Classic Result: 39th Jock Wadley Memorial

Winner of the 39th  Jock Wadley Memorial road race at Layer de la Haye (Colchester) on Sunday (March 12) was Alex Richardson of Saint Piran

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Classic Result: 39th Jock Wadley Memorial
Brought to you by Brother UK – #atyourside

PLEASE HELP VELOUK SERVE THE SPORT OF CYCLING – THANK YOU (thanks to Sheldon for his donation). 

Solo winner of the 39th Jock Wadley was Alex Richardson of Saint Piran who helped create a ten up breakaway on lap 1 after only a few kilometres and then from that break, jumped away again with two others, then one other and then solo!

End of lap and the breakaway is starting to form…

Next lap, and 10 riders have come together at the front.

Behind, as it was all race, small and big groups formed to chase the leaders but they were racing away and the gap getting bigger

It was full gas all race, as the break had the watts to increase its lead and the various groups like this one with former winner Yanto Barker were racing all in until they had nothing left 

Second half of the race and three riders escape including Alex and Rowan along with Joseph Smith, who won the Junior Cyclocross National Championship in Crawley in Jan 2022.

What was left of the breakaway kept the gap down to 20 to 30 seconds for a long time until the elastic broke

And then there was two as Rowan and Alex dropped the third rider in their group

And as the bell rung out, Alex pushed hard on the pedals to break Rowan and Alex solo’d the last lap to win the race on his own

After he won the race, Alex went and did a few extra laps!

Tim Torrie of trainSharp wins the sprint for third

The podium: Rowan Baker, Alex Richardson and Tim Torrie


1. Alexander Richardson, Saint Piran Cycling
2. Rowan Baker, London Dynamo
3. Timothy Torrie, Trainsharp Elite
4. Joshua Avery, Ride Revolution Coaching
5. Matthew Houlberg, Embark Spirit BSS
6. Ross Fawcett, Orwell Velo
7. Chris McNamara, Sigma Sports – Cannondale RT
8. David Hird, ROKiT-SRCT
9. Thomas Heal, StolenGoat Race Team
10. Joseph Smith, Private Member
11. Harold Evans, Onyx Racing Team
12. Jack Rootkin-Gray, Sint Piran Cycling
13. Clay Davies, Ride Revolution Coaching
14. Alex Peters, Richardsons Trek
15. Zeb Kyffin, Sint Piran Cycling
16. Samual Clark, TrainSharp Elite
17. Jacob Vaughan, Tekkerz
18. Marcus Burnett, Brunei Continental Cycling Team
19. James Jenkins,Richardsons Trek DAS
20. Jack Rebours, TrainSharpe Elite
21. Matt Bailey, Ride Revolution Coaching
22. Callum Slade, StolenGoat Race Team
23. Jody Paxman, Hutchinson-Brother UK
24. George Kimber, Embark Spirit BSS
25. Samuel Asker, Richardsons Trek DAS
26. Irfan Zemen
27. Lucas Jowett, Saint Piran
28. Oliver Hurdle, StolenGoat Race Team
29. Edmund Slater, GFTL
30. Andrew Kerr, INFLITE TYPE ONE
31. Ian Vagg, Project 51
32. Matt Witts, Kalas Motip Race Team
33. Harry Ives, TrainSharp Development Team
34. Jude Chamberlain, Embark Spirit BSS
35. Nathan Hardy, Team PB Performance
36. John Pallot, Casp Racing
37. Alexander Cross, Velo Schils – Interbike RT
38. Simon McNamara, Sigma Sports – Cannondale RT
39. Tom Merry, Wheelbase Cab Tech Castelli
40. Yanto Barker, Le Col
41. Gary Freeman, Orwell Velo
42. Mark Richards, Dap Cycling Club
43. Isaac Wright, Project 51
44. Will Auty, Private Member
45. Tim Allen, Hutchinson-Brother UK
46. Finn Dunton, Project 51
47. Benjamin May, Hutchinson-Brother UK
48. Harley Matthews, Dap Cycling Club
49. Mark Kendernay, GFTL
50. Mark Lightfoot, Tofauti Everyone Active
51. Dominic Schils, Velo Schils – Interbike RT
52. Ryan Klein
53. Arron Freeman, Richardsons Trek
54. Cameron Hurst, Velo Schils – Interbike RT
55. Archie Hilder, London Dynamo
56. Ben Chapman, London Dynamo
57. Matthew Brown, Elitecycling Development Team
58. Dexter Mansel-Thomas, Tofauti Everyone Active



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK