TT Result: New Forest CC 10m TT

Jordan Giles fastest in the New Forest CC 10 mile time trial on September 25 near Southampton; Lucy Gadd fastest woman

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

TT Result: New Forest CC 10m TT

New Forest Cycling Club have a long standing tradition of hosting an end of season Autumn time trial and this year was no different… other than the course and the event HQ.

Welcoming riders onto the P128/10 course for the first time for an open test, the organising team were pleased with the arrival of sunshine and relatively still weather conditions… There might have been a little more traffic on the roads than expected, hampering the times of a few riders, but that’s the risk we all take with racing on open roads. Three separate categories were organised for the mornings racing with tandems setting off first, road bikes following them and TT bikes at the end of the list. The field of 44 riders comprised of 1 tandem, 8 road bikes and 34 solos ranging from 13 to 84 and three quarters in age…

The only tandem of the day belonged to local duo Stuart & Skye Martingale from Sotonia who completed the course in 26m47s. Road bikes were the second bunch to leave the start and NFCC’s Sein Van der Plank crossed the line in the shortest time from the women’s field with a 25m55s, and Dave Dent of GS Stella took the men’s line honours with a 23m24s.

With TT bikes released on to the course, there was a dominant display from the final few riders in the men’s field. Local riders Jordan Giles and Sam Wadsley who took the top two spots of the timing sheet with Giles slipping just under the 20min barrier at 19m59s, and Wadsley following him home in 20m32s. Tom Clements of Wessex RC clocked the third fastest time of the day at 20m51s. Despite having to wait behind a horse box at a roundabout for what must have felt like an eternity, Lucy Gadd (Storey Racing) kept her cool and crossed the line in 22m33s to take the win in the women’s TT bike field. Second place went to Kirsty McSeveney (…a3crg) at 25m07s and third to Rosie Simmons (SURC) at 25m25s.

Special mention must also go to the charming Brian “Supergramp” Lewis who despite being 85 in January, didn’t let his years hold him back, crossing the line in only 29m50s – chapeau sir!

On behalf of the organisers and the riders, we’d like to share a big thank you to everyone for making the event run so smoothly… the riders couldn’t do it without the people who give up their time to make the events happen and there would be no point in the volunteers being there without such a well behaved bunch of riders… thank you, to you all.


1 Jordan Giles Primera-Teamjobs 00:19:59 Male Senior
2 Samuel Wadsley Primera-Teamjobs 00:20:32 Male Senior
3 Tom Clements Wessex Road Club 00:20:51 Male Vet
4 Paul Lockyer New Forest CC 00:20:55 Male Senior
5 Red Walters Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling 00:21:01 Male Senior
6 Neil Mackley …a3crg 00:21:20 Male Vet
7 Matthew Buckley Velo Club St Raphael 00:21:53 Male Senior
8 Steven Pink Poole Wheelers Cycling Club 00:22:08 Male Vet
9 James Horton Velo Club St Raphael 00:22:17 Male Senior
10 Terry Wilson Chichester City Riders 00:22:21 Male Senior
11 Ben Schooling Chichester City Riders 00:22:23 Male Vet
12 Lucy Gadd Storey Racing 00:22:33 Female Espoir
13 Gary Lock New Forest CC 00:22:59 Male Vet
14 Graham Harman Sotonia CC 00:23:33 Male Vet
15 Adam Coppard Chichester City Riders 00:23:44 Male Senior
16 Jonathan Chadwick New Forest CC 00:24:24 Male Vet
17 Mike Anderson CC Moncontour 00:24:26 Male Vet
18 Peter Perrin Bournemouth Arrow CC 00:24:28 Male Vet
19 Richard Watson Chichester City Riders 00:24:35 Male Senior
20 Kirsty McSeveney …a3crg 00:25:07 Female Vet
21 Rosie Simmons Southampton University Road Cycling Club (SURC) 00:25:25 Female Espoir
22 James Noah New Forest CC 00:25:47 Male Senior
23 Martin Beale Velo Club St Raphael 00:25:58 Male Vet
24 Mark Cowling New Forest CC 00:26:12 Male Vet
25 Mike Boyce …a3crg 00:26:17 Male Vet
26 Adrian Watkins Tornado Road Cycling Club 00:27:28 Male Vet
27 Susan Oldham Bicester Millennium CC 00:27:33 Female Vet
28 Steve Baker Poole Wheelers Cycling Club 00:28:06 Male Vet
29 Chris Summers Sotonia CC 00:29:12 Male Vet
30 Robert Jolliffe New Forest CC 00:29:33 Male Vet
31 Brian Lewis Bicester Millennium CC 00:29:50 Male Vet


1 Dave Dent GS Stella 00:23:24 Male Vet
2 Jamie Franklin Velo Club Venta 00:23:46 Male Senior
3 Alex Cassar Petersfield Triathlon Club 00:24:46 Male Vet
4 Sien Van Der Plank New Forest CC 00:25:55 Female Senior
5 Steve Willcocks Portsmouth North End CC 00:27:25 Male Vet
6 Helen Oldridge Fareham Wheelers CC 00:28:21 Female Senior
7 Stuart Thompson Velo Club St Raphael 00:29:01 Male Vet
8 Michelle Lock GS Stella 00:29:25 Female Vet

1 Stuart Martingale Sotonia CC 00:26:47 Male Vet
1 Skye Martingale Sotonia CC 00:26:47 Female Juvenile


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK