RT
33 Freddy Pett DAP Cycling Club
34 Harvey Stroh TAAP Cervelo
35 Joe Howcroft Otley CC


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK